We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos Saint Martin
Ranked #1 of 8 Caen B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful B and B”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Caen. We chose the B and B, Clos St. Martin.
What a lovely gem! The location is perfect. It is located between the train station and the Caen Memorial Museum. From the Caen Memorial museum, we were able to join a mini van tour to the D-Day beaches. The B and B is walking distance from the St Etienne church with the tomb of Wm. the Conqueror and the Abbayes. The B and B is in a lovely restored, elegant home. The floors are stone and the decor is classic with charming antiques. The hosts, Sylvie and Jean Noel are are very friendly. We had the "Albane" room which was very large and well appointed.
The bathroom is modern with a walk- in shower. The breakfast-a petit dejeuner, included warm croissants, juice, fruit, jam and homemade yogurt.
This is truly an enjoyable and lovely B and B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j25aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
69
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This accommodation is more than a B&B and less than a hotel. It is more of a lodge. It was like a country home. There is a large lounge downstairs and we had an equally large bedroom on the first floor. Both of these rooms were full of antiques and so many of them gave the place a sort of musty feeling.. The stairs were horrible, concrete and winding and we were pleased to have to go no higher than the first floor. A downside to the room was the very dim lighting making it difficult to read in bed. In spite of the size of the room there was no wardrobe and clothes had to be hung on a shelf in the bathroom. The drawers were in a rickety old chest and had to be tugged out instead of slid.
There were many good things however. Although the owners were away Viginia who lives there and the only staff member we saw was magnificent and attended to our every need.. The bedroom was part of a suite with a separate bathroom with bath-tub and a separate lavatory. Free WiFi and ordinary coat hangars were appreciated.
This was the only place where we had breakfast on this holiday and it was an elegantly served continental breakfast which included fruit and various croissants. It was a pleasure not to have to keep running to a buffet.
Be warned they do not take credit cards so you need sufficient euros to pay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvieSM, Propriétaire at Le Clos Saint Martin, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur
Nous vous remercions pour votre email et regrettons de ne pas avoir eu le plaisir de vous rencontrer ayant du nous absenter pour des raisons familiales du 21 au 25 septembre dernier comme vous l'a indiqué à votre arrivée notre collaboratrice Virginia qui a pris soin de vous pendant votre sejour. Nous sommes desolés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié pleinement votre sejour ceci semblant dû à l'aménagement de notre maison qui ne vous correspondait pas. Nous pensons que notre site internet fourni tous les renseignements utiles pour qu'il n'y ait pas de surprise. Nous sommes navrés que l'escalier vous ai posé des problemes mais vous auriez du lors de votre reservation nous indiquer vos soucis de mobilité et dans ce cas nous n'aurions pas hésité comme nous le faisons dans de pareils cas à vous recommander un lieu d'accueil plus adapté. Nous sommes déçus que les meubles et la decoration auxquels nous apportons le plus grand soin ne vous ai également pas convenus. Il n'est pas envisageable dans ce type de batisse, d'integrer un ascenseur car l'escalier est a lui seul un très bel élément de patrimoine auquel nous tenons.
Nous esperons cependant que vous avez apprécié notre belle ville de Caen .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We got there but there was no one there to greet us. I made a phone call and she was there in 5 minutes. Tthe owner was not present just someone that works here. She was helpful, showed us to our room, which was on the 2nd floor, but it was really the third floor. If you have medical issues or handicap issues, do NOT stay here. The stairs are windy and very narrow and there is no elevator. The place is absolutely lovely on the outside as well as on the inside with beautifully appointed rooms. The bedroom was very spacious and lovely decorated with a private large bathroom with shower.

Breakfast was okay but nothing special. We had a baguette with jams, cut up apples and kiwi, croissants and coffee, tea or hot chocolate. A typical simple continental breakfast.

Lovely just sitting outside and having a glass of wine in the evening. We were able to park in their little courtyard but that was after we asked. The outside parking is difficult and expensive.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ukienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvieSM, Propriétaire at Le Clos Saint Martin, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame
Nous vous remercions pour votre email et regrettons de ne pas avoir eu le plaisir de vous rencontrer ayant du nous absenter pour des raisons familiales du 21 au 25 septembre dernier comme vous l'a indiqué à votre arrivée notre collaboratrice Virginia qui a pris soin de vous pendant votre sejour.
Lors de votre reservation vous avez reçu comme tous nos hotes, une confirmation vous indiquant nos heures d'accueil (17.30-19H00) ainsi que la possibilité d'avoir un horaire d'arrivée adapté a vos besoins à condition bien sûr de nous prevenir à l'avance.N'hesitez donc pas à nous prevenir si vous avez un horaire different ce qui était votre cas (arrivée 15H) car nous devons parfois nous absenter de la maison.
Nous vous confirmons que votre chambre qui était la suite Albane était bien située au 2 étage comme indiqué sur notre site internet . Vous avez en effet tout a fait raison d'indiquer l'absence d'ascenseur qu'il n'est pas envisageable d'installer dans une maison datant du 16 et 17 e siecle car l'escalier est a lui seul un très bel élément de patrimoine qui a fait l'objet d'une restauration soignée.
Nous esperons que vous apprecié votre séjour en Normandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent several nights there with my family. Very charming B&B. Jean and Sylvie are great hosts. The house is charming and the rooms are spacious and very clean. Breakfast daily was great. Definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Only drawback, but to be expected, is no elevator. Be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKEJimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just spent eight nights at Le Clos Saint Martin - two with my partner and six alone. Beautiful old house in a very central location with the most enormous rooms and comfortable beds. Sylvie and Jean were a charming and very hospitable couple and really made me feel at home. Breakfast was continental-style, a little bread-heavy for me but beautifully served and with a steaming pot of tea or coffee. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmarch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our family of 4 had a great stay in Suite Marie. Very spacious suite of two rooms, one with a queen and the other with 2 twin beds. It was also nice that the shower and sinks restroom was separate from the toilet room. Beds were comfortable. Restrooms were remodeled recently and had good water pressure. Sylvie, Jean Noel and Virginia were great hosts, suggesting places to visit. Breakfast consisted of yummy homemade yogurt, 2 pastries, coffee, hot chocolate or tea, juice, fruit, baguette and jam. Sylvie was kind enough to share her recipe for the yogurt. Restaurants were 5 minutes away. Parking was street parking (free from 5:30 pm-9:30 am). We didn't have to hard a time finding parking right in front. It was very quiet, no street noise and we didn't hear the upstairs or next door rooms. Safe neighborhood. Overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This B&B is in a beautiful old house, charmingly decorated and the breakfast was great. The location is convenient for accessing the castle and centre of the town.Everything AAA (except the beds, which would only get a medium rating from us).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.7 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#5 of 41 in Caen
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Saint Martin

Property: Le Clos Saint Martin
Address: 18 B Place Saint Martin, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic centre of Caen, just off the Place St-Martin is this lovingly-restored mansion, dating from the sixteenth to the eighteenth centuries.Sylvie and Jean Noel have used traditional materials in the restoration, which has revealed the stone and timber ceilings and the superb curved staircase leading to the guest rooms, or rather suites as they are so very large and so richly furnished and decorated.Delicious breakfasts with candle are served at small tables in the ground-floor dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Saint Martin Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing