We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Gite With Even Nicer Host”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Caen, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jade W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Gite With Even Nicer Host”
Reviewed August 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in Avenay was amazing the property itself is beautiful and the garden and swimming pool is amazing. Really enjoyed spending time by the pool after explorer the local areas. It's a great location to explore the D-day beaches and local Normandy history. Francine was a lovely host and went above and beyond to make our stay the best. I would really recommend buying some of her families champagne as well as it is the best I have ever had. I would highly recommend this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you both for choosing my home for your stay. I can recommand you ! You 've been so nice guests !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you for choosing my home for your stay. I'll surely recommande you ! I'ld be happy to receive you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rosiep24
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely little getaway with an even lovelier host! ”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A fantastic apartment with everything you could need! The pool was amazing and enjoyed swimming in the sun. Total privacy and a tranquil setting, we felt totally at ease. Francine was the most helpful host iv ever had, whatever we needed (including jumper cables) she was there. Worth every penny! The only thing that dampened our holiday was the rain!. Highly recommended :) thank you for having us Francine! Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thand you again for choosing my home. I've been very happy to receive you and it would be a pleasure to see you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R1Bennett...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute Gite in relaxing peaceful setting.”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Francine's Gite is perfect to explore Normandy, it is extremely well equipped with a beautiful garden. The location was ideal to explore the Dday beaches and the numerous tourist attractions.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Thank you again for choosing my Home. I'ld be happy to receive you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vklc41
wamberal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay in the Normandy area”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The gite is managed by Francine who is an excellent hostess. Avenay is 10km out of Caen and it is a great place to make a base to see the Normandy area. We are grateful for Francine's assistance due to illness of one of our party. Also there is a excellent supermarket at Avrecy only 3km away. The accommodation was spacious, well equipped and spotless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Francines helpfullness
Liked least: Being sick during our stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
Thank you for your appreciation, I hope you feel much better and have spent a nice time in Ireland. You 've been very nice guests I would be happy to receive again at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATwig
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well kept apartment in great location”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The location is ideal for exploring Normandy, everything we wanted to see was less than a 45 minute drive. The fact that it only takes 20 minutes to get there from Ouistreham is a blessing when one has just come off the overnight ferry and is short on sleep!

The next village of Evrecy is an easy 45 minute walk across the fields, with great views to be had along the way, and the village itself offers a supermarket, two bakers, a couple of bars/restaurants and a tabac/presse.

The gite itself is tastefully decorated, well kept and well equipped and was a great base for us. The beautiful shared garden and pool were also lovely, and as we were fortunate with the weather we spent a lot of time outside, sunbathing and making full use of the BBQ!

As mentioned by other reviewers, the bathroom is not the largest, however we did not find this a problem during our stay.

Due to various circumstances Francine could not be on hand for most of the week, however we were able to e-mail any questions we had and these were usually resolved within 24 hours.

Overall a great place for a couple to stay, enjoy the peace and quiet, and explore Normandy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 5, 2015
Thank you for your kind appreciation. And thank you for looking after the house and Tammy, during the week I've spent at hospital, unfortunetly my husband is going away on sunday morning. I would love to know you better but I am happy that you 've enjoyed your holidays at home !Best wishes for your marriage and be very happy !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming, well equipped gite in a peaceful village setting with easy access to Caen and the D-Day beaches.”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A charming, well equipped gite/apartment which is attached to the owner's lovely old house but completely separate from it, affording undisturbed privacy. Madame Francine Dogon was a friendly, welcoming and attentive host who speaks very good English. A welcome pack of essential provisions was provided on arrival and, for a very modest price, Francine will supply champagne which is produced by her family near Epernay! The apartment was spotlessly clean and very comfortable - ideal for two - and there is the bonus of use of a heated pool surrounded by a delightful garden which is full of character. We used the gite as a base for visiting D-Day sites and museums etc and found it to be a very convenient location, being only a few minutes from Caen and approx 30 minutes from Bayeux. We would not hesitate to recommend this gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and comfort of the gite and the owner's welcome and support.
Liked least: The shower room/toilet were a little on the small side, but adequate for a short stay.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your so kind and detailed appreciation. We have been very pleased to receive so perfect and kind guests and would be very happy to see you again at home. And thank you again for cleaning and for choosing our house as base for your holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing