We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaos”
Review of Appart'City Caen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appart'City Caen
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Caen
Caen
1 review
“Chaos”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I booked online around 9:30pm. Arrived around 10:30 pm. I had no way to get into the hotel until another guest let me in. I didn't know I needed a combo to get into the hotel. I didn't know the combo to open the lock box with keys. I didn't know what name my keys was under. I went thru 3 keys and several calls on someone else's phone to talk to someone so i could get a key that worked. Wasted 1 hour just trying to get into a room that had a hide-a-bed. The bed wasn't so bad. The room was clean, had a fridge. Didn't see the cable for internet until the sun came up on my way out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    55
    39
    30
See reviews for
67
91
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Price was great but not worth the savings. The room was the kind where you are afraid to touch anything or walk without shoes...and had a residual smoker's smell even though designated non-fumeur. I wish I had read Trip Advisor's low "50% recommended" rating before booking. It is fair. BE WARNED: if you arrive after 8 pm there is no reception and you must call elsewhere to get a code to open a safe with room keys....and there is no telephone provided for you!! So, if you are travelling from abroad without a phone, you will have a BIG problem!! Luckily a kind stranger offered me his. Also, the internet is unreliable. I am at McDo's next door to write this. I love a bargain hotel, but this was definitely not worth saving 12-15€ over other hotels. Maybe suitable for a twenty-something accustomed to hostels. This was nothing like the Appart'city in Strasbourg I once stayed in, which was really clean.

Room Tip: A room elsewhere is advisable :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gathernomoss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caen hotels

Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Located on the ring road provides easy access to the city center and other towns of Normandy. Free parking.

Poor apartment - not a superior one. Very small bedroom (like cell) and kitchen, equipped with the basics. Dirty sheets and towels - I had to complain to the front office to change them. Very dirty carpet. Not comfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked this property nice and early along with another room for friends. We wanted to be with my Uncle who is a D-day veteran. We go there to meet up with him every year, every year being special as you never know when it will be the last. 6 weeks after we booked, the hotel emailed saying they had cancelled our booking which was for 4 nights. Our friends still have their room booked. Despite several telephone conversations and emails, no real explanation has been given. Although we did then see the hotel advertised for 6 times the value of what we had paid through booking early. We think this was purely a money grabbing exercise by this company with no care for their customers. We now cannot find anywhere suitable around Caen to stay, if anyone can help we would be very grateful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6giggleabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Easy to find near university campus with adequate (just) free parking.

Reception good and rooms clean with reasonable kitchen and bathroom. (Shower very good). Downside was bed which was poor in comfort terms (fold-out settee). Breakfast available but not taken.

Within walking distance of major 'centre commercial'.

Very reasonable rates. Good for one or two nights. where you are out most of the day.

Room Tip: All much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne/Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is a 20 minutes tram ride (about every 15-20 minutes) away from the city centre. The tram is usually very crowded due to the nearby university campus. My appartment was very clean and spacious and equipped with a kitchenette. The breakfast was fine. It is a good place for a longer stay, especially if you have business to do at the university or the GANIL research centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Reception working only a few hours a day, when we got there there was no one, they left us keys in some sort of safe. In case of any problems there was no one to talk to, we could have ended up without a place to stay for the night. The only phone number was for booking department that wasn't even in the same city and people there couldn't give us any pointers as to how to get to the place.Tiny cramped rooms in apartment rented for 4 people. After pulling out an extremely uncomfortable sofa there was no place to move around. Sofa so worn out it was uneven which made it basically unsuitable for sleeping and even offering this option as a sleeping possibility. Bedroom so tiny you had to walk sideways around the bed to get to the bathroom...
In an apartment that's on sale for 4 people you simply cannot have bathroom available only when entering the bedroom and worn out, uneven sofa! Bathroom is another gem with heater set on a wall right in front of the toilet, in a tiny, tiny cramped corner. On top of all that they ask customers to take out their own trash! Seriously, if we knew we wouldn't have stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewelina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#26 of 41 in Caen
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
2.4 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#18 of 41 in Caen
204 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
1.8 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Caen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Caen

Property: Appart'City Caen
Address: 1 ter rue Claude Bloch, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Caen 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Appart'City Caen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appart City Cap Affaires Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing