We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner”

Le Bouchon du Vaugueux
Ranked #5 of 459 Restaurants in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stopped in on a weeknight and they were able to fit us in without much trouble, though I'd suggest reservations. Service and food was excellent, nice wine list reasonably priced by American standards. Not a lot of tables inside, and you're in fairly close company, but not uncomfortably so. Multiple menu options, broad range of choices, and excellently prepared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcsmithga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    267
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Popular French cooking”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A busy and popular little restaurant with brisk service from the friendly owner and her staff making it an enjoyable experience to eat here. The food is not sophisticated but well prepared and nicely presented. Rustic food, not fine dining. The two fixed menus offered a good range of dishes and an interesting range of wines were available. Compared with other restaurants we have visited in France the €33 menu seemed over-priced, but maybe not for Caen. Had we not booked we wouldn't have got a table - a midweek evening in June. Situated in a backstreet between the castle and marina. Definitely worth a try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Le Bouchon”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Tucked away just off Rue du Vaugueux lies Rue Graindorge with Le Bouchon on the lhs. The restaurant is small, probably with ten tables on the inside, and four or five on the outside. On entering we were greeted by a friendly polite lady who spoke good English. She explained the menu in detail, from starter to sweet, taking great care that one understood. There was a good selection on the menu and when the food arrived it was delightful, having chosen three courses we were given a cheese course prior to the sweet. We had a bass/mango and coconut starter, our friends fois gras, followed by turbot and cod with a sweet of caramel and pear. All washed down with good wine!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dining in Caen”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We dropped in one evening around 7 without a reservation and were seated within 10 minutes. The tables were small and in close proximity to one another but this was overcome by the very nice couples we were seated between (one from Canada and the other from the UK). An excellent menu with both prix fixe and a la carte choices was translated for us by the maitre d' /hostess/owner-- a very pleasant woman whose name I can't recall. The wine list was more than adequate and the bar tender and our waitress did a first-rate job with our glasses and plates. The food was outstanding-- very well cooked and presented artfully. You won't be disappointed with this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
459 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“The best choice in Caen”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

A small restaurants with very tiny tables. Filled to the top. Don’t book don’t eat.
But is it French market cuisine, cuisine du pays. Simple and unpretentious, but very well cooked. Friendly service, despite the buzz. And comparing with other places where we had already eaten the price of the menu is cheaper than the ones of identical quality. Menu of 21 euros, very tasty and well composed. Enjoyed Terrine of tongue and assiete de Couchon,but the vollaille my husband ate was also great.
It is the right choice in Caen. Is located in the nightlife district but the quality / price is higher than the lots of other restaurants that are there. The wine list is curious. List price on slate - 20 euros wines, 30 euros wines, 40 euros wines, etc.. The price quality ratio of wine is also good. Do not forget to reserve.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon du Vaugueux also viewed

 

Been to Le Bouchon du Vaugueux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing