We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing overall, despite some very good points.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Josephine
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Deauville
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing overall, despite some very good points.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here in Room Eugenie for 9 nights in July as a base in a reasonably large town for touring northern Normandy, especially the coastal resorts and D-day sites. Deauville was indeed fine for this, but this hotel was a poor choice. We should probably have moved out after a couple of nights, and tried to find something better, but decided to give the place the benefit of the doubt.

Plus Points: very quiet, close to the sea, easy outside parking on the street most if not all the time, easy to find, comfortable bed, crisp clean linen and towels, good bathroom, plenty of hot water and efficient plumbing, nice mini balcony and french window for fresh air, bright and attractive breakfast room, fresh juice and bread at breakfast.

Weak points: uninviting garden with rusty furniture and overlooked by all the other rooms; extremely expensive breakfast for very little substance and variety deposited by grim-faced staff; no public rooms except the above breakfast room ; no chance of a hot drink outside breakfast, not even at a cafe within short walking distance; one rickety chair in the bedroom otherwise you sit on the bed; no desk or table at which to sit; no wifi except by reception although advertised; truly portable safe - easily removed from the room; expensive mini bar with a door that won't close; poorly lit bedroom and corridor decor - fun perhaps for a night or two, but wearing, and then annoying, for a longer stay.

Customer Service: generally lacking in customer care or attention, inconsistent service and facilities e.g chocolates and weather forecast in the room some nights, others nothing; failure to replace basic items in bathroom; no effort to engage or converse in small talk with clients (my French is not that bad!); no communication until after you've been locked out by a change in the gate security number.

If you must stay in overpriced Deauville for a night or two, and want somewhere out of the ordinary, near the sea, this just might be for you, but it is quite a walk (20 mins) to the centre and expensive for what it is. My wife found the hotel quaint at first, which is why we decided to stay to the end, but by then even she was pleased to be moving on.

Room Tip: We weren't put in the room we had booked anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ath75t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    2
    5
    8
See reviews for
5
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My business partner and I booked and was confirmed 2 nights (Friday and Saturday night) at Hotel Villa Josephine. We have a written confirmation. The night before we were checking in, we received a call from the hotel saying that they could only give us the first night. We had made this reservation 2 weeks back and got a written confirmation. We called around an could not find any vacancy at all. It was probably the unusual warm weather that Europe had at the end of Sept. They must have sold our room for a higher rate. Without confirmed reservation anywhere in Deauville, we could not possibly even come for the first night. They didnt care and charged us one night penalty anyways. Now the hotel woudl not even return our email or calls.

Think twice about booking at this hotel. It was a nightmare for us> The staff are just very rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank MichelinBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We normally visit Deauvile at least once a year, and thus far have stayed at one of the Barriere Hotels, though wated for their flash deals. One came this year, but our particular date was blocked out so we thought well maybe to-night Josephine ?
Good point first, you can park outside, and merely have to shlep the baggage down the garden bewteen the fallen apples..only about 30 feet, so far so good.
On the way we met a cat, and it was probably the cat you couldnt swing in the room.
It was a very small room, hardly space for my wifes cases. The whole place looked as though someon's aunt had bequeathed a load of furniture and they didnt know where to put it, so plonk.
It pretty quiet, and the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom adequate.
But the price. £202 well really...oh and breakfast extra..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank President66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This English Tudor styled country home is actually set in the middle of an acre of property one block from the water and about five blocks from the center of town. Upon walking through solid wood electronic gates that hide the hotel from the street, a large front yard with some tables and chairs set about, welcome you to your temporary home.

We stayed in the Charles room, not the Napoleon as confirmed. It seemed a honeymoon couple was given our room instead. The two rooms are the same size and setup, just different décor. We liked the décor of the Napoleon room better, but the Charles room has a better view of the front yard so that made up for it. If you want a little more privacy then choose the Napoleon room because it is tucked away in the corner of the house.

The room was classy and in good shape. It was however, small. It was the kind of room that basically all you could do was walk around the bed. Both of our bags had to remain out, one on the floor and another on a luggage rack, which did not help the situation. The bathroom was very nice, large with separate shower, tub, and water closet. The entrance to the room was through French doors that lead directly to the front yard. We enjoyed this, but it also meant that you had to be careful about what you were doing or keep the drapes closed. We had our own café table and chairs just outside the door, a great place to relax and enjoy the view. There are three rooms that open directly to the front yard, the other four are upstairs overlooking the front yard and accessed off a narrow dark hallway.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel. It was a very European styled buffet breakfast that did not seem worth the money given that most of what was offered did not appeal to us. This was a shame because the setting for breakfast was a beautiful and elegant room. You could also have breakfast outside. We did enjoy the complementary bottle of champagne and chocolates that the hotel provided the first night, and a second round of chocolates the second night.

We thought the location of the hotel was great, right near the beach and just outside the main part of town, but a very easy walk. The first night of our stay, the town was not that busy. The second night, the town was so busy that every restaurant was so crowded that lines formed outside them. Although we loved Deauville and were very impressed with its beautiful wide beach, we would be concerned about staying in this town during the height of the summer season. We reserved parking for an additional fee during our stay, but were told at check in that we should be okay finding free parking on the street. This was not a problem for us and saved us some money. The second day we came back to town late enough to find a space, but good luck on those really busy summer days. The street behind the hotel seems to be less crowded than the one in front of the hotel.

While in town, we visited the Normandy and Royal Barriere hotels. We found them to be very nice and grand but also very busy. We were very pleased that we stayed at the small and quiet Villa Josephine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We had the opportunity to stay at Villa Josephine in December 2009.
This is the best in town by far (we did try other hotels in Deauville and I lived in the region for several years).
What to expect:
- a charming building renovated with exquisite taste
- superior attention to guests and perfect discreet / efficient client service
- each room is decorated differently with a certain style - very comfortable (we were in the Duc de Morny)
- a generous breakfast... with home made "compote"
- location is a bit further out of town ie perfect to relax away from Deauville's town center but still within 10 min walking distance
- reasonable prices versus other local hotels
We were with our 18 months old daughter and everything was arranged perfectly before our arrival.
Obviously we will return to Villa Josephine next time we are in town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVBZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We were looking for a hotel for my mother in law's 80th birthday weekend. We were immediately attracted by the website which suggested a hotel with character and charm and very different from the bland chain hotels that you can sometimes come across. All the rooms had their own individual character with real personalised touches and we really had the feeling of staying in someone's own home. Madame was extremely welcoming, we very much enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed at this charming little guest house near the sea for three nights and enjoyed very much the great hospitality of the owners. Breakfast was a special highlight of the day. The location of the house is great, calm, close to the beach and a very nice restaurant not far away. All rooms are different but each has a specific charm.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deauville hotels
0.5 mi away
La Closerie Deauville Residence Hotel
0.4 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 28 in Deauville
742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almoria
Almoria
#6 of 28 in Deauville
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marie-Anne
Hotel Marie-Anne
#17 of 28 in Deauville
157 reviews
3.0 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Embruns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Josephine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Josephine

Property: Hotel Villa Josephine
Address: 23 rue des Villas, 14800, Deauville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Josephine 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Josephine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Josephine Hotel Deauville
Hotel Villa Josephine Deauville, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing