We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Days in September”
Review of Le Clos Fleuri

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos Fleuri
Ranked #1 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our trip to Normandy could not have started out any better. Danielle, our hostess, spoke fluent English, and she and Claude welcomed us in such a way that we immediately felt comfortable. Our room was separate but so near to the main house, giving it a more secluded feeling, offering us privacy and peace, affording us the quiet needed to recover from jet lag and take in the charm of this Norman setting. Giverny and Claude Monet's gardens were a short walk away, so the enchantment never seemed to end. Breakfast was excellent, as well. Danielle made recommendations and secured dinner reservations, which were actually arranged before our arrival via email communications with her. We began our trip to Normandy having been placed in the best of hands!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 229 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

An ideal retreat,peaceful and secluded but close to Monet's garden and restaurants.Danielle and Claude made us very welcome and comfortable.Accommodation was excellent,breakfast was enjoyable and the use of the "bistro" was a thoughtful extra. We would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandSKent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wanting to visit Monet's garden and also celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary we stayed 5 nights at Le Clos Fleuri. It was an excellent choice, from the e-mails prior to our visit, the accurate information on the local area and the warm and friendly welcome Danielle and Claude made our whole stay seem , Danielle speaking English also helped.
All the rooms looked very good, with excellent facilities and a delightful garden to relax in. Having a small "bistro" which looked much like a conservatory, equipped a small table, comfortable chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee machine, kitchen eqipment etc was an added bonus, especially if the weather wasn't pleasant to sit outside.
Danielle went out of her way, infact she had spoken to our sons in Australia to help them arrange a special meal for us at "Le Lagon" in Vernon which is a new very modern restaurant with a good choice of menu at various prices.
We also ate at Hotel Baudy where the setting is so atmospheric and the food varied and very good
We thought Giverny was lovely at night when all the tourists had left and only a few places to eat were open. There is no shop in the village, but Vernon is a lovely walk away or a short bus ride with a market on Saturday mornings.
A word of warning Monet's garden is ALWAYS busy and we chose a Monday which was better, and getting the tickets directly from Danielle avoided any queues.
Don't just rush your visit to Giverny see it from all aspects and definately stay at Le Clos Fleuri.

Room Tip: The family room would have been difficult with over 10's as the ceiling sloped .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pr_sewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After much research, we decided to stay at Le Clos Fleuri. Darn good decision. Our room had a small sitting area downstairs and a spacious, well designed, and very comfortable bedroom upstairs. Danielle's garden is superb. The ambience is relaxed and most enjoyable. The location on a quiet side street could not be better: Less than a ten minute walk to Monet's gardens. Danielle sells tickets to the gardens, so you don't have to wait in the sometimes very long lines that ticket-buyers face. Breakfast was delicious. Some of the best bread we had on our entire trip. We can't recommend Le Clos Fleuri highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Teacher_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The accommodation, amenities and location were all excellent. Danielle was also so helpful and welcoming and the fact that she grew up in Australia and speaks fluent English made communication even easier. The garden is beautiful and it's only a short walk to restaurants.

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs room in a seperate building with our own entrance room downstairs. The upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marylin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

In June after a hectic 3 weeks in Europe, the beauty and peacefulness of staying at Le Clos Fleuri
for 2 nights was very welcome.
The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with some welcome added touches tea, coffee & biscuits.
Danielle was lovely and so helpful.
The time spent in Monet's garden, plus the great accommodation in the beautiful town of Giverny
was the perfect end of a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed two nights here and just loved the calm serene atmosphere of Le Clos Fleuri. The accommodation was comfortable and clean with many little extra touches that made us feel like we were at home (hairdryer, bottled water, kettle with tea bags, a bistro to sit in and sip wine while reading an assortment of magazine, umbrellas...) Danielle was a wonderful hostess, even providing us with maps to assist our trip to Charles de Gaulle airport. She chatted with us and gave us a great history of the area and we swapped garden stories. This has been the best B and B we have stayed in during our tour of France and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The breakfast too was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.6 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
298 reviews
5.4 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#4 of 14 in Giverny
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#6 of 14 in Giverny
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pluie de Roses
La Pluie de Roses
#7 of 14 in Giverny
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Fleuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Fleuri

Address: 5 rue de la Dime, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range: $94 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Le Clos Fleuri Hotel Giverny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing