We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk To The Gardens”
Review of La Musardiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Musardiere
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giverny
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walk To The Gardens”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

As popular and beautiful an attraction as Monet's Garden is, it deserves the perfect ending to the rewarding day just spent exploring its environs. La Musardiere is the place. Greeted by the owner at the door, after what couldn't have been more than a two minute stroll from the Gardens, we felt more like we were at a bed-and-breakfast than a hotel, only without the pretention one sometimes feels at the former. Our third floor room with no elevator had me concerned, as I use a cane, but the stairs, though old, were quickly negotiated, leading to a newly remodeled room with wonderful French countryside views. All the modern conveniences where you needed them, but with hand-hewn roof beams left intact, and the most comfortable bed we had on our entire trip. A pleasant walk down the main village road to bolster our appetite, a drink on the outside patio while the sun set over the Gardens, and a well prepared, served, and typically French menu at the hotel's dining room made the day complete.
No entertainment lounge or big city bustle, it was an island of serenity well worth the day trip (or make it two) from Paris.

Room Tip: The floors creak. The building is older than Monet, but the remodeling recently done skillfully com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brucon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    110
    50
    17
    3
See reviews for
57
132
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Location could not be better. A very short walk to the Monet Gardens which if you have pre-purchased your ticket gives you a head start on the crowds. Owner was lovely, really helpful with good English. Breakfast was lovely and the evening meal I had was really good too - and I could drink which was a nice change. It is a lovely old building and the rooms were clean and comfy. Décor was nicely done and in keeping with the building. It's an old building so no swimming pools or spas that I was aware of. Didn't miss them though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed three nights and had a good time in the village and hotel. Only recommendation is that there is no real lounge so hang out at dining tables, playing cards. Staff very nice and accommodating. Room a little stark but not bad and clean. It was quiet in the evening. We walked on the abandoned train track to Vernon on one day. Went to the Monet Gardens but were over run by tour groups. Our final day, we just enjoyed the village.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
413 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

When convenience is at a premium and you only plan to spend one night in Giverny this hotel is hard to beat. The hotel is in a pretty, old building at one end of town, but only a two minute walk to the entrance of the Monet Gardens. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, although they lack air conditioning, and the wi-fi is very unreliable on the upper floors. Our room was very clean, but one of our towels had a 4-inch hole in the middle of it. Access to the rooms is up a steep, narrow staircase. Pack light. The hotel has a restaurant, which isn't exceptional, but will give you easy access to acceptable meals without having to search up and down the street. The breakfast area, on the other hand, is excellent, and they keep it well stocked with a good variety. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They were very responsive to emails. They have plenty of parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Simple, but comfortable accommodation conveniently located to enjoy village; nice atmosphere consistent with traditional character of village; pleasant restaurant ; agreeable and efficient staff;
good value; Village of Giverny is very peaceful in evening. A good place to rest and recuperate after overseas flight to Paris.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but I would recommend this as a good spot for lunch after you visit Monet's house and gardens. Very good crepes and a relaxing atmosphere round up a perfect day after the visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebabustos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed two nights at the beginning of August, arriving just after 9pm following a 500 mile drive from Yorkshire. We were greeted warmly, shown to our rooms and assured that we would be able to get something to eat despite the hour. This latter promise was delivered although full menu was not available we were not sure whether it was because of the late hour of the group of around 20 diners that were probably occupying the chefs time. There is a review of the restaurant elsewhere.

This is a typical French logis, converted from a large old house it would be a good introduction to what to expect in French country hotels. No luxury, just down-to-earth homely rooms that provide what one needs for a good nights sleep (apart from the lack of in room tea making facilities so beloved of us English).

One of the great attractions of this place it is no more than 100 yards from Monet's House and Gardens and being able to walk out after breakfast and be in the gardens early before the crowds arrive is another very good reason to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.5 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.9 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#7 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Coin des Artistes
Le Coin des Artistes
#10 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Giverny
Le Petit Giverny
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Musardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Musardiere

Property: La Musardiere
Address: 123 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole Prudent and her staff offer you a warm welcome to this family-run hotel built in 1880. Still retaining many of its original features, the house dates back to the period when Monet lived in Giverny. Although only 200 metres from Claude Monet’s house La Musardière, the only hotel in Giverny, is a haven of peace and calm set in its shady grounds in the centre of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Musardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Musardiere Giverny
La Musardiere Hotel Giverny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing