We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Pleasant Hotel”
Review of Hotel Carline

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carline
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights over the d day celebrations, so very busy with coach trips. We had a double room and a triple family room. The rooms were both very clean as were the bathrooms. The only moan is that the bed was uncomfortable, but everything else was fine. The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice. Fruit, cereal, yogurt, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, cakes, bread, jam, fruit juices and lots more. The bar area is quite small but you can drink in the restaurant, and if the weather is good there is a seating area outside. There is a Buffaloo Grill next door, which was lovely and good value for money, although there is a restuarant in the Hotel, which we didn't use because we were out and about all day. I would recommend this hotel for convenience to the local amenities and siteseeing of the normandy beaches and war memorials surrounding the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carline
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

We too stayed as part of a Leger battlefield tour. It would appear that most of the Hotel's trade is either based on the University or Leger group bookings. The rooms are adequate but the bathroom is very small. They managed to cram in a shower but no bath. Still I suppose that still qualifies as 'en-suite'
There is tea and coffee supplied and a kettle but small plastic cups are a bit off putting.
The big downside with the rooms are the wafer thin walls. We heard everything from the rooms next door and although we requested a room on the top floor away from the lift they managed to place us on the 1st floor right opposite the lift. So not much sleep!!
The bar is comfortable if not a bit small with a pint of beer at €6. The restaurant is fairly large with adequate seating for breakfast even with a large group staying. We opted for the meal deal with 3 courses which was great value and good quality food.
Caen itself is worth a visit, as the weather was good we walked in (about 40mins) and got the tram back. €1.30 for a single trip. The Carrefour supermarket is not far away and a few people used the Buffalo Grill next door.
All in all a basic hotel but good value when linked with the Leger tours.

Room Tip: High floor away from the lift.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights as part of a Leger's battlefield tour.

Hotel is in the shadow of the regional University Hospital, so used by relatives etc - and is surrounded by smaller educational/medical blocks, all very anonymous in the French way and identified by unguessable initials - at the front door is a sixth form college, then a smaller architectural institute, and a blood transfusion centre, with a logistics apprenticeship training centre across the road.
It isn't much good for an interesting early morning walk and a look into people's gardens!

It is hard to beat the hotel restaurant for the evening meal - it is remarkably good for such a well priced hotel. There is also the Buffalo Grill [and Macdonalds tucked away round the corner if you really don't care] and then there is the Carrefour supermarket across the road, open till 2100, and with a couple of bars etc] The Twisto tram takes no time to get into the centre - very simple to use, 1.3 euros each way - tickets from the machine in the tram stop.

Rooms are fine - like an Ibis, so thankfully lacking in drawers to leave things behind in when rushing to pack. The bed was fine, and heating controllable on a very chilly April.

Staff were excellent - way above the standard of a comparable UK hotel - well groomed, well mannered, well dressed - a reflection of the value and respect paid by the French to catering and hospitality as a profession.

I don't think the Hotel Carline would pretend to offer a romantic or luxurious holiday experience - but it is great for a couple-of-days-in-and-around-Caen.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorwichNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Smart public areas and good value restaurant Plat du Jour. Rooms could do with updating, but probably a better choice than a similar two star chain hotel. Staff mainly very friendly and helpful apart from first night duty manager who we had to plead with to provide an extra pillow. He claimed the entire hotel was full and there were no spares. A little more customer service training there could go a long way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42Nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel is rated a two star and that is about right. The location is good for the city centre with a tram stop about 150 metres away at a cost of €2.60 return and 15 minute travel time. Average rooms for the rating but I would not like to stay there in a bitter winter as the maid turns the pathetic heaters off everday so when you get back the room is cold and then takes hours to warm back up again! The lighting in the bedroom is just acceptable but I have seen more light from a blackhole than is available in the bathroom, getting a shave in the dark is always difficult! However the staff are very pleasent. The breakfast is acceptable but mundane and boring after 4 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank infast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

if for some strange reason you decide to stay in this town i recommend this hotel as it is clean and a good price and a decent location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tombocollbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Clean rooms, Restaurant good for both breakfast and evening meals and reasonably priced. Also tried the Buffalo Grill next door, which was good. We didn't expect much on a coach trip by Leger to the D-Day landing sites, but were pleasantly surprised. The bar could do with more varation of drinks, and the rooms lacked drawer space.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scubie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#21 of 41 in Caen
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Gare
4.1 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#30 of 41 in Caen
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
1.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
1.6 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carline

Address: 11 rue Professeur Joseph Rousselot, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: $47 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carline 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Carline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarine Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing