We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best chambre d'hote in our month in France”
Review of La Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Giverny
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Reserve
Ranked #6 of 14 Giverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We wrote in the guest book that we hoped everywhere else would live up to the standards of La Reserve - but unfortunately nothing else did! Valerie was indeed a wonderful host - helpful and thoughtful. Her breakfast was outstanding - with an enormous range to suit every taste - all enjoyed at the enormous elegant dining table with extremely compatible company. The room was extremely comfortable and well appointed including monogrammed towels in the bathroom. The grounds were beautiful and if we'd had more time, we probably would have spent some exploring the area on foot. We did walk into town once - it took about 15 minutes - but that might have included blackberry picking time as well as a visit into the excellent antique shop! However, a car is a necessity here. Make sure you visit the Impressionists Gallery near to Monet's House - we saw the blockbuster Clark Collection - but not sure if it's still on now.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank josephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was our first stop on our trip to Normandy. What a great place. The room was incredible, the hostess, Valerie. couldn't be nicer, the breakfast was the best of our trip. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed every moment.. Valerie suggested a restaurant in Gasney which was great and sitting out in the backyard the next evening with our wine, bread and cheese, among the lavender and with their dog Flaubert was exquisite.Truely a place to enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vttravel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We only stayed here one night, but would have been happy here for a week. La Reserve is a beautiful typical large French House. The bedrooms are large and beautifully appointed. There is a gorgeous dining room where you are served a really lovely breakfast and a very comfortable lounge . SAnd it is all spotlessly clean. This is all set in lovely grounds about 2 K out of Giverny. Valerie is delightful and will do whatever she can to make your stay pleasurable. She booked a really good restaurant for us and had tickets for Monet's garden, which avoids queueing. We would love to return

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank chesterglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

La Reserve is a fabulous country home. It is so characteristic of a lovely French home. Valerie has created a truly French experience. I would return here often given the chance. The location is ideal if you are planning on visiting Giverny, or simply looking for a place to relax. The rooms are huge, and the beds very comfortable. The property is hidden in the woods with cows roaming in the pasture next door. Flaubert, the darling dog, made the experience even better!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trravelingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Rather than reiterate all the details already mentioned in other raves, let me just add that the moment you ascend up the most stunning country road to this rural retreat you know you are going to be in for something very special. The peace and quiet, the fragrant breezes and proximity to nature, so eloquently expressed in the works of Monet, are abundant here at this lovely inn. The setting and facilities are surpassed only by the hospitality and charm of the hosts and their lovely family and picturesque livestock! There is something wonderful about meeting the chickens that produce your breakfast eggs, dancing with cows and donkeys and filling your spacious room with country breezes as you settle down under the starry sky for the best sleep ever. You can arrange your admission tickets to Giverny's attractions right at the hotel to save lineups, although you will definitely beat the crowds from Paris by starting out in the morning from La Reserve.
This is one of those unique properties that is perfectly suited and situated to its locale and it enhances the whole experience of the pilgrimage to Giverny to perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tgtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

La Reserve is the perfect place if you are seeking an authentic French experience. We have stayed here three times and can honestly say that each stay has been better than the last. It is on a hillside, just outside the village of Giverny and Monet's house and gardens. The setting is gorgeous, amid apple orchards, with cows grazing in the pasture just outside our room. Chickens on the property provide fresh eggs for breakfast. Breakfast, in addition to the fresh eggs, was a feast of fresh breads, cheeses, croissants, fruits, juices, coffee, teas, chocolate and confitures all served at a beautifully set table in a dining room overlooking the pasture and orchards. It was so easy to linger for an hour before starting our day's adventures. Valerie and Francois, the new owners, speak English and are so warm and accomodating. Merci beaucoup!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veritas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We visited for one night with our two children, 9 and 11. We all loved La Reserve. The house and setting are beautiful and peaceful and are surrounded by a very large nature preserve. Our hosts were very gracious, greeting us with drinks, providing useful information and even arranging bikes for us to use. Our kids loved Flaubert, the 65 kilo puppy, and the two cats. The breakfast was wonderful - the best we had in France - fresh local yogurt, wonderful breads and pastries, cheeses etc. We highly recommend La Reserve and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giverny
0.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
300 reviews
1 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
288 reviews
5.8 mi away
Domaine de la Corniche
Domaine de la Corniche
#1 of 1 in Rolleboise
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Les Jardins d'Helene
Les Jardins d'Helene
#2 of 14 in Giverny
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Dime de Giverny
La Dime de Giverny
#5 of 14 in Giverny
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moulin des Chennevieres
Moulin des Chennevieres
#4 of 14 in Giverny
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve

Address: 27620 Giverny, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Giverny
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Giverny
Price Range: $123 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the hills of Giverny, La Reserve is a charming Bed and Breakfast, offering 5 bedrooms and a self-contained cottage surrounded by woods and orchards, away from the public eye and noisy roads. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing