We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal for a short stay on a trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carline
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short stay on a trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Clean rooms, Restaurant good for both breakfast and evening meals and reasonably priced. Also tried the Buffalo Grill next door, which was good. We didn't expect much on a coach trip by Leger to the D-Day landing sites, but were pleasantly surprised. The bar could do with more varation of drinks, and the rooms lacked drawer space

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    63
    55
    25
    9
See reviews for
36
45
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I guess if your a businessman on a short stay over then this hotel is fine, and that is I guess what its aimed at, I however had two boys with me of 14 and 16 years each and decided to use one of the 77 triple rooms as we were "doing" the Normandy beaches, and triple rooms were in short supply. There were some people doing the Ledgers battlefield walks staying in the same hotel which I think is used by them too.

The room was big enough for the three single beds but not much else, the TV was bolted to the triangular table attached to a corner of the room and the complimentary coffee was three small, and I mean small, plastic cups plus three sachets of coffee, sugar or tea no powdered milk all on a bench table, but a chair did appear when we arrived back on the evening of our fist night.

The shower room was small, with a shower that flooded the room if you were not very careful and a shower tray that did not drain well so you always paddled about, distance between shower and toilet bowl, about two feet and a small, empty and sad sachet of Nivea hand and shower gel attached to the wall, glad I brought my own.

There were no cupboards or draws to put things in just a shelf above a hanging rail, I actually don't think you could have got one in the room anyway..

Sadly I cannot comment on the evening meals as we didn't have them, but breakfast was good. As you would expect it was continental (meats, cheese, and rolls) and ample but did cost an additional Euro 8 each person.

Ok I know it was a budget hotel so you don't expect much but and its just a place to lay your head in which case its fine, but as the room faced the sun all day it was hot and there was no aircon or a fan. I did ask the receptionist for one but as his grasp of English was minimal and my hand gestures for fan were obviously not expressing what I needed I gave up and went a bought a small one from the local supermarket.My youngest son decided it was not so much an oven more a microwave as the room was so small, but after we had the fan you could at least sleep and I did speak to another resident there who also said her room was very hot too.

Anyway in summary if your looking for a cheap stay, don't mind a hot room, well in summer anyway we went in August, and want to be near Caen and the invasion beaches without paying for that luxury then ok it is what it is small, clean and affordable and the buffalo grill next door did do excellent burgers, but I would suggest you did bring your own fan!!....oh and the WiFi was excellent and free and the parking was good.



.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clive58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel as part of a Leger Tour and found the rooms adequate but lacking storage space with a small but efficient bathroom. Only one towel per person supplied, beds are a little on the hard side. The Hotel has a good well illuminated car park. The public areas are good and it was pleasant to sit in the garden with drinks and chat to the other residents. The Restaurant is closed for evening meals Friday Saturday and Sunday. The breakfasts are substantial and well presented. The staff are very friendly and helpful and some speak English. I tried the Buffalo Grill at the back of the Hotel and found it good with prompt and helpful service but you have to like charcoal grilled meat. If you wished to dine in the City Centre the modern Tram system passes the Hotel and the station is about 200 yards from the Hotel. The fare into Central Caen is 1.30 Euro and the trams run every 11minutes, ticket are bought from the machine at the station. A good overnight staging post for the onward journey into France

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, they are much cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEF33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night en route to Brittany. The room was hot and tiny with 3 single beds squeezed into a double room.The room was too hot and the air con didn't work. If the window was left open it was really noisy - I was awoken by flights of screeching seagulls in the early hours of the morning. It was a long way away from the centre but next to a Buffalo Grill restaurant near the hospital. The breakfast was quite good, but otherwise little to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights while we were in the area visiting Canadian sites. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We didn't know the restaurant was closed on the weekends (I seem to have an affinity for missing the small print) but they did suggest the Buffallo Grill right beside (not my cup of tea at all but that's another review!).

Room was budget like but comfortable. It was clean which is imperative for me.

Breakfast was really good - a lot of choices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross on wye England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights as part of Ledger Battlefield Tour. Pleasant staff, clean rooms. Basic, not a lot of storage space in the room. Good shower, but Bathroom needs referb. Toilet did not flush properly and needed attention with brush to get things moving. Did complain but nothing was done -it may be that this type of Toilet is just like that.
Hotel is just off the Caen ring road. Carrefore is just over the road, there is a a Buffalo Restaurant next door .MacDonald just down the road. Hotel Restaurant is very reasonable and food was good so ate there . Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertjrossonwye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights over the d day celebrations, so very busy with coach trips. We had a double room and a triple family room. The rooms were both very clean as were the bathrooms. The only moan is that the bed was uncomfortable, but everything else was fine. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. Fruit, cereal, yogurt, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cakes, bread, jam, fruit juices and lots more. The bar area is quite small but you can drink in the restaurant, and if the weather is good there is a seating area outside. There is a Buffaloo Grill next door, which was lovely and good value for money, although there is a restuarant in the Hotel, which we didn't use because we were out and about all day. I would recommend this hotel for convenience to the local amenities and siteseeing of the normandy beaches and war memorials surrounding the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caen
0.1 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#35 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
2.7 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Savoy Caen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
2.2 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#19 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carline

Property: Hotel Carline
Address: 11 rue Professeur Joseph Rousselot, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carline 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarine Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing