We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Welcome to France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Reserve
Ranked #5 of 13 Giverny B&B and Inns
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Welcome to France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

We arrived in Paris and drove straight to Giverny! What a perfect beginning to our two week stay. This lovely inn exudes the charm and calm of the area, and its new owners, Valerie and Francois, lend a personal touch that invites immediate ease. We appreciated the information and welcoming attention we received and left with a wistfulness for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maire5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
59
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

If you're going to stay overnight in Giverny, before or after seeing Monet's house and gardens, this is the perfect place to continue the peaceful atmosphere. We stayed on the first floor of the large house. The room was spacious and clean, very nicely furnished, with a lovely view of an apple orchard.

Don't let the French web site deter you. The owners speak good English.

We had trouble finding La Reserve. Even our GPS faltered! However, if you stop at the Hotel Baudy in town, they'll give you very good, and easy directions.

We had to leave quite early for a flight to the US, so we were on our own in the kitchen for breakfast, which included fresh oj, bread, yogurt, and coffee -- a typical French breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires and Pacific Palisades
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Marie Lorrain and Didier are incredible hosts. Their B&B is absolutely superband built from scratch by Didier. Marie and Didier thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a true French treat. Your warmth and hospitality will always be with usand we hopoe to return very soon to your little peice o0f heaven !. Laurena & Andres.
PS: say hello to La truff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avelino23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

I have had the pleasure of staying with Marie-Lorraine and Didier Brunet at their Giverny property on several occasions. If I had to describe the perfect B&B experience, it would have to be La Reserve. From the moment I was greeted by
Madame La Truffe (the family dog) and the Brunet’s, I was made to feel at home.

La Reserve was lovingly designed and built by the Brunet’s and most all of the furnishings are family antiques. There are nooks and crannies for reading, spaces to play cards or board games, even a small billiard room. Small antique tables hold heirlooms, beautiful old paintings, even fascinating lamps. Each room is large, unique, and beautifully appointed. The property itself is bucolic, surrounded by orchards, berry bushes, clumps of lavender, roses and private seating areas. The local farmer’s black and white cows graze behind fencing. It is fun to watch La Truffe herd them.

The village of Giverny is a long walk downhill or a short drive from the house. The Brunet’s will be happy to give you information about the village, surrounding area, transportation, restaurant ideas .... anything you need. If you prefer autonomy, you will be accommodated graciously.

La Reserve is suitable for couples, families or business meetings. The entire house is available for rental ... if I were to have a small wedding ... this would be the place! I can’t say enough about the impeccable accommodations, the hospitality and the area. This is France at it’s best.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank settleontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

My mother and I were staying in that house one night, and it was beautiful. Very quite place, beautiful garden, good breakfast. Very kind and helpfull owners. My mother got ill, and they helped us to find a doctor, and let us stay until the eveing in the room, without any extra charges. Really very nice place, great people. Very relaxing environment.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank holidays111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

Marie-Lorraine and Didier were excellent hosts. We loved the location (easily accessable to Giverny and La Roche Guyon), the rooms were lovely and overall a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Napleschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Our two night stay highlighted a 6-day drive through Normandy, our fifth trip to France.
The accomodations were comfortable, the deceptively-young lodge had all the appearances of
age with its antique furnishings. (The floor even squeaked.) We found the Brunets
gracious with excellent English, their recommended restaurants good, the group-entrance tickets to bypass Monet Garden lines a bonus, the tour they suggested of Chateau de Bizy (Vernon) outstanding and directions to CDG Airport on Route 14 in
68 minutes on a Saturday morning much appreciated. Tip on directions to La Reserve from Giverny main street: turn at the street sign Rue de Colombier and follow the road straight out for about a mile thru the woods to a stone marker painted white (doesn't look like an arrow), turn left and you'll finally get to your most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.9 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#6 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pluie de Roses
La Pluie de Roses
#4 of 13 in Giverny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#7 of 13 in Giverny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Property: La Reserve
Address: 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hills of Giverny, La Reserve is a charming Bed and Breakfast, offering 5 bedrooms and a self-contained cottage surrounded by woods and orchards, away from the public eye and noisy roads. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing