We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class food and service”

Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville
Ranked #4 of 113 Restaurants in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $35
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top class food and service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Highly recommend this resteraunt. Top quality food and wine and reasonably priced by Deauville standards. Staff were very friendly and attentive. They helped us with the menu due to our limited grasp of the French language. Would highly recommend a visit here if you are ever in Deauville

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mccracken11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup de ce message très positif!

Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir pu vous accueillir et vous satisfaire.
Merci notamment d'avoir observé notre souci de proposer des produits à des prix abordables sans pour autant sacrifier la qualité.
C'est une volonté qui était à la base de nos exigences lors de l'ouverture de notre établissement et nous nous attachons à maintenir cet objectif.

Toute l'équipe vous remercie et espère avoir contribué ainsi à la qualité de votre séjour en Normandie.

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    604
    117
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Sitting on the street, the kids discovered just how good French food can be. It was a gastronomic delight. And with only 30 minutes advance booking in high season too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Google Translation
Nous sommes ravis que vos enfants aient fait connaissance avec la bonne cuisine française à... La Cantine!
Nous mettons un point d'honneur à cuisiner des produits frais et à pratiquer une vraie cuisine et si vos petits ont apprécié c'est qu'ils ont bon goût!
Merci de votre message lu avec intérêt par toute l'équipe.

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lively, but reliable”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very good selection of food. Service was good, not great. We were shown a table on the mezzanine but preferred to sit downstairs. They were unwilling to accommodate us.
In spite of that, the food was good, so when in Deauville, this is a good spot, with a good crowd.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FHANDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Google Translation
Merci de vos remarques qui nous permettent de toujours rester au plus près des souhaits de notre clientèle.
Il arrive parfois que certaines réticences concernant le placement de la clientèle échappe à la connaissance de nos clients. De fait, certaines contraintes ne nous permettent pas toujours de satisfaire totalement chacun de ceux qui franchissent notre seuil et nous le regrettons. En effet, les locaux ne sont pas extensibles et en période d'affluence notamment!
Nous espérons toutefois que vous garderez un bon souvenir de votre passage sur la Côte normande.

Cordialement,
Le service clientèle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant in Deauville”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

First of all, this was one of the only restaurants that took a reservation for 6 at the last minute. The restaurant's location was excellent in a fashionable street n the centre of Deauville. A table outside would be good for peoplewatching. Parking is free after 7pm in Deauville.

A modern decor was more reminiscent of a restaurant in New York than one in Paris. The service was good and the bathrooms were nice and clean (although one of our party aged six got stuck in the bathroom because she couldn't open the sliding door).

As for the food, it was delicious and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. The entrecote steak was perfectly cooked, with a bearnaise sauce, the duck in a delicious sauce. There was a huge selection of desserts and in fact they were the best part of the meal.

When the addition arrived, we were pleasantly surprised. All in all, excellent value averaging 25 euros per person for 2 courses without wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WestmountWings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Google Translation
Grand merci de votre message très précis et développé qui insiste sur des points qui sont parfois peu observés.
C'est vrai que l'accueil, le contenu de l'assiette sont essentiels; mais l'environnement de l'établissement est important aussi et La Cantine se situe effectivement dans l'une des rues les plus animées de Deauville, en face d'institutions de la restauration comme Le Drakkar.
Nous sommes "un petit nouveau" mais, comme votre avis et de nombreux autres en font état, nous n'avons pas à rougir de la proximité de nos illustres voisins.

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Really good food for decent prices, rustic / reliable dishes

We had a leg of pork which was excellent, my brother ate a sallad with poached eggs and fois gras toasts.

Would recommend it strongly if in the area

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesuedios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laCantinedeDeauville, Responsable relations clients at Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Google Translation
En cette période estivale, des recommandations comme la vôtre sont très appréciées de l'équipe, qui, bien que très sollicitée, fait son maximum pour satisfaire la clientèle.
Nous vous remercions donc d'avoir pris la peine de vous exprimer sur notre établissement.

Nous serons heureux de vous recevoir de nouveau à La Cantine, lors d'un prochain séjour normand.

Bien cordialement,
Le service clientèle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville also viewed

Deauville, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 
Trouville-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Brasserie La Cantine de Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing