We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was Perfect”

Restaurant Les Nympheas
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Giverny
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Everything was Perfect”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The food was amazing. Three of us and we each tried a different salad. Mine was the Monet and it was superb. The assiette charcuterie is not to be missed. Service was friendly and impeccable and what a beautiful location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDG609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    214
    86
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although the restaurant is lovely and in a great location (right next to Monet's garden) the food is very pricey. I went here with my mom and sister and the service was not good at all. It took a long time to be seated and even longer to order. Once our food came it was not worth the price. We all ordered the veggie quiche, which was not good at all! If visiting Monet's garden, find a different place to eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eeaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great respite”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After touring home and gardens this is a nice place for a cool drink and lovely salad . Food is good, a little over priced but not bad. Service is good and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancysueSanDiegoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tourist trap with terrible service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We should have left after waiting 20 minutes just to get the menu. Then when the drinks came, the outside of the glass was dirty and even had the waiter's fingerprint. After waiting and waiting, the food finally came, which was just okay. We didn't even get bread even though the table next to ours did! Of course we should have known that this restaurant a few feet away from Monet's house and gardens would just be a tourist trap. We even saw a waiter slip the tour guide money for bringing his tourists there for lunch. We then waited forever for the check after asking our waiter and then again forever for the change. This was one of my worst restaurant experiences.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank serenev0yager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nympheas, Gérant at Restaurant Les Nympheas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Google Translation
Dear guest,
We sincerely regret that you did not get the good service that you should have expected rightly, and please not that I have settled the problem with the staff. I want you to know that the restaurant is close to the home and gardens as it is the Claude Monet’s Foundation property and as you can read it, we have many good comments and we take care of our guests. Unfortunately, because you got a bad service from a waiter, on that day, it is not appropriate to write that the restaurant is a tourist trap. Furthermore, it is not acceptable to read that the restaurant pays the guides for bringing tourists and you posted this affirmation on a public website, it is a serious accusation! You didn’t even imagine that the waiter was giving the change to the guide, because, you know, guides pay their lunch. Guides and driver get a free meal, only when they come with a tour group booked by a travel agent and these are normal commercial conditions.
Nous regrettons sincèrement que vous n’ayez pas eu le service attendu, à juste titre et je vous informe que j’ai réglé le problème avec le personnel. Je voudrais que vous sachiez que le restaurant est en face de la Maison et les Jardins, car il appartient à la Fondation C. Monet, et comme vous pouvez le lire, nous avons de nombreux bons commentaires et nous prenons soin de nos hôtes. Malheureusement, parce qu’un serveur vous a mal servi ce jour là, il n’est pas approprié d’écrire que le restaurant est un attrape touristes. De plus, c’est inacceptable de lire que le restaurant paie les guides pour qu’ils apportent leurs clients. Vous avez posté cette affirmation sur un site public, c’est une accusation grave ! Vous n’avez même pas imaginé que le serveur rendait la monnaie au guide, car, vous savez, les guides paient leur repas. Les guides et les chauffeurs bénéficient d’un repas gratuit seulement quand ils accompagnent un groupe réservé par une agence et ce sont des conditions commerciales normales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Ideal after a Monet visit”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got in early; later might have been more difficult. Very rapid service. Good food. Pleasant setting. Wifi very efficient. What more do you want?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex450212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Les Nympheas also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Les Nympheas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing