We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beutiful cottage,exceptionaly clean, everything...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Soliers

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Caen, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patricia...
1 review
“NOT HAPPY”
Reviewed September 25, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The house was clean and comfortable and an ideal location for visiting the WW 2 sites and beaches.
We are not happy after leaving to be told that we left the house dirty. It was as clean when we left as it was on arrival and the owner has asked us to pay for cleaning. He has also asked us to pay 49.99 Euros to replace an old plastic tub which was in the garage for the household rubbish which we put out with the rubbish on collection day. Unfortunately the refuse collectors thought it was so old they took it along with the rubbish. The owner has been totally unfair to us. We did not have any issues with the house apart from the fact he told us we could use the bbq but when we looked at it no way could we use it as it was so old, dirty and rusty. Is is a shame we have had these issues with the owner as we did enjoy our stay in Normandy but would definitely not advise anyone else to stay there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2018
A shame, it is sure !
Definitively, we don't have the same feeling about cleaning !
Are you serious when you said that you left the house as clean as you have found it ? A problem of glasses or most certainly a huge lack of objectivity and a deep bad faith !
To avoid cleaning the house, you told me that you didn’t find the equipments … but all equipments were available (do you need a picture to remember ?).
About the garbage container, Yes I have to replace it because YOU lost the previous and you didn’t tell it to me before I notice it ! Why do you try to appear as a victim about this subject ? YOU lost the equipment, I have bought a new one, and you never pay back it !
BBQ is a new drawback because you had never talked about it before. Strange, because you asked me for many services (ice, taxi, washing machine,…) and I have done them with pleasure, but no remarks about BBQ ?!
Well, I prefer to have good reviews. I’m always happy to welcome guests in my house.
May be that your bad review is going to avoid to me to welcome people like you : somebody with a bad behaviour and with a bad faith and somebody who have no R.E.S.P.E.CT. for the house and for the equipments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thingy12
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable house”
Reviewed September 18, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We found the house very clean and comfortable. Good location for visiting the Normandy beaches etc. some English TV channels would have been a plus. A clean useable BBQ would have been an assett as there was no oven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maura T
2 reviews
“Beutiful cottage,exceptionaly clean, everything you need is provided and great location”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

perfect location for visiting Normandie Landing beaches and sites. great for shopping. could not fault the accommodation and the owner Stephan is a gentleman and made us feel very welcome.
I fell in love with the cottage and gardens. we brought dvds as recommended by previous reviews great idea. everything else was provided from washing machine to an iron.
local shops minutes away and big shopping centre only minutes away. Caen is great city to visit and very easy to access. I would recommend visiting the little villages around the area they are beautiful.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjpit1014
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my partner came here for a week and we were so impressed when we got here. It was so clean and very modern! We loved every minute and the owner was very helpful and accommodating! We loved it so much we are going back this year and taking my parents. The only downside was the tv it had no english channels but will know for the next time and take DVD's!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryhR850...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very comfrortable house”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house was in a quiet estate and a very good location and for our long weekend trip. Local shops, supermarket and pizzeria all within the village. The village gave easy access to main roads for Normandy beaches, Mont St. Michel, Bayeux and Lisieux.
The house was spotless. The beds and lounge seating were all very comfortable. There is one shower room and the toilet is separate. The kitchen is fairly well equipped.
The host, Stéphane was there to meet us on arrival, as arranged and was very helpful when showing us around the property.
Unfortunately the Wi-Fi was not working during our trip and there is no Sky etc. to catch up with world news or any English speaking channels.
If you do not want to supply your own towels & bed linen there is a 20 euro charge per room, which is not explained until after you have booked.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatMannin...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Very Quiet Comfortable Accommodation if you have a car and are Visiting Caen Bayeux and the Normanby Beaches”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stéphane met us at the agreed time and helped us settle in. He again returned for our early checkout on a Sunday morning and was easily contactable for when we had a question.

The two bedrooms, living room and kitchen were very comfortable for our group of 3. The property has only one bathroom and a separate toilet , not two bathrooms as shown in the listing. This was a disappointment.

Great place to stay for up to 4 people if you are happy with the bathroom arrangement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: The lack of a second bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert F
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5-Star accomodation”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed staying in this house in Soliers! 2 bedroom with living room, dining room, kitchen, and bathroom. Bathroom has a nice shower. In residential area with convenient grocery store with petrol/diesel station nearby. Stephane was the perfect host. He went out of his way to take us a petrol station that had fuel due to the recent strike/shortage. Thanks for making us welcome in your home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen/laundry-washer
Liked least: traffic due to road construction
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing