We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiters let the chef down”

Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $37
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I dined here on Monday. It looked nice enough from the outside and there were a few other people inside the restaurant too. The food was good, however my 'terrible' rating is in connection with the service. It began with a simple request for a bottle of water and then a second request which was again ignored. The second issue was when my husband ordered a cappucino which arrived with no milk and he had to ask twice for some - eventually it arrived. Then the cherry on the cake occurred when I went to the ladies - should be a simple affair! But not when one of the waiters (short with black hair which was greased back) thought it would be highly amusing to lock me in the toilet! After a few minutes of trying to get out the handle eventually turned and I opened the door to find the above-mentioned waiter running away laughing with the other waiter. Just totally shocked to be honest. That sort of behaviour should have been left at the school gates NOT when you are paying customer. Would suggest the management speak to the staff and educate them with what is acceptable and what most certainly is not.

3  Thank NikkiB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013
Google Translation

Nous sommes navrés de l'incident que vous relatez et voudrions que vous ne restiez pas sur un mauvais souvenir; aussi ce message, dont nous vous remercions, nous permettra-t-il d'apporter quelques informations.

Il est vrai que les portes des toilettes ont déjà laissé perplexes quelques-uns de ceux qui les franchissent! En effet, elles doivent être glissées latéralement.
Mais en aucun cas nous ne pouvons...enfermer nos clients car le verrou est intérieur et certes, nous apprécions notre clientèle mais pas au point de la garder contre son gré!!
Aussi notre serveur présent, ce jour-là, loin de se moquer, est-il venu vous aider et s'est retiré discrètement comme la situation l'imposait...

Quant au cappuccino, il est, en France du moins, essentiellement composé de café et d'un peu de lait qui est porté en température pour obtenir une mousse, d'où cette impression de légèreté car ce n'est pas "un café au lait"! Mais sans doute étiez-vous habituée à une recette différente...

Souhaitant que ces précisions vous aient rassurée, nous espérons que vous reviendrez en Normandie sans appréhension.

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a very pleasant dinner at this restaurant. The service is professional, helpful and efficient without being obtrusive. The food was beaufifully cooked and presented. Definately worth a visit

Thank Warren H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013
Google Translation

L'équipe de La Cantine vous remercie d'avoir pris le soin de dire tout le bien que vous pensez de l'établissement, tant dans son accueil que dans sa restauration.
Votre message, comme tous ceux qui nous parviennent de nos visiteurs étrangers, contribue à faire découvrir notre restaurant au delà de Deauville et nous vous en sommes particulièrement reconnaissants.

Très cordialement,
Le service clientèle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I visited LaCantine with my wife last Saturday and were pleased to be able to get a table without a reservation, despite the place being quite full. Our waitress was very patient in putting up with my school boy French , the service was prompt and friendly. The menu was mid range in terms of price and the food excellent tasty and simple. The wine a delicious red was a bit more than we'd pay at home. All in a great value mid price well presented simple meal. We would return .

Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup de votre message qui nous fait part de votre satisfaction.
Nous sommes tout spécialement heureux quand nos voisins étrangers viennent nous rendre visite: la cuisine est un langage universel et nous nous sommes compris!
Amandine est la présence féminine de la Cantine et elle vous remercie tout particulièrement de vos compliments, mérités, il est vrai!

Nous restons à votre service si vos voyages vous guident de nouveau en Normandie...

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ate here, on a quiet Sunday.good food well cooked and presented. The ambience was good even when Deauville was quiet. Good service, well priced and filling. A good find and a reasonable price in the centre of town. Worth a try .

Thank Familydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013
Google Translation

Nous sommes ravis que vos pas vous aient conduit jusqu'à La Cantine et que vous ayez ainsi découvert notre cadre et notre cuisine.
Grand merci d'avoir noté votre intérêt pour notre établissement.

Il semble que vous soyez passé à l'issue de la grande agitation du Festival américain et Deauville faisait une pause! Mais pas l'équipe de La Cantine qui a mis son professionnalisme à votre service avec grand plaisir et est heureuse d'avoir contribué à la qualité de votre séjour deauvillais.

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had dinner with friends at La Cantine in August 2013 and i was quite impressed: very nice and gentle employees, good food and great price.
The restaurant is a well-located trendy place!
I highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gwénola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir choisi notre restaurant et de le recommander.

Notre établissement est effectivement implanté dans le centre de Deauville face à des institutions comme Chez Miocque ou Le Drakkar mais votre message nous rassure: nous n'avons pas à rougir face à nos prestigieux voisins.
Merci d'avoir remarqué que La Cantine propose une cuisine de qualité à des prix raisonnables et que notre équipe, tant en cuisine qu'en salle, s'efforce de donner le meilleur d'elle-même. Aussi vous remercie-t-elle donc vivement de votre message.

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville also viewed

Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 
Deauville, Calvados
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing