We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Ambassadeur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
697 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Another visit 9 months on. The room is clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water. We were in room 301 which has a small bath. Not much of view from the window but we only use it as a place to sleep. Little wall heaters were very effective as it was a chilly night. There are so many little bars and restaurants nearby you are spoilt for choice. Shops are nearby too. The car park Notre-Dame is very close to the hotel. This does charge for daytime parking but when we left at 8.45am the barrier was up so we had the previous afternoon for free. Ate at the Pantagruel in nearby rue Tour Carree. Superb food if you like meat. Huge portions cooked in front of you on a wood fired grill. The pillows in the hotel are very poor quality.Like sleeping on a bag of marshmallows and the plastic cover on the mattress got rumpled up during the night. Quiet hotel at night in the back rooms where we were.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    86
    27
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
96
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is our third stay at the Ambassadeur and we had another thoroughly enjoyable visit. Our room faced the road but the double glazing is good so noise was minimal and we had a peaceful night's sleep. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the town. We recommend this hotel for those travelling through Cherbourg, or looking for a base for a few days of exploring the town.

Room Tip: We have always been given a good sized room facing the water, and from the hotel plans these look sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDocsHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

On the Quay near all the restaurants and bars but still nice and quiet even when in a front room. Staff polite and professional - we reserved by email and had a confirmation of booking within 30 minutes ! Rooms are clean, good breakfast. I would return without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madgirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our second visit to the Hotel Ambassadeur as part of a Brittany Ferries trip and we will return again next year. The hotel is ideally situated alongside the city quay and is within walking distance from the ferry terminal, Carrefour supermarket, bars, restaurants and the old town centre. The hotel staff are welcoming and were happy to book us a taxi when we needed it. The continental breakfast consists of an entire French baguette, croissants, jam, cakes, fresh orange juice and tea/coffee/hot chocolate which is served fresh (rather than buffet style)with polite and friendly service from the kitchen staff.
The en-suite rooms are a good size and we were lucky to have a view across to the harbour. The hotel was a little noisy when we stayed, but I guess this depends on who is visiting the hotel at the same time as you. The rooms are in need of decorating, and a hospitality tray for making tea/coffee in the room would be nice, but I appreciate this doesn't always come as standard in French hotels. Overall, this is a conveniently placed base for a couple of days visiting Cherbourg, but could do with a lick of paint to create a sunnier ambience.
We recommend the pizzeria along the road from the hotel 'La Pizza' where the food is excellent and the staff friendly, efficient and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDocsHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherbourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Right on the quay and close to the keyside retaurants - so great location. For what they charge you cannot expect anyting betterf. Comfortable bed, everything works, friendly people.. Really speaking a large French B&B - nothing posh, quite low key - but delivers exactly what it promises. Obviously only continental breakfast so can only award that part a 3 - but full marks for everything else.

Room Tip: Facing the quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked this based on reviews.

We found this place ok but not excellent.

The showers were not clean. Loads of black marks.

The breakfast, although good was minimal and rationed to one croissant only.
Choice was very poor for the price and as such did not find the hotel value for money.
Facilities were basic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
697 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

A year since our last stay. What can I write different. Room spotless. Flat screen tv which receives BBC1 if you want to catch up on the news. Lovely hot running water in the bathroom. Comfy bed, crisp sheets, extra pillows in the wardrobe. Lovely fresh flowers in reception, not struck on the artificial flowers in the bedroom. So many places to eat nearby. Went back to La Pantagruel 2 minutes away. Lovely meat cooked indoors on a wood grill. Superb for meat eaters. Reception staff have been friendlier but still can't wait to return. Given code to let yourself in after 11pm, didn't need it on this occasion. Hope to return soon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chantereyne
Hotel Chantereyne
#3 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Logis La Regence
Logis La Regence
#8 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chimene
Hotel Chimene
#7 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur

Property: Hotel Ambassadeur
Address: 22 quai de Caligny, 50100, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassadeur 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Hotel Cherbourg Octeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing