We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the stay”
Review of Hotel Chantereyne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chantereyne
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay in the Chantereyne in Cherbourg, we were made feel really special, the rooms were clean with everything we could need, unusual for France but they even supply a kettle and tea and coffee in the rooms, the staff were amazing, not to happy with the first room they offered, as there was only a bath where we prefer a shower, without hesitation they changed our room to the front, much bigger with a shower,
When we paid the next morning, we asked to leave our case with them as our ferry was not until 18.30, they happily stored it for us and also offered to book us a taxi to the port, we got back about 16.30 and sat in the lounge with coffee, next year they are adding a new pub and restaurant on to the premise's also, so we will certainly stay again, what makes the hotel are the staff, nothing is to much trouble, so thank you to all of them especially Camille and Erwan.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
97
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just wanted clean cheapish hotel near ferry port for night before a long drive.
Hotel very basic but convenient.
Pale yello cheap cheap bedding - would not stay here again.
Loads of hotels near port so if in same area would look at another hotel.
Breakfast included but very very basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlieblinkert85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of a yacht sailing trip with Escape Yachting and again for one night at the end of the trip. This small hotel is very convenient for the marina - because it is in the marina! We received a warm welcome and the reception staff speak very good English! The rooms are good, including the bathrooms. We didn't have time for the breakfast so cannot comment on that. This hotel is good value and in a great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A 10 to 15 minute drive from the ferry landing makes this a very convenient stop-over hotel. It is not a destination hotel but rather for traveler's stopping off on the way to somewhere else. This said, it does what it says on the package. Located in a rather industrial area of the docks, but with a bit of a port view, this modernish building has a friendly staff, good beds and showers, is very clean and serves a basic, but excellent standard continental breakfast.(very very good baguette and croissant). Easy, free parking directly adjacent. We travel with our dogs and there was a big enclosed garden area off the breakfast room to let them roam, so extra marks. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This was the 2nd nights stay on my recent motorbike tour. Have to say when I entered the room it certainly had the wow factor! The shower in the bathroom was amazing!! Room was modern and clean and had tea making facilities but no milk!!
Didn't eat at hotel went to a great restaurant close by. Breakfast was usual continental style which was ok.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdbrain72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our room looked like it hadn't been decorated since the 80's. the curtains were plastic -yuk! And the room smelt musty. Staff were friendly though. We only stayed here because our ferry was cancelled. I would try somewhere else if that happened again...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunadry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Easy car parking, nearby facilities as others mentioned, eating places, drinking places and laundry. Short walk to centre. Rooms were big, with tv, kettle and wifi. Did I say Wifi, well speed was dismal/non existent in the room. No not my computer, as it worked elswhere that night. Maybe this was a one off. Breakfast consisted of cereal, cold meats/cheese and choice of bread. Staff very pleasant. Location etc is biggest asset

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherbourg-Octeville hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre Port
Hotel Mercure Cherbourg Centre P...
#1 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambassadeur
Hotel Ambassadeur
#4 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Louvre
Hotel le Louvre
#5 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
Ibis Cherbourg La Glacerie
#1 of 4 in La Glacerie
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chimene
Hotel Chimene
#7 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Logis La Regence
Logis La Regence
#8 of 26 in Cherbourg-Octeville
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chantereyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chantereyne

Property: Hotel Chantereyne
Address: Rue de la Brigantine | Port Chantereyne, 50100, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Cherbourg-Octeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chantereyne 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chantereyne is idealy located between downtown & the marina of Cherbourg. Surrounded by gardens, your escapade in North Cotentin will be calm & peacefull. Our team is gladly welcoming our guests 24/7. Attentive & friendly, the staff at the Chantereyne will give you advices and tips to make your stay in Cherbourg very special. Our rooms are very comfortable & offer many views : the marina, the Trinite basilica or our private garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chantereyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing