We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big & Comfy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Deauville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big & Comfy!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A really huge hotel but not overly 'corporate'. Very spacious rooms with great views, lovely common areas, loads of parking, excellent breakfast and good service throughout. Highly recommended. The bar has an enclosed verandah area which is perfect for early evening drinks!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel to get a superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    256
    86
    27
    19
See reviews for
155
454
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The staff was really polite and friendly.
Amazing breakfast.
Very big room with an amazing window and an incredible view.
Far from the city centre, but 10 mins away by car.
The carpet in the room was a bit dirty.
The toilet was separate from the bathroom, which was a bit bizarre.
My room was connected to another room by a door, which meant I could hear a lot of what was going on next door. Luckly, the staff gave me earplugs and told the guest next door to keep it down.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms connected by internal doors to other rooms. Most rooms have a nice room, but those facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear teresa m,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback following your last stay at the Hotel du Golf Barriere.
I am delighted you enjoyed that we met all your expectations.
I am sorry for the noise you had to support from the neignbors.
I thank you for recommending the Hotel du Golf Barriere, and I am looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Deauville.

Kind Regards,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've just been reading all the reviews - we stayed at this Hotel last September (2012) - had a fantastic week. The breakfasts were amazing - so much choice (well perhaps a little too much!!), the golf was excellent (all 4 rounds) and the service was perfect whether it was the hotel or golf staff. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Superior room, which was just above the 18th Green, which provided quite a bit of entertainment!! (Oh those bunkers!) We ate in the hotel a couple of nights and then savoured the delights of Deauville and Sain Arnoult - no complaints. Because we had such a fantastic holiday in September, we are returning in May 2013 but only to a Classic Room - which from the reviews is little different to the Superior - just hope we get a good view of the sea. Only a few more weeks to go :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback following your stay in september at the Hotel du Golf Barriere.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we met all your expectation of a great hotel. I am truly pleased to read that you had enjoyed the hotel, the food and your room (especially the entertainment of the bunkers...).
I look forward like you said for your next visit in may and hope you will enjoy it again
With my Best Regards.

Jacques Horrent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 days back in September and everything was lovely. We are not golfers but the grounds are walking friendly and absolutely gorgeous. There are great views from the grounds to the ocean. The hotel is beautiful inside as well. The rooms are very spacious with amazingly comfortable beds!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful in assisting us with figuring out how to get places. They also gave us free drinks and snacks when our room was not ready on time!! The breakfast buffet has almost any food you could ask for, it is huge!! The food at the hotel for other meals is a limited menu but is very good however we only ate one meal there! Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrianne715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques H, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive feedback following your last stay at the Hotel du Golf Barriere.
I am delighted, you enjoyed your three days and we met all your expectations.
I have shared with my whole team your great and rewarding feedback, which encouraging us to keep on providing such high standards of service to all of our guests.
I thank you for recommending the Hotel du Golf Barriere, and I am looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again in Deauville.

Kind Regards,

Jacques Horrent
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

But enjoyed the old world ambiance, aesthetic, grounds, & architectural touches. Ginormous bedroom unlike any accommodations in Europe. Big, comfortable bed(sleeps 6 easily), beautiful breeze off the sea, about a mile away, & romantic, if somewhat remote spot from which to watch the Bastille Day fireworks in over the beach. Amazing Sunday brunch. Hot during the day, with no air con so if you're there just to hang out, relax, or use the golf course you might enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor w a balcony or windows that face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went on a half board deal for 3 nights, which included golf on 4 different courses including the one at the hotel. The hotel is old, grand and a bit dated but so comfortable with huge rooms with walk in wardrobe, big bathroom with separate bath and shower and the most comfy hotel beds I have ever slept in.

Breakfast is wonderful with every possible thing you could want to eat, including the most delicious creamy scrambled eggs.

Although our deal dinner menu was more limited than the main a la carte menu, there were choices and the food is very high class and beautifully presented. Not sure that I would have wanted a week of it as its very rich and maybe a bit too fancy for me, but nevertheless a real treat.

All in all a lovely stay. I will be going back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lovesoftbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

On a 5 day break with my wife and daughter and fiance < this is our fifth time at this hotel and it is the one place one feels comfortable and well looked after< i must admit the decor has not changed since i first came 8 years ago but the imposing hotel and veiws over the racecoarse and beyond are very relaxing. THe rooms are large and spotless and the bed s give you an excellent nights sleep. We eat in the hotel 3 nights and as usual the food and service were first class ,eating out in Deauville is expensive but good , but value for money the hotel beats the town hands down. This year we found the area to be a lot quiter than usual and the golf coarse easy to book on to, this show a resession is on everywhere , a very relaxing few days in a beautifull part of the world, will definatly be back. If you are going on a short break including golf there are some fantastic deals to be had with Golf break companies the savings are considerable.

Room Tip: All rooms are great if you do not spend a lot of time in room the classic is fine the higher grades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpsonmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deauville
1.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Normandy Deauville
1.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Royal Deauville
1.7 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Augeval Hotel
Augeval Hotel
#4 of 27 in Deauville
721 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
890 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Deauville Centre
Ibis Deauville Centre
#9 of 27 in Deauville
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville

Property: Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville
Address: Le Mont Canisy, 14803, Deauville, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Deauville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Deauville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Deauville
#2 Family Hotel in Deauville
#2 Luxury Hotel in Deauville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the hills of Deauville surrounded by rich greencountryside, the Hotel du Golf Barriere is a genuine invitation to relax. In this majestic country mansion which resembles an ocean-liner, everything is focused on wellbeing : whether here for revitalising or to enjoy the golf courses, the settings never fail to delight. The hotel is chic and sporty, offering guests a chance to recharge their batteries in a haven of peace. More than a wonderful breathof fresh air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Golf Deauville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Barriere
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel Du Golf Deauville Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing