We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bouchon du Vaugueux

Le Bouchon du Vaugueux
Ranked #5 of 446 Restaurants in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $37
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Mussidan, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We selected this restaurant after reading about it on Tripadvisor.. and we must confirm that this is one of the best restaurants we've ever been to.. no fuss, straight to the essential!! very warm welcoming, attractive menu, reasonnable prices. and the food is beautifully set on the plate and of course just DELICIOUS!! We can only warmly recommend this restaurant to anyone who cares for good food without complications.. It is wise to book in advance as the place is quite small!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    254
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angers, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to this fabulous restaurant with a great menu, nice wine selection and superb service. Be sure to book because @ 1930 it was full.

English spoken by the staff whom were very helpful

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrcbayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great example of a bouchon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

It's a tiny place, do get a reservation if you can. The hosts speak enough English if you need it. THe food is excellent and a great bargain. We cancelled our reservation at a Michelin one-star to come back a second night. Both the 'lesser' and 'greater' menus had very interesting choices and were beautifully done (in the truly miniscule kitchen). Excellent fois gras, at no supplement. I wish they would move nearer to me/1

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank astroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Having read several reviews I contacted them direct to make a reservation. Being told that they operate a two sitting system at 19:00 and 21:00 we opted for the first. When we arrived expecting the queue described in other reviews we were surprised to be the sole diners. The restaurant did not get busy until 20:30 which seemed odd given the stated two sittings! The meal was excellent, the faux filet (Sirloin) was really nice and cooked blue as requested. Overall it was a good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“yes and yes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

great little restaurant located in a picturesque part of Caen. since it is fairly small (with a smaller terrace), reservations are recommended. Didn't take much notice of the decor but overall the place felt clean and well kept.

There are two menus, one around 20 euros and a slightly jazzier one for 30 euros. Dishes are also available a la carte and the menus drop in prices when you have only a couple of courses. needless to say I pushed the boat and went for the four courses, which included a divine foie gras terrine and a lovely piece of beef. this was followed by cheese AND dessert, not OR. food is overall very simple and excellent. emphasis is on good ingredients and taste, so if you are looking for cutting edge innovation, this may not be the place. (also see the definition of Bouchon)

Wine was carefully selected by the glass, and once again, excellent value for money, around 3.5/4 euros for a large drop of a very good cotes du Rhone blanc (viognier).

bill came to 65 euros for two, including 2 menus, 2 glasses of wine and coffee, although you can easily pay cheaper if you don't fancy eating as much. Overall a very good experience and one to be repeated at the earliest opportunity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronFabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon du Vaugueux also viewed

 
Caen, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bouchon du Vaugueux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing