We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great service”
Review of La Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Reserve
Ranked #5 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great service”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at La Reserve for two very pleasant nights. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, well appointed and decorated to a high standard. Despite it's looks the building is only 20 years old, it has been lovingly built using a wide range of the recovered materials (such as windows and blinds.)

You therefore get the ambience of the old building style with the benefits of a modern building. The hostess Valerie could not have made us more welcome. Breakfast was pleantiful with good choice. We started with freshly squeezed juice, followed by cereals, cold meats, cheeses, various breads and cakes, coissants, home made yoghurt, jams and honey. I had scrambled eggs (laid by the family hens) delicious!

The building sits in it's own grounds, surrounded by apple trees and extensive lavender hedges. You share the grounds with 4 donkeys and Flambert the dog (all of whom remain outside!) I am not a doggy person, but even my heart was taken by the beautiful animal! He likes to play tug off war with his giant sized security blanket.

We will definitely go back to this delightful spot. We used it as a base to visit Versailles (1 hour) and you could easily visit Paris. Jist down the lane is Giverny village where you can visit Calude Monet's house and gardens.

Room Tip: All rooms have baths except one. This was not a problem for me, but if you are a lager frame you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
61
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Way out in the countryside. Bathroom facilities need upgrading. Our room had no shower. Beds need updating. Friendly hosts and nice breakfast but accommodations are less than satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 888Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

La reserve is everything a bed and breakfast should be -- tranquil, beautiful and personal. Valerie and her family were such gracious hosts, and her home was a haven for tired travelers. the breakfast was especially delicious, and I am enjoying her caramel made with their own cidar at home as a reminder of our vacation. It was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I can only echo all the good words by everyone else. We were so fed up with faceless chain hotels that we rang ahead and were able to stay an extra night. We were made to feel so very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were so glad we extended our stay. The rooms were large and spacious, comfortable and clean, with lovely uninterrupted views over the grounds. Interesting conversation over the breakfast table with other guests. No TV, no radio, just peace and quiet and birdsong. Heaven!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Stripe room the first (extra) night. It gets morning sun and is smaller and a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely B&B, everything was perfect: lovely clean rooms, beautiful spacious grounds, wonderful breakfast (fresh eggs from their own hens, homemade jams etc) a huge range of things from which to choose. Valerie and her husband Francois were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble, they provided refreshments when we arrived, booked restuarants, were lovely to our children - the list goes on and on. We wished we were staying for longer and we all hope to return. Luxury and attention to detail, yet still homely and relaxed. It isn't the cheapest option but in this case you really get a good deal. We loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the portrait room which has a shower and no bath and our 3 boys were in the striped roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is the only Michelin rated B&B in Giverny, and it deserves to be. The gracious, helpful hosts, the beautiful rooms, the exceptional breakfast served in a lovely breakfast room all combine to make this place a real treat, especially for tired, jet-lagged travelers just arrived at CDG and looking for a peaceful place to stay in quiet of the French countryside, just a short distance from Monet's Garden in Giverny and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandM613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Marvelous surrounding and overall set up of the house. detached but few minutes from the gardens and Giverny. Visited with family of 4 and stayed in Blue room. Very clean and comfortable. Very friendly and welcoming owners. Breakfast was delicious....something you can dream of as a French weekend in a countryside. Will come back, no doubt. Fully recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
Hotel Restaurant Baryton
#1 of 5 in Saint-Marcel
102 reviews
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pluie de Roses
La Pluie de Roses
#7 of 14 in Giverny
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Property: La Reserve
Address: 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hills of Giverny, La Reserve is a charming Bed and Breakfast, offering 5 bedrooms and a self-contained cottage surrounded by woods and orchards, away from the public eye and noisy roads. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing