We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice place - good for a longer stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Caen, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rami N
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place - good for a longer stay”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very good location for travel to the sites of Normandy. The place is well equipped with a modern kitchen and amenities, and amenities. The place is located in a very small village with absolutely no shops' cafes or restaurants near by.

Unfortunately we did not use any of the facilities because of the weather and our plans. NOTE: There is NO breakfast in the place, so bring your products with you.

The host is a wonderful and friendly person...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
Thank you for choosing Les Cyprès. Sorry for the breakfeast but it's not included in the price, but tea, coffee, drinks were provided. Unfortunetly, the weather was not so good during your stay. I hope you have enjoyed your holidays in France !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B8315PGmi...
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, magical week”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in this lovely apartment. I hope that we can come back again. We enjoyed traveling to the D-Day beaches, Caen and Falaise. Next time, I want to spend some time in the yard and garden, relaxing. It was wonderful and the host was great. I highly recommend a stay in this lovely apartment!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Guest very nice and I 'll recommended them for the cleaning ! I 'll be happy to receive them later. Thank you for choosing my home !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Gite With Even Nicer Host”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in Avenay was amazing the property itself is beautiful and the garden and swimming pool is amazing. Really enjoyed spending time by the pool after explorer the local areas. It's a great location to explore the D-day beaches and local Normandy history. Francine was a lovely host and went above and beyond to make our stay the best. I would really recommend buying some of her families champagne as well as it is the best I have ever had. I would highly recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you both for choosing my home for your stay. I can recommand you ! You 've been so nice guests !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you for choosing my home for your stay. I'll surely recommande you ! I'ld be happy to receive you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rosiep24
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely little getaway with an even lovelier host! ”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A fantastic apartment with everything you could need! The pool was amazing and enjoyed swimming in the sun. Total privacy and a tranquil setting, we felt totally at ease. Francine was the most helpful host iv ever had, whatever we needed (including jumper cables) she was there. Worth every penny! The only thing that dampened our holiday was the rain!. Highly recommended :) thank you for having us Francine! Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thand you again for choosing my home. I've been very happy to receive you and it would be a pleasure to see you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R1Bennett...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute Gite in relaxing peaceful setting.”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Francine's Gite is perfect to explore Normandy, it is extremely well equipped with a beautiful garden. The location was ideal to explore the Dday beaches and the numerous tourist attractions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you again for choosing my Home. I'ld be happy to receive you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vklc41
wamberal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay in the Normandy area”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The gite is managed by Francine who is an excellent hostess. Avenay is 10km out of Caen and it is a great place to make a base to see the Normandy area. We are grateful for Francine's assistance due to illness of one of our party. Also there is a excellent supermarket at Avrecy only 3km away. The accommodation was spacious, well equipped and spotless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Francines helpfullness
Liked least: Being sick during our stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you for your appreciation, I hope you feel much better and have spent a nice time in Ireland. You 've been very nice guests I would be happy to receive again at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing