We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and near to ferry”
Review of Appart'City Caen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appart'City Caen
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Caen
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I booked an apartment for 4 people for 2 nights and paid around £110.The apartment had double bedroom; lounge with a table chairs sofa bed, bathroom and small kitchen. There were also has washing machines for general use. We were quite impressed with the whole set up. Reception was staffed quite late and they were friendly and efficient. The hotel itself lies in the university area, the only eatery in the area is the “Buffalo Grill “ which needed pre-booking as it was full when we tried it otherwise there is nowhere really to get a meal unless you drive or catch the tram which stops quite close by.

Room Tip: get an apartment for 2-4 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 243 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2011

My main gripe--The "bed" was actually a sleep sofa that had been folded out--no real bed to be found. The lousy mattress was very uncomfortable to my 52 year old body, and the head slanted downward a bit, which made my gastric reflux worse. The room also had an unpleasant smell, kind of like mothballs or bug spray. It was very hot--we had an air conditioner, but could not figure out how to make it cool the room (or maybe it just didn't work). There was no one we could ask for help with the air conditioner, since the desk staff is only available for limited hours each day. And that would be another gripe--the lack of staff at the desk except for a few set hours--there should be someone available if there is a problem. Our room was fully paid for up front, but the lady at the desk told us we needed to pay a "tax" of 20 euro--she looked a little sheepish when she asked for it. My husband handed her 2 euro instead of 20, and she took it without protest. We thought this whole episode was a bit strange. During our trip to Europe, we stayed in 6 hotels, all paid for up front, and this was the only one that asked for more money from us. There was a HUGE spider on the ceiling in the lobby, which made me feel like I needed to check our room for critters. The location is OK if you have a car, but it did not look like a walkable neighborhood if you just wanted to step out for something to eat without dealing with transportation. If you are visiting the Normandy beaches, you could certainly do better with location--there are lots of small hotels at the beaches themselves. The only good thing I have to say is that the room was bright and appeared to be clean, with a refrigerator and a small balcony. There was parking available off street.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here for three nights while we explored the beachs of Normandy. There were two adults and three young kids. We had booked a 6 person apartment however the manager rang us a day or so before and said they had a problem with the apartment booked and gave us two apartments a 2 bed and a four bed in its place with ajoining door between both so it was fine, we had two bathrooms one with a shower and the four bed had a bath. There is free parking and the area around seems quite, there is a tram station justs meters away which will take you to town. the reciption closes completely at 7pm with no one on site. It is still possible to check in but you need to have contacted reception before they close and they will give you codes to get your keys for a safety deposit box, I met one person who had traveled from the Netherlands who was unable to get even in the door, I was able to give them the codes we had but without them they were in trouble as all of the contact numbers for the hotel were going to answering machines. So Please be warned as it not a position I would like to be in.
One issue we did have was there wasn't even a dust pan or brush in the appartements and with three young kids this is not on as you need some way of cleaning up the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverhouse_foto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Appart'City Caen on a family vacation in March. We were in Normandy to explore the WWII beaches. We wanted to base ourselves in Caen and be close to the perimeter road so we can get to the other areas quickly and without the inner city traffic. The Appart'City was perfect for us. Being directly next to the perimeter ring road and the city tram we found the university area quiet at night and in a great location. We were close to a Carrefour grocery store and as we had a small kitchen in our room it was perfect for our dinner at the end of a busy day sightseeing. We paid the extra and had breakfast at the hotel before heading out for the day.
The only downside was the lack of good dining in the area in walking distance, but the tram to the city was convenient. The hotel had lots of travel information so you could choose your restaurant then choose your tram line to get there.
The staff were wonderful. They all spoke English which was hand for us Anglophones. Everyone was so helpful and made our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just got back from staying here over the D day landing anniversary weekend. Found friendly staff, nice clean apartment and pretty spacious even though we only had a one bedroomed apartment with the kids on the sofa bed. Nice touch was a little balcony which we enjoyed sitting out on late evening. Took a tip from other reviewer and took our own kettle which was handy. All in all good basic accommodation and good location for visiting all the areas of interest. Don't miss the American cemetery in Colleville!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyonsmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Our visit was for a weekend, with the main purpose for visiting the Normandy Beaches. We were to stay here for 1 night, in an appartment with 4 beds. Booked over the internet.
From Cherbourg take the E46/N13 exit at Junction 7, go 'left' onto Boulevard Peripherique N, the D401, onto Bd du Marechal Juin straight over 2 islands then straight over a 3rd island onto Bd Henri Becquerel then 2nd right and the hotel is on the left. There is free ample parking. There is a University nearby and several hundred metres is Herouville Saint Clair.
If you want to visit Caen, this hotel is a little out of the way to walk, but there is an excellent Bendy-bus and tram station with a good map just outside the hotel on the main road. There is also a MacDonalds on the main road very close by.
Check-in, on a Saturday is between 14:00 and 16:00, closed Sunday. Weekdays 14:00 to 18:00. The receptionist spoke English very well and was expecting us.
The reception area was very large and clean with a posh working lift!.
As we opened the appartment door, we walked into the small but ample kitchen. Very clean with all the accessories required, pots and pans and even washing up liquid and tea towel supplied. We walked into the living area, with a dressing table with mirror and lamp, a television, dining table and 4 chairs. Also was the bed setee pre-made and the 4th bed pre-made underneath. There were also patio doors to a verendah outside (we were on the top 5th floor). In the main bedroom the bed was pre-made, with verendah doors and the bathroom. Soap, shower gel and ample towels were provided.
Breakfast can be provided at extra cost, but we took our own, as there are kitchen facilities.
I was pleasantly suprised with the room, although the furniture could do with up-dating, it was in good condition and very very clean! I would definitely use again.
Also to be noted, there are permanent residents, but this did not detract from our visit at all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsverygrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The Appart City apartment in Caen is really a motel room with a bed and basic tea/coffee
making facilities. It's out of the main thoroughfare, not far from a
hospital and a few restaurants. Only suitable for a short stay. The bus
stop is nearby but the bus didn't come for over an hour when we were
returning from the city on a cold night. Handy to Bayeux and the Normandy beaches and cheap.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank FreidaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
2.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
2.4 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 40 in Caen
503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
0.5 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#22 of 40 in Caen
94 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#30 of 40 in Caen
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Caen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Caen

Address: 1 T rue Claude Bloch, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Caen
Price Range: $47 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Caen 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Appart'City Caen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appart City Cap Affaires Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing