We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Triple was just a double with an extra bed squeezed in!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carline
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Triple was just a double with an extra bed squeezed in!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night en route to Brittany. The room was hot and tiny with 3 single beds squeezed into a double room.The room was too hot and the air con didn't work. If the window was left open it was really noisy - I was awoken by flights of screeching seagulls in the early hours of the morning. It was a long way away from the centre but next to a Buffalo Grill restaurant near the hospital. The breakfast was quite good, but otherwise little to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    62
    52
    22
    9
See reviews for
35
39
22
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for two nights while we were in the area visiting Canadian sites. Staff was very nice and accommodating. We didn't know the restaurant was closed on the weekends (I seem to have an affinity for missing the small print) but they did suggest the Buffallo Grill right beside (not my cup of tea at all but that's another review!).

Room was budget like but comfortable. It was clean which is imperative for me.

Breakfast was really good - a lot of choices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross on wye England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights as part of Ledger Battlefield Tour. Pleasant staff, clean rooms. Basic, not a lot of storage space in the room. Good shower, but Bathroom needs referb. Toilet did not flush properly and needed attention with brush to get things moving. Did complain but nothing was done -it may be that this type of Toilet is just like that.
Hotel is just off the Caen ring road. Carrefore is just over the road, there is a a Buffalo Restaurant next door .MacDonald just down the road. Hotel Restaurant is very reasonable and food was good so ate there . Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertjrossonwye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights over the d day celebrations, so very busy with coach trips. We had a double room and a triple family room. The rooms were both very clean as were the bathrooms. The only moan is that the bed was uncomfortable, but everything else was fine. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. Fruit, cereal, yogurt, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cakes, bread, jam, fruit juices and lots more. The bar area is quite small but you can drink in the restaurant, and if the weather is good there is a seating area outside. There is a Buffaloo Grill next door, which was lovely and good value for money, although there is a restuarant in the Hotel, which we didn't use because we were out and about all day. I would recommend this hotel for convenience to the local amenities and siteseeing of the normandy beaches and war memorials surrounding the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We too stayed as part of a Leger battlefield tour. It would appear that most of the Hotel's trade is either based on the University or Leger group bookings. The rooms are adequate but the bathroom is very small. They managed to cram in a shower but no bath. Still I suppose that still qualifies as 'en-suite'
There is tea and coffee supplied and a kettle but small plastic cups are a bit off putting.
The big downside with the rooms are the wafer thin walls. We heard everything from the rooms next door and although we requested a room on the top floor away from the lift they managed to place us on the 1st floor right opposite the lift. So not much sleep!!
The bar is comfortable if not a bit small with a pint of beer at €6. The restaurant is fairly large with adequate seating for breakfast even with a large group staying. We opted for the meal deal with 3 courses which was great value and good quality food.
Caen itself is worth a visit, as the weather was good we walked in (about 40mins) and got the tram back. €1.30 for a single trip. The Carrefour supermarket is not far away and a few people used the Buffalo Grill next door.
All in all a basic hotel but good value when linked with the Leger tours.

Room Tip: High floor away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights as part of a Leger's battlefield tour.

Hotel is in the shadow of the regional University Hospital, so used by relatives etc - and is surrounded by smaller educational/medical blocks, all very anonymous in the French way and identified by unguessable initials - at the front door is a sixth form college, then a smaller architectural institute, and a blood transfusion centre, with a logistics apprenticeship training centre across the road.
It isn't much good for an interesting early morning walk and a look into people's gardens!

It is hard to beat the hotel restaurant for the evening meal - it is remarkably good for such a well priced hotel. There is also the Buffalo Grill [and Macdonalds tucked away round the corner if you really don't care] and then there is the Carrefour supermarket across the road, open till 2100, and with a couple of bars etc] The Twisto tram takes no time to get into the centre - very simple to use, 1.3 euros each way - tickets from the machine in the tram stop.

Rooms are fine - like an Ibis, so thankfully lacking in drawers to leave things behind in when rushing to pack. The bed was fine, and heating controllable on a very chilly April.

Staff were excellent - way above the standard of a comparable UK hotel - well groomed, well mannered, well dressed - a reflection of the value and respect paid by the French to catering and hospitality as a profession.

I don't think the Hotel Carline would pretend to offer a romantic or luxurious holiday experience - but it is great for a couple-of-days-in-and-around-Caen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorwichNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Smart public areas and good value restaurant Plat du Jour. Rooms could do with updating, but probably a better choice than a similar two star chain hotel. Staff mainly very friendly and helpful apart from first night duty manager who we had to plead with to provide an extra pillow. He claimed the entire hotel was full and there were no spares. A little more customer service training there could go a long way.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 42Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caen
0.1 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#35 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
2.2 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#20 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Savoy Caen
2.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carline

Property: Hotel Carline
Address: 11 rue Professeur Joseph Rousselot, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carline 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Carline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarine Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing