We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearby the beach but expensive and very small plates...”
Review of Bar de la Mer

Bar de la Mer
Ranked #80 of 114 Restaurants in Deauville
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Usually, when you come to Deauville, you expect higher than usual prices in other places in Normandy. But this place offers plates that are far too small to satisfy the average stomach. Having high price is ok, but at least, please provide enough food for your customer to fill full after having a lunch at your place...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Directeur Restauration du Casino Barrière de Deauville at Bar de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused during our service offer. As a matter of fact, the points mentioned in your comment do not reflect our normal standards of service. I willl hence address them to the team in order to avoid any future occurrence.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to prove you our high level of service soon.

Au revoir,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 184 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

The location right on the beach was enough for us to enjoy our lunch. Unlike other reviews, we received everything we ordered extremely quickly. Moreover the salmon salad was huge, truly enough for 2 people. It was loaded with fresh salmon and many minuscule shrimp. Our bread and water were replenished as frequently as needed. Being in the sunshine was a pleasure with good service to boot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PointerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Directeur Restauration du Casino Barrière de Deauville at Bar de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your concise review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went there for a brunch & ordered a full breakfast menu called "Tonic" at 15 euros including eggs with bacon, croissants, hot drink & orange juice, according to their description. The drinks were ok, but what we got for eating was just 2 poor fried eggs with bread, butter & jam. I asked the waiter if they forgot the bacon & the croissants, he replied me uncomfortably that we only ordered eggs so there was no bacon, & because they had no more croissants so they gave us more breads to eat with butter & jam!!! We felt like they treated us like fools because we didn't ask for eggs without bacon (I only asked my eggs to be well cooked), & breads in France are free, they couldn't just replace croissants by breads without preventing us about their out of stock of croissants!!! Frankly speaking, this is the most expensive & poorest breakfast we've ever had in our life, 15 euros for 2 fried eggs!!! Not only we'll never come back again, but I strongly recommend you not to go there to waste your money for such poor meals & bad service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bele_anh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Directeur Restauration du Casino Barrière de Deauville at Bar de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2014

Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused during our service offer. As a matter of fact, the points mentioned in your comment do not reflect our normal standards of service. I willl hence address them to the team in order to avoid any future occurrence.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to prove you our high level of service soon.

Au revoir,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here at around 10am for a very expensive coffee - €15 for 3 coffees that were the worst we have had in France. If you have a tasteless coffee here (cappuccino) then do complain as we would have done if we had not had an embarrassed teenager with us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan L, Responsable restauration at Bar de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Next time do not hesitate to complain at the manager, maybe the coffee machine had a problem.
Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Despite its great location directly at the beach, everything else is not worth it:
- extremely long waiting time although only 50% full
- mixed up orders
- breakfast quality ( croissants, baguette ) not the best
- if you expect a plate along with your breakfast- there is none: you might cut and prepare your baguette either in mid air or directly on the (not so tidy) table

Quintessence: first and last visit unless quality meets the price paid

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Markus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwan L, Responsable restauration at Bar de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013
Google Translation

Cher Internaute,
Merci d’avoir pris le temps de nous donner votre avis, j’ai bien pris en compte votre message et je le ferais passer à toute l’équipe car ce n’est pas dans nos habitudes d’accueillir nos clients ainsi. N’hésitez pas à allez voir un responsable dans ces moments là. En espérant vous voir bientôt pour une toute autre expérience. A bientôt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar de la Mer also viewed

Deauville, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 
Deauville, Calvados
Deauville, Calvados
 

Been to Bar de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing