We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay in Giverny”
Review of Le Clos Fleuri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos Fleuri
Ranked #2 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My two daughters, ages 19 and 15, and I stayed in the upper room for one night in July and wished we had more time in this lovely place to wander and relax! Danielle was a wonderful hostess, very attentive and friendly, and made us feel so welcome. She suggested a great place for dinner, Restaurant Baudy, where we enjoyed wonderful food and local color. I would suggest a reservation, they were quite booked and seated us at a little table near the door which was actually fun for us as we watched people come and go, but if you want a guaranteed spot, you might need to reserve a table ahead of time. Danielle prepared a nice breakfast for us- the croissants were excellent- and we had fun practicing our French with fellow travelers from Germany. After making several phone calls, Danielle tracked down an available taxi to take us to the train station the next day. I would definitely recommend staying in this special place! Be sure to take leisurely walks around the neighborhood with your camera, and of course stroll over to Monet's house and gardens.
PS It was very hot the day we visited, but the windows had been opened early with fans going, and by the time we had finished dinner, it was nice and cool in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Le Clos Fleuri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 228 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Clos Fleuri before and after a short trip to Paris. The garden was so peaceful and relaxing. Pastoral Giverny was a nice contrast to the urban excitement of Paris. Breakfast was delicious and elegant and a good opportunity to meet other travelers. We walked to Monet's Gardens three or four different ways to see the sights of the village. Danielle and Claude were very welcoming and helpful. Our rooms were so comfortable and pretty that we hated leaving.

Room Tip: The Clematis room, with its pitched ceiling, had skylights you could open to get a breeze--nice to h...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geralyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Le Clos Fleuri was one of the top highlights of a 3 week trip to Europe. It's a serene, beautiful place, with a feeling of being in the country yet within easy walking distance of all of Giverny. Danielle is a delightful hostess, providing a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Our room was very spacious, beautifully appointed, with pretty bathroom and easy chairs and table to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. We truly could not have asked for a nicer experience. We'll be back...for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home from a two night stay. We stayed in the Clematis room, which was lovely although, unfortunately, very hot. We did have a fan and Danielle was most apologetic. Perhaps internal fly-screens would be a good idea as then the windows could be left open at night.
We agree with other guests, that Danielle and her husband, Claude, couldn't do enough for us. We really loved the village, which in the evenings is absolutely charming.
We also enjoyed meeting the other guests at breakfast.
Darwin, the resident dog, is an absolute sweetie. We. would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: The upstairs bedroom is very hot in summer, however it does cool down overnight.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Le Clos Fleuri deserves its high ranking for accommodation in Giverny. It is well placed for a short walk to Monet's gardens and to local restaurants and it is a quiet haven set in expansive, delightful gardens.
The rooms have features not common in European hotels and B and Bs: a kettle, tea and coffee are supplied and a fridge is available in a common area. There is a stock of magazines to add to the relaxing atmosphere.
The owner Danielle was extremely friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed the continental breakfast with superb fluffy croissants. A huge plus for those who struggle with French is that English is spoken.
TIP: purchase your entrance tickets for Monet's gardens from Danielle and walk straight in, instead of joining the long queues to buy tickets at the attraction.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrissieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Le Clos Fleuri and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Our hosts were extremely helpful with advice on the area, where to eat and even arranged tickets to the Gardens.
Our upstairs room was comfortable, spacious and more than adequate. The home is set in a beautiful garden which is also a great place to relax.
Breakfast is typically French and it was great to sit and chat with the other guests.
All in all its a great place to stay and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While many previous reviews are positive, our experience was not what was expected. The ,grounds were lovely, our host very helpful, breakfast was good bur our room was marginal. Beds were very old as was the bedding and the lighting was inadequate. The entire room needed updating. Don't know if the two other rooms were the same. We would not return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exquise, Owner at Le Clos Fleuri, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our B&B. We are so sorry and do apologize for the fact that you found your room not up to standard.We appreciate knowing what needs to be improved and who better to let us know than our clients.

Each year we refurbish part of our establishement and we had started on this room having changed the carpet but for the 2014 season we will be finishing the whole reburbushment with a change of bedding and decor , including the bathroom.

Again we do apopogize for the discomfort that you had and hope that the rest of your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
282 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,081 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Fleuri

Address: 5 rue de la Dime, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range: $96 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Le Clos Fleuri Hotel Giverny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing