We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm friendly welcome to Cherbourg”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Gare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Gare
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm friendly welcome to Cherbourg”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Really conveniently located for both rail and bus stations and a few minutes walk from both town centre and hypermarket. Comfortable rooms and modest but satisfying breakfasts. A family hotel with warm welcome and no language difficulties. Happy to stay there again. Reasonably priced and a good pied-a-terre for exploring Cherbourg and the Cotentin (which are indeed areas well worth exploring and not just dashing through on the drive to and from the ferry!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
14
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I liked this hotel very much. My room was compact and simply furnished but the bed was a double and very comfortable. The room was beautifully decorated and carpeted. Everything in the room and the en-suite shower-room was spotlessly clean and everything worked perfectly. The owners are a charming and helpful couple. As an aside, you don't need to walk all the way to the far end of the Quai Alexandre to find a good restaurant, although there are certainly several there. The Brasserie L'Hippocampe, which is just a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel, is an excellent restaurant, run by a charming family. The menu is simple but more than adequate, the food perfectly prepared and presented and excellent value, the wine moderately priced. The plastic tables and chairs outside perhaps give the impression of a café but step inside and you will enter a delightful restaurant. For a short stay in Cherbourg, stay at the Hotel de la Gare and wine and dine at L'Hippocampe and you will be well catered for by all these kind and attentive hosts. Just the job!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_D1096378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a perfectly reasonable room on the 2nd Floor with a view of the station and a massive new Carrefour. Bed was comfortable and bathroom had a newish shower cubicle. Breakfast was typical, traditional French - bread and croissant in a basket, butter and jam and a jug of black coffee that smelled exactly the same as I remember in Paris when I first visited there 40 years ago. Plus point was good free WiFi in bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
199 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a convient place to stay - across from rail station and within walking distance from the harbour. Spent 3 days in March. Rooms are small but comfortable. They are clean and well serviced. The staff, a family, is nice. The cost is reasonable. Eay walk to city centre. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank C P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

In my opinion some of the previous reviews overrate this hotel
It's cheap but rooms are very average and the bed was the worst one I have slept in
Rooms at front are very noisy
Good location if you are catching a Train the next day and helpful polite staff who speak good English

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedomLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose this hotel for our two night stay in Cherbourg and found it clean and quiet and just what we needed.

We had a room overlooking the garden which was a nice view from our window.
The breakfast was adequate and the hotel owner was very welcoming.

We explored Cherbourg and walked to La Cite De La Mer and found it very interesting.
We saw the price of entry was 18 euros and wondered whether it would be worth it but there was plenty to do including a Titanic exhibition, Redoutable submarine experience, aquariums and an under sea experience.

We were heading off to Rennes early next morning and the train station was a two minute walk from the hotel which was very convenient.

We would certainly use this hotel again if and when we returned to Cherbourg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LurkerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tried numerous emails and phone calls to cancel a booking made for September, (tried cancelling in July), after some random email responses I still got charged.
This could be the finest hotel in cherbourg, but I will never know I just need to use up my 200 characters.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank robert481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#3 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel De La Croix De Malte
Hotel De La Croix De Malte
#10 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
202 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Gare

Property: Hotel de la Gare
Address: 10, Place Jean Jaures, 50100, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Gare 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing