We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i was charged on the same day of reservation”
Review of Appart'City Caen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appart'City Caen
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Caen
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A week later after reservation, after asking for cancellation I received a mail confirming the cancellation but refund not made. Reservation was made through hotel.com. I recommend to take care from this place.

Stayed: July 2012
3  Thank clauderita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked through the internet not knowing it was not an hotel but a monthly appartment rental. I am very disappointed as we paid for the whole stay and they are using every excuse not to reimburse us. It is going on after over 2 months since our return. Apprt'City tells us they will reimburse us but their accounting office is not doing it. Somehow they bill us on our credit card but they can't return the money on our credit card. They say they want to return the money to our bank account in Canada but it is not happening. We asked for a bank note but again no answer. I think they are trying to get away from reimbursing us. We paid for the whole stay in advance but had to move to another city during our vacation. The place was ok but would never return because of this problem. Very disappointed with their management.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 421carolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hotel booked through my work as a base for touring the Normandy battlefields, to this end it is in an excellent location and is a value for money hotel. Easy to find on outskirts of Caen (a little bit hid away but keep your eyes open and you spot the hotel). Lots of parking and well located for the tram into town. First impressions are everything here, the room has a small kitchen and the beds are indeed strange pull out sofa bed affairs, however, they proved fine for 4 nights. But the rooms certainly don't match the website or brochures. All that said the room was very clean and the staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was basic continental but eat as much as you like fresh bread etc. I would recommend this as a budget hotel for touring Normandy and Caen is a nice city to stay in. Final word - as with previous posts - be prepared to buy your own toilet rolls if you use more than the 2 provided!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I booked an apartment for 4 people for 2 nights and paid around £110.The apartment had double bedroom; lounge with a table chairs sofa bed, bathroom and small kitchen. There were also has washing machines for general use. We were quite impressed with the whole set up. Reception was staffed quite late and they were friendly and efficient. The hotel itself lies in the university area, the only eatery in the area is the “Buffalo Grill “ which needed pre-booking as it was full when we tried it otherwise there is nowhere really to get a meal unless you drive or catch the tram which stops quite close by.

Room Tip: get an apartment for 2-4 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My main gripe--The "bed" was actually a sleep sofa that had been folded out--no real bed to be found. The lousy mattress was very uncomfortable to my 52 year old body, and the head slanted downward a bit, which made my gastric reflux worse. The room also had an unpleasant smell, kind of like mothballs or bug spray. It was very hot--we had an air conditioner, but could not figure out how to make it cool the room (or maybe it just didn't work). There was no one we could ask for help with the air conditioner, since the desk staff is only available for limited hours each day. And that would be another gripe--the lack of staff at the desk except for a few set hours--there should be someone available if there is a problem. Our room was fully paid for up front, but the lady at the desk told us we needed to pay a "tax" of 20 euro--she looked a little sheepish when she asked for it. My husband handed her 2 euro instead of 20, and she took it without protest. We thought this whole episode was a bit strange. During our trip to Europe, we stayed in 6 hotels, all paid for up front, and this was the only one that asked for more money from us. There was a HUGE spider on the ceiling in the lobby, which made me feel like I needed to check our room for critters. The location is OK if you have a car, but it did not look like a walkable neighborhood if you just wanted to step out for something to eat without dealing with transportation. If you are visiting the Normandy beaches, you could certainly do better with location--there are lots of small hotels at the beaches themselves. The only good thing I have to say is that the room was bright and appeared to be clean, with a refrigerator and a small balcony. There was parking available off street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for three nights while we explored the beachs of Normandy. There were two adults and three young kids. We had booked a 6 person apartment however the manager rang us a day or so before and said they had a problem with the apartment booked and gave us two apartments a 2 bed and a four bed in its place with ajoining door between both so it was fine, we had two bathrooms one with a shower and the four bed had a bath. There is free parking and the area around seems quite, there is a tram station justs meters away which will take you to town. the reciption closes completely at 7pm with no one on site. It is still possible to check in but you need to have contacted reception before they close and they will give you codes to get your keys for a safety deposit box, I met one person who had traveled from the Netherlands who was unable to get even in the door, I was able to give them the codes we had but without them they were in trouble as all of the contact numbers for the hotel were going to answering machines. So Please be warned as it not a position I would like to be in.
One issue we did have was there wasn't even a dust pan or brush in the appartements and with three young kids this is not on as you need some way of cleaning up the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverhouse_foto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Appart'City Caen on a family vacation in March. We were in Normandy to explore the WWII beaches. We wanted to base ourselves in Caen and be close to the perimeter road so we can get to the other areas quickly and without the inner city traffic. The Appart'City was perfect for us. Being directly next to the perimeter ring road and the city tram we found the university area quiet at night and in a great location. We were close to a Carrefour grocery store and as we had a small kitchen in our room it was perfect for our dinner at the end of a busy day sightseeing. We paid the extra and had breakfast at the hotel before heading out for the day.
The only downside was the lack of good dining in the area in walking distance, but the tram to the city was convenient. The hotel had lots of travel information so you could choose your restaurant then choose your tram line to get there.
The staff were wonderful. They all spoke English which was hand for us Anglophones. Everyone was so helpful and made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#17 of 41 in Caen
213 reviews
2.4 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#6 of 41 in Caen
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#21 of 41 in Caen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
2.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Gare
1.5 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Caen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Caen

Address: 1 ter rue Claude Bloch, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Caen
Price Range: $45 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Caen 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Appart'City Caen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appart City Cap Affaires Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing