We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Giverny”
Review of La Musardiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Musardiere
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giverny
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed one night in the La Musardière Hotel and we Loved it! To get to Giverny from Paris you depart from the Gare Saint-Lazare Train station in Paris, and after a 1 hr trip you get off at Vernon, where you can catch a Taxi (15€) or get on a big Bus with all the other eager Monet Devotees (9€) to take you to Giverny. We took the Bus, and a very pleasant 15 min ride drops you off at a parking lot at the beginning of the town. From there it’s a 1k walk east to the La Musardière, so pack light. The walk takes you right past the fences of Monet’s Gardens which are Très Magnifique! We got a very comfy room on the 3rd floor. This hotel was around at the same time Monet was painting, ergo there is no elevator, so pack light :-) The bathtub was deliciously deep, and you could see the stars and the moon through the skylight. The room cost was the least expensive of our whole Holiday and the Dinner at the Hotel was easily some of the best food I had in France. Monet’s home is appox 200 meters from the Hotel and the Jardins are as delightful as I could possibly have imagined. Très Bon

Room Tip: Monet's burial place is near the church at the west part of town and well worth seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

My sister and I arrived on the hotel doorstep as a last resort - another place had let us down. The lady on the reception was so helpful and friendly - she went to great lengths to help us solve our money problems - no ready cash! Another of the hotel staff carried our two heavy suitcases up two flights of stairs happily. We were very frazzled when we arrived but within less than half an hour we were enjoying a glass of chilled on the terrace!

The hotel had everything we needed and we were very happy with our stay. The breakfast was great - a very generous spread.

We would make this our preferred venue if we returned to Giverny!

Room Tip: Wifi only available on the ground floor - not in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gillandfam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

There are all sorts of places to stay in giverny, from charming b&bs to one or two upmarket hotels but this, although quite basic, was absolutely fine. My sister and I had had a rather difficult situation with a nearby b&b (which I won't mention) and needed a hotel at short notice. We found a room here which was a great relief as everywhere else was booked up. The woman at reception was so helpful and kind, going out of her way to help us sort a few things out. The whole atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. In terms of facilities, the room was clean and had everything we needed, the terrace was pleasant for a drink and the breakfast very good (hot and cold buffet). It's true that the internet was only available in the lobby but who wants to spend their holiday online!! And yes we were dismayed to see two flights of stairs up to our room but a very nice member of staff carried our suitcases all the way up. Although we were only there for one night we were very happy with our stay and would definitely make this our port of call if we were to visit 'Monet country' again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christineplusfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed over one night with the express purpose of being able to visit Monet's house and gardens at its opening to avoid the crowds. La Musardiere's proximity to the Foundation enabled us to accomplish this with ease We had purchased our tickets online and that worked just fine. The hotel owner kindly allowed us to leave our car parked in their lot even though we checked out before our visit to Monet's. The hotel itself is in a lovely setting, with lots of flowers all around. We had a comfortable attic room, typically French small but adequate and the bed was very clean and comfortable. We got there in the evening after a long day visiting Chateau Chambord and then a stop at Chartres Cathedral. At the owner's suggestion, we went across the street to the Pizzeria and ordered a pizza to go. We ate it in our room with a bottle of wine we already had from the Loire opened with my husband's treasure or the trip--a brass knife with a corkscrew, purchased at a Sunday market in Chartres that we happened upon during our stop. Enjoyed dinner and the French Open on TV watching our favorite Novak Djokovic (who looks just like our son) play. I too had trouble connecting to the WI FI and finally had to have someone in the hotel office help me hands-on connect.. After that it worked but was very, very spotty. All in all a decent overnight stay in a lovely, comfortable environment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zippity26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

In a lovely setting just down the road from Monet's Garden.we bought our tickets the day before visiting to avoid the queues. Restaurant has delicious crêpes.

Rooms are fairly basic, but everything you need is there for a short stay. Breakfast good,if a little expensive. WiFi was available most of the time, but went off occasionally as others have found.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Graham7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We checked in at 2pm and found right from the start that there was no wi-fi anywhere despite the fact that it supposedly available in all areas
I was told to "keep trying" (as were others) - using a 26 digital password (true!)
I set my iPad to automatically "keep trying"
After 4 hours, I asked if there was a timeline for when it would be available
I got a shrug of the shoulders and "Giverny is not so good for internet"
Here we have a major tourist town, set in open fields, an hours drive from Paris, with "not so good internet"
A day later and still not internet and with the people in charge not overly interested in the plight of several people who appeared to desperately need it, we checked out ...
Their accommodation details should warn of such things
Trev

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

After a couple of hours walking Monet's gardens and seeing his house we were ready for something to eat before heading back to Paris. The outdoor patio restaurant of this hotel was the ideal place. The food was good and portions ample. Service was a little slow but the restaurant was completely filled with people so it was understandable.

Be advised. Plan you visit to the gardens because you cannot re-enter once you leave. So plan to eat either before or after visiting the gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Peripatetic_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
300 reviews
4.9 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,151 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 2 in Vernon
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Chateau Corneille
Chateau Corneille
#1 of 1 in Vieux-Villez
211 reviews
7 mi away
Les Jardins d'Epicure
Les Jardins d'Epicure
#1 of 1 in Bray-et-Lu
168 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Chaine d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Musardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Musardiere

Address: 123 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giverny
Price Range: $104 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole Prudent and her staff offer you a warm welcome to this family-run hotel built in 1880. Still retaining many of its original features, the house dates back to the period when Monet lived in Giverny. Although only 200 metres from Claude Monet’s house La Musardière, the only hotel in Giverny, is a haven of peace and calm set in its shady grounds in the centre of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Musardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Musardiere Giverny
La Musardiere Hotel Giverny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing