We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, friendly and perfectly located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Musardiere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Musardiere
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giverny
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly and perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

A lovely welcome after a grueling drive from Paris, we were expected, everyone was friendly, our room was very satisfactory and the food was good, we had both dinner and breakfast, service even better as everyone says with our young waiter eager to help us choose, he even fixed my Internet connection for me.

It's a small French country hotel with a personal touch. We would return here without hesitation and of course it is perfectly situated, about a hundred yards down the road from Monet's house and gardens, which are much larger than I expected, Mr. Monet must have done well from his paintings.......or came into some unexpected money, still, splendidly done.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank docB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolitanormandie, Gérant at La Musardiere, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your time and for the effort you put into this comment.
To receive messages so kind as your gives us of the courage and a lot of heat in the heart
Thank you again and can be for a next time in Musardiere
Best regards
Carole PRUDENT and all the staff of la Musardiere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    109
    49
    17
    2
See reviews for
57
130
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at La Musardiere (Sept 9 and 10), which was the first 2 nights of our vacation in France. I picked this hotel based on recommendations on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed! This is a lovely 19th century building, furnished eclectically with the feel of a home, and surrounded by a lovely garden. Our room was small but comfortable. We ate most of our meals in the hotel's restaurant, and enjoyed them all. Breakfast was very good and was a nice time to chat with the other guests. Best of all, the location! Literally a stone's throw from the entrance to Monet's home and gardens. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, if a quaint, peaceful country inn is what you're looking for.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolitanormandie, Gérant at La Musardiere, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It is with a lot of pleasure that we discovered vote for message, and we deeply thank you for it
We try to be always available and tuned to our customers so that he keeps them a good memory of their stay
Best regards
Carole PRUDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We wish we had stayed at your hotel. We had a stone house across the river in Vernon but found it difficult ever finding a taxi to take us to Giverny so would have to trek all the way to the train station to wait for a bus to Giverny. We came over to Giverny twice to see Monet's Garden and each time we then went for afternoon refreshments at your hotel and we loved it. Our male server was so polite and friendly and accomodated us by speaking English to us as well as French. We loved your lemon crepes and somehow a Cassis lemonade was the perfect end to a hot afternoon. It was peaceful sitting out on your patio and watching the river flow by. Merci for such friendly service and good food. I highly recommend the lemon crepes!

Room Tip: Highly recommend you take a room on the Giverny side rather than Vernon. The only way to get a taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolitanormandie, Gérant at La Musardiere, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I thank you for your message, I transmit to all the staff of la Musardiere

In the pleasure to receive you next time
Best regards
Carole PRUDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here as a family 2 Adults, 2 Children and Grandma in three rooms for 3 nights. The hotel is typically French and charming. The rooms are small and those on the seconds floor do not have much of a view but all very clean and comfortable. The Staff are lovely and food good including breakfast. We also took the boat trip offered by the hotel, on the Seine and it was absolutely lovely- such fun and a great welcome from the Captain. I would highly recommend it as a way to see Monet's countryside form a different perspective..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saintalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolitanormandie, Propriétaire at La Musardiere, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I thank you for your message, I transmit to all the staff of la Musardière and the Capitain Alain
Carole PRUDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were absolutely in love with this hotel and wished we could have stayed there longer! We didn't realize at the time of booking that it was on the same street as the Claude Monet house and garden - it was so great to be close to all the action in Giverny!!!!! We went for a walk at night around the hotel, and it was almost magical!

The hotel itself is great - super friendly staff and service, amazingly delicious food that is served in the restaurant. Our waiter was very friendly and engaging, everything was delicious and just perfect!

I loved this hotel and will come back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolitanormandie, Propriétaire at La Musardiere, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I thank you for your nice message, I transmit to all staff of la Musardiere. In pleasure to receive you next time
Carole PRUDENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed two nights at La Musardiere in Giverny this summer. It is relatively inexpensive, so I wasn't expecting much. The hallway approaching our room was dark and depressing with the public WC for the restaurant clients two doors down. The room was decorated with deep red and black curtains and matching bedspread that just looked dirty. The rug was threadbare, stained and gross...I was extremely happy that we packed slippers! The furniture was an odd hodgepodge of flea market pieces. While there are certainly hotels that can pull this sort of thing off and make it charming...this was not one of them. Here it just seemed uncared for and neglected. As for the breakfast...basically it is a decent croissant and coffee. Each table is given only one croissant each, but the buffet offers some hard boiled eggs, cold meats, and fruit (just apples, oranges, and a hard nectarine). Pretty much the only thing you want to eat is the croissant...the rest looks like it have been sitting around for a week. All and all, it was pretty bleak for 10euro a piece. The restaurant is also really disappointing. Two days was tough to get through and we were very happy to move on!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolitanormandie, Propriétaire at La Musardiere, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear customer
I answer your message which does not miss to surprise me. Indeed can be that the decoration was not for your taste, but I specify you that all the rooms were redone 3 years ago. The stained carpet I am opposed well. If you had spoken to me about it verbally I shall have been able to explain you that those are customers in May who stained him, I wait for the end of the season to be able to change it. Corridors and all the doors are new it were to replace in January, 2012 nothing is neglected and abandoned. Our faithful customers were able to see all the works and the improvements that we made for their comfort.
We were checked in June, 2012 to make validate our stars and the report was more than satisfying.
When in the breakfast all the products are fresh, if one morning it did not remain more that a nectarine lasts, you would have been able to ask to me for it the others, I shall have been of use to you with big pleasure. On the other hand you do not speak about the warm buffet about scrambled eggs bacon sausages, it has you can be escaped, so the jam house in seasonal fruits, without speaking about the other various dishes of our buffet. To summarize it, I am sorry that your stay did not abduct from you, be that as it may I kindly requests you to excuse me for it
Carole PRUDENT LA MUSARDIERE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Landing in Paris after 28 hours travel, and a drive up from Roissy to Giverny, we hoped that La Musardiere would be comfortable. It was. It is a traditional French hotel, somewhat modernised, to the extent that the room spaces allow. They have comfortable beds and simple and effective shower systems. The staff are delightful - helpful and smiling. The restaurant is again traditional - good solid French cooking, not flashy, but done well and very enjoyable. We had a lovely first evening meal in France in the sun, which alone makes the place worth visiting. Very handy for the Monet house and garden - 5 minutes walk. I woulsd go back again very happily.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariategui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.4 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.0 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Chateau Corneille
Chateau Corneille
#1 of 1 in Vieux-Villez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#7 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Giverny
Le Petit Giverny
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Musardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Musardiere

Property: La Musardiere
Address: 123 rue Claude Monet, 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carole Prudent and her staff offer you a warm welcome to this family-run hotel built in 1880. Still retaining many of its original features, the house dates back to the period when Monet lived in Giverny. Although only 200 metres from Claude Monet’s house La Musardière, the only hotel in Giverny, is a haven of peace and calm set in its shady grounds in the centre of the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Musardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Musardiere Giverny
La Musardiere Hotel Giverny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing