We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de la Gare
Nearby Hotels
$111
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie(La Glacerie)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Louvre(Cherbourg-Octeville)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Logis La Regence(Cherbourg-Octeville)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ambassadeur(Cherbourg-Octeville)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Chantereyne(Cherbourg-Octeville)
$77
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moderna Hotel(Cherbourg-Octeville)
$78
$72
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Napoleon(Cherbourg-Octeville)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Chimene(Cherbourg-Octeville)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel D'angleterre(Cherbourg-Octeville)(Great Value!)
$66
$56
Travelocity
View Deal
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
24
24
8
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
24
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distanceyogurtferryparkingfrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 62 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

In my opinion some of the previous reviews overrate this hotel
It's cheap but rooms are very average and the bed was the worst one I have slept in
Rooms at front are very noisy
Good location if you are catching a Train the next day and helpful polite staff who speak good English

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreedomLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose this hotel for our two night stay in Cherbourg and found it clean and quiet and just what we needed.

We had a room overlooking the garden which was a nice view from our window.
The breakfast was adequate and the hotel owner was very welcoming.

We explored Cherbourg and walked to La Cite De La Mer and found it very interesting.
We saw the price of entry was 18 euros and wondered whether it would be worth it but there was plenty to do including a Titanic exhibition, Redoutable submarine experience, aquariums and an under sea experience.

We were heading off to Rennes early next morning and the train station was a two minute walk from the hotel which was very convenient.

We would certainly use this hotel again if and when we returned to Cherbourg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LurkerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tried numerous emails and phone calls to cancel a booking made for September, (tried cancelling in July), after some random email responses I still got charged.
This could be the finest hotel in cherbourg, but I will never know I just need to use up my 200 characters.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank robert481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent the night in a family room at the hotel. The welcome when we arrived genuinly felt like coming home. The room was clean and fresh and we slept very well. Next morning we were welcomed for breakfast, which we enjoyed in a room of the owners as special guests. Price/quality ratio is unsurpassed. The hotel is close to down town, but not in a prime location.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krewrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent one night at the Hotel de la Gare as we briefly toured the D-Day beaches before taking the ferry to Poole. Overall, found the hotel to be a very good value, and one we'd definitely stay at again.

Staff were very friendly and helpful - we felt very welcome, beginning with being able to store our bags in the dining room when we arrived early. English was spoken by some of the staff. The location is very close to the train station and a Europcar office, and an easy walk to downtown Cherbourg. It was quiet, given that it was near a major intersection, and the room we stayed in (a large room suitable for four or more) was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was fine and we had good service.

One hint: if walking to the ferry terminal from the hotel, allow an hour, especially if you're dragging some luggage. There are lots of streets to cross on the way, with heavy traffic, and the check-in entrance is very far down a fence along the harbor. It seemed like we spent half our walk trying to get across the barrier.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orion7be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews