We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Baudy

Restaurant Baudy
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Giverny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We didn't have dinner plans when we arrived in Giverny, so stopped by the hotel to see if we could eat....the place was EMPTY! So we thought, no problem. The staff said Mais, NON, we are full - Really I thought, so we asked again, and they found us a table for 4. No kidding, within 20 minutes at about 8 in the evening, the place was packed! Lively conversation among the tourists and local patrons. What a FABULOUS experience! The food was fabulous...the waitress was a doll, the food kept coming, from appetizers to desert - Tres Bien! I want to go back!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MariannTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    454
    136
    49
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portroe, Nenagh, Co. Tipp. Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I admit that we paid only a brief visit to this charming and historic inn but it was memorable for the service and for the ambience. I hope to return and spend more time soaking up the bygone world of Monet and his fellow artists. Our host was friendly and welcoming and funny too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleonard48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Baudy's secret magic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The Baudy is wonderful, not for the food or sloppy service but for the wonderful secret garden and artists atelier behind. Go for coffee and make sure you climb the steps behind in a tangle of woodland and deliciousness

Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsborough, north carolina, usa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an adorable old Inn that is now a restaurant. Thanks to our tour guide we were able to go in the back yard and see the artist's studio that Monet and his colleagues frequented while in Giverny. It is amazing.
We only had coffee and chocolate chaud but it was perfect. I would like to return to visit this Inn again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewhurst Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only interested in cramming tourists in & ripping them off!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Admittedly it was nearing the end of the season and the staff may have been jaded and tired. But the food was not cooked properly and slapped down in front of one with a like it or lump it attitude.
The tables appeared to be long trestles squeezed so close that neither the person behind one nor oneself were able to rise from a seated position without thumping each other. However, as the people on either side of one were so closely packed in, it was impossible to leave the table for any reason. It was like eating at a school refectory table, one could not move ones elbows without jabbing ones neighbours in the ribs. By far the worst eating experience I have ever had in France. Very sad, I never thought I would see the day where such contempt for the customer was so obvious, in the land of good dining.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Baudy also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Baudy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing