We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential but low quality service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence du Golf
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Deauville
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We (four adult people) spent a week there in September 2012. The resort is very nicely situated but this is almost the only positive think I can write about it because:
- The reception's phone was deliberately (as told us by the reception clerk) disconnected from the rooms' phones despite the fact that in their advertising it is written that you can dial 9 and get connection with the reception.
- The phone in the room was not working so if something happened to us we could die without any connection with the outside if we did not have mobile phones working in France (and indeed we did not have).
- There were occasions without hot water in the bath.
- The room heating was not always working.
- The internet was mostly not working or working poorly despite the extra price we paid (10 Euros/3 days).
- The kitchen dishes were dirty when we received the room
- The beds were too narrow for an adult person.
- Despite the fact that many guests were from outside France, there was no TV station in English.

The service in the resort should mprove a lot before I could recommend on it to any of my friends.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with big, confortable beds. Ask for them otherwise you might get the narrow, un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiberiu e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 596 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

First of all, I want to say that you definitely need a car if you stay here- it is up a huge hill on the outskirts of town. That said, we had a fine family 4-day weekend here. [Great home base to do day trips to Deauville/Trouville, Honfleur, etc.] It rained most of the time, so we didn't get to enjoy the pool much, which was unfortunate. Lobby staff was pleasant- but be careful not to arrive during lunch time [12pm-2pm], as the lobby is closed and you will not be able to get a key or even hang out in the lobby. Our little apartment had 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds for the kids, and pull-out sofa for the adults in the main room. Bathroom was tiny and could have been cleaner, other than that it was fine. Only other complaint that with tile floor and wooden tables and chairs, the noise is horrendous. We were on the main floor, and the people above us seemed like they were moving furniture all night! I had to buy ear plugs for the subsequent nights. So book on the top floor if you are noise sensitive [but note that there did not seem to be elevators...]

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccainparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

After arriving in Deauville (and a sister hotel of this one, which I shall review separately!) and a shaky start, we came "up trumps" with this hotel!
You must have a car for this hotel as it is a short drive out of the main town centre.
We stayed in October 2011, and the weather was beautiful and warm during the day , and very chilly and frosty at night and first thing in the morning, but the apartment we stayed in was lovely and cosy, nice and warm and well appointed.
The pool was unfortunately closed, which was disappointing because the day time temperature was 23' so perfect for a British national, as that is about as hot as our summer gets!
All in all a very nice hotel, perfect, obviously if you're on a golf break.
This was booked very last minute and proved to be a pleasant surprise!
The town of Deauville is beautiful and very , very chic, it's great for people watching along the beach promenade, and the various restaurants too!
The town of Honfleur is only a short drive of approx 15 mins, and we went there a couple of evenings and watched a beautiful October sun-set and sat outside the restaurant by the harbour, just lovely, and a wonderful birthday celebrated!

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank English-Rose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights over the New Year here. It is a little way out of town, previously we had stayed at La Closerie in town and there are benefits to being able to walk. However, this situation was quiet, peaceful and very pleasant. Also, parking in Deauville is not a problem anyway so if you don't fancy walking the hill, it's not a problem to stay further out.

I was very impressed with the cleanliness, the equipment provided and the use of space in the apartment. The beds are comfortable however, a wardrobe in the bedroom would be nice as there was only a closet in the hall.

It is very quiet in comparison to La Closerie where you can hear everything in neighbouring apartments. There is a 'Coccimarket' supermarket within a 5 minute walk for supplies. There is also the Carrefour in town for more selection if you are going to cook.

Yes the TV only has French channels but occasionally you'll get an English program with subtitles. I didn't go to watch TV anyway and my French isn't too bad so no complaints there.

This was excellent value for a winter break and Deauville is truly a beautiful place to be at Christmas time. We would definitely return, the pool would certainly be a draw in the Summer for my 3 boys.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonFrancophile73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We were originally booked in to the sister hotel of this one further down in Deauville Centre, very close to the beach............. however on arrival there it was clear that it was completely misrepresented on the website we booked through, and I could not have possibly stayed!
On arrival here though, it was a different story.

This is an appartment hotel, and is pleasantly situated next to a golf course. The hotel is in a residential area, and is driving distance to the town centre, it is walkable but beware of the steep hills around!!

We had a wonderful 4 night stay, and made the most of the glorious weather; we sat on the beach every day and did lots of people watching!

Having a car with us made it perfect for exploring the Cider Route tourist drive, and we found some lovely villages en route.

The reception staff were most helpful!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank English-Rose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The place was very nice, but if you like amenities, then stay clear of here!
The reception houses the few amenities available, but is closed between 12 – 2pm, then again from 7 pm to 9 am. The lift to the ground floor is turned off during these hours, so you must walk down the stairs from the 1st floor. The views are lovely, but you are about 1.5 km from the town centre down a steep hill (ok going down, but a bit of a drag coming up). The bar in the reception area does not sell alcohol and if you wish to change your towels mid week, then you must pay for a room clean at 26 Euros per person in that room. When the reception is closed you have no hotel staff available to assist as they all go home. Deauville is a very nice area with lots to do, but is a bit expensive for most things except petrol, which is cheaper than the UK. Over all we had a nice time, but it would have been better if we knew what to expect, as even the TV only has basic French channels (thankfully our portable car DVDs worked in the room plugged into the TV, so we had some movies to watch in the evening when close down occurred). It will cost you 30 Euros for 7 days to park in the hotel grounds, but there is plenty of free street parking outside the main gate, if you do not wish to pay any more money (the area is very quite and safe, so your car will be fine).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve4596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Booked Hotel from Trip Advisor reviews.
It is a way out of Deauville Centre and up a quite steep hill.
The Complex is smart and quite new but curiously placed in a Residential Area next to but not part of a Golf Course.
We stayed one night and it was OK but not exceptional. Probably better than a Travelodge in the UK and much better than a Formula 1 in France.
Had we been there for a seaside visit I think it would have been disappointing.
Main problem is that since leaving I have had great difficulty in making contact with the hope of recovering left luggage. This may be the fault of Booking.com who have provided incorrect contact details.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deauville hotels
0.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Embruns
1.2 mi away
Ibis Deauville Centre
Ibis Deauville Centre
#9 of 27 in Deauville
1,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
769 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Closerie Deauville Residence Hotel
2.0 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence du Golf

Address: Rue des Aunes, 14800, Deauville, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances - Deauville Golf Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
Price Range: $69 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence du Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Residence Du Golf Deauville, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing