We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip!”

Claude Monet's House and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$98.39*
and up
Giverny and Monet Half-Day Trip
More Info
$117.36*
and up
Giverny and Monet's Garden Bike Tour
More Info
$72.31*
and up
Independent Giverny and Monet's House Tour with Transport from Paris
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Giverny
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These beautiful gardens inspired Impressionist Claude Monet's most famous work.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Claude Monet's garden and the famous Japanese bridge and garden did not disappoint. I have seen the yellow dining room many times in magazines so it was wonderful being able to see the room in person. The adjacent gift shop is worth browsing. Best get there early and perhaps go straight to the Japanese garden (far right of the first garden and in the subway which goes under the road) as this can get quite busy and you need to get a shot of the bridge without too many people! Beautiful planting/colours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,371
    1,219
    291
    73
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A quick visit, but worth it!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

You won't spend too long here 60-90 minutes max but the gardens really are spectacular. We went in May, and there's so many varieties of flowers, trees and bushes in bloom (much better than my visit here years ago in the end of October!). It's beautifully cared-for, but not over-manicured. Really lovely.

The only down side are the masses of people enjoying it at the same time. Go early. You can buy tickets online in advance and enter at the back at the Group Entrance. The tickets are not dated so you can use then anytime that year.

Parking is free. It's a one-hour drive from Paris.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Breathtaking! Go late in the day.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Definitely the highlight of our trip. We visited in May after a particularly cold winter so the flowers were spectacular. Rain had been predicted (although it never came) and that combined with heading out later in the day meant we missed in infamous tour bus crowds.

The garden isn't large and you can easily see everything in under two hours, although if you have the time, just sitting and gazing at the lily pond while the light changes is well worth it. We were blessed with a slightly cloudy day which meant we could catch the reflections across the water.

The house was fascinating. Notice the Renoir above the bed and the Cezannes hanging in the bathroom, as well as one of the finest collections of Japanese art I've ever seen. It's wonderful to imagine Monet and all the children around the table in the bright yellow kitchen. There's a DVD available in the gift shop which is in French with English subtitles. It gives a full history of Monet and how he came to live at the house. I recommend adding a copy to your collection of beautiful purchases; yes, there's the usual tourist rubbish but there's also some really high quality merchandise in the shop so make sure you leave time to wander.

If we went back I'd get there earlier to see some of the other attractions around Giverny. There's some very lovely public gardens and galleries close to Monet's house and garden and I'm guessing most of the tour buses head to Monet's first. I think the best time to head into the garden is around 3.30pm to 4.00pm, depending on the time of year. In May the sun doesn't set until after 8.00pm so we had plenty of time to wander until the 6.00pm closing time, and the garden gets less and less crowded the closer it gets to closing. Brilliant. We even got photos of the famous bridge with nobody on it.

We hired bikes from Giverny and rode to Monet's. This was glorious! We really did travel sunny country lanes with butterflies and the smell of lilac in the air. The route is well marked and the ride is fairly easy. Just make sure your bike works well before you head out and take it back and swap it if it doesn't. Some of them are worse for wear.

I've included just a few of the many photos I took. They speak for themselves. If I had to pick just one thing to see in France, this would be my pick. Of course, I am a huge Monet fan!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

As an artist I was really intrigued by the idea of visiting Monet's house and to see the lily pond which I figured must be inspiring. People raved about it so one day out of a week was devoted to this trip. The house showed no evidence of where he kept his palette or where he kept his easel. The second studio which was clearly added on later by him was filled with mugs , calendars and the likes. What was worse was his collection of paintings by friends too valuable to keep there had been replaced with really bad copies. The gardens were beautiful but I imagine Paris has equally beautiful gardens that you do not have to take a train to see. The lily pond was dismal with last year's brown pads floating around.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
350 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Absolute Must!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

No question about it. You must see this. Go and see his water lily paintings at l'orangerie in paris first, and then head out to his garden and compare to the real thing. Absolutely amazing!

Takes about 50 mins on the train to Vernon from Gare Lezare in Paris.
There are buses that take you straight there from the train station, but beware, these are slow and you have to wait for ages for them to board everyone. If you have a group of 3 or more... take a cab! Or hire a bike and ride out. Much faster and nicer!

Seriously must visit this - sensational! Try get there early ahead of the hordes or tourists!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claude Monet's House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Claude Monet's House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing