We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Muséum and garden”

Musee des impressionnismes
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.80*
and up
Paris Private Trip to Giverny: Claude Monet's...
Ranked #4 of 5 things to do in Giverny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One hour from Paris and Rouen, in one of the most beautiful villages of Normandy, the museum focuses on the history of Impressionism and Post-Impressionism. Throughout exhibitions of paintings, drawings and pictures, experience the art of the late 19th century to the present day, through a new approach. Useful information: The museum is open daily from March 30 to July 15 and from July 27 to November 4, 2018, from 10am to 6pm (last admission at 5:30pm). Fees: €7.50 (adult) / €5 (child 12-18 / student) / €3.50 (child 7-11) / free (children under 7). Our exhibitions in 2018: - "Japonisms / Impressionisms", from March 30 to July 15, 2018 - "Henri-Edmond Cross", from July 27 to November 4, 2018
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed September 27, 2013

All expressions of the impressionist school: artist from thé Americas, Europe, even Japan.
Tao exibitions per year, actually Iramatzu....

Thank donpierrot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"small museum"
in 26 reviews
"on display"
in 21 reviews
"spanish painter"
in 7 reviews
"current exhibit"
in 6 reviews
"monet's garden"
in 33 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 11 reviews
"permanent collection is"
in 8 reviews
"modern building"
in 4 reviews
"joaquin sorolla"
in 4 reviews
"lovely museum"
in 4 reviews
"impressionist paintings"
in 12 reviews
"nice gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"audio guide"
in 7 reviews
"nice garden"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"claude monet"
in 13 reviews
"monet's home"
in 8 reviews
Filter

287 - 291 of 892 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

An excellent gallery and the current display really complements Monet and repays the influence that Japanese prints had on him

Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

There were only two paintings by Monet on display, in spite of the fact that it is a block from his home. The overwhelming majority of the works were by a single Japanese impressionist. Extremely small collection. Time killer, but otherwise not worth it.

1  Thank 1Karen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIG_Giverny, Chargée de communication at Musee des impressionnismes, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2015

Dear 1Karen1,

We are sorry that you were disappointed with our museum. Nevertheless, even if the museum is only one block from Monet’s house, there is not deceit: the museum is not musée Claude Monet! We are aware that it sounds shocking to most visitors but no one in Giverny owns any work by the master of impressionism. Our museum strives to have some loans by our partners to be able to present a few to our visitors. Two works by Monet are also on view in the Vernon museum, 5 kilometers away from Giverny – there is a joint ticket with our museum by the way. We focus on the history of Impressionism and Post-Impressionism as a whole and to do that we concentrate on monographic or thematic exhibitions. The Hiramatsu Reiji exhibition was an interesting example of how we view our mission. With the works of this contemporary painter who uses traditional Japanese techniques as a tribute to Monet, we were able to make our visitors discover a new aspect of impressionism and its consequences on art. The exhibition was very successful and until these days, its catalogue remains one of our best-selling ones. We do not see ourselves as time killer but more as a knowledge-broker.

Regards,
The staff of the musée des impressionnismes Giverny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The access to the gardens outside the museum is free. They are beautiful and set out nearly like a maze. Each garden has a different colour or theme. Well worth a visit. We were lucky to see the "Hiramatsu - The lily pond, hommage to Monet" Exhibition. Worth the trip to Giverny in itself.

Thank brianandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was attracted into the museum by the posters advertising a display of Japanese artist Hiramatsu's work. Hiramatsu was influenced by Monet's work and visited Monet's garden. His paintings are wonderful! It was very interesting to see Monet's garden through a Japanese artist's eyes considering that Monet's work and his garden were inspired by Japanese aesthetics. I really enjoyed the exhibit. There is a nice gift shop here and a restaurant with outdoor seating during nice weather. A visit to this museum makes a pleasant outing while staying in Giverny!

Thank kathryn031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Musee des impressionnismes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing