We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“group tour visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel Caen Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“group tour visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was in a very good location to be able to walk around and see some nice shops and a very old church. The room was small, like most European rooms, and the bar area was only a few chairs. We ate dinner nearby but had breakfast both mornings in the hotel. This was superb for us because of the variety it offered.

The hallways were dark until you stepped in then automatic lighting kicked in and lit the halls. It was the only hotel we encountered that did not have the typical body wash/shampoo dispenser on the wall of the shower. I had to dig out one of the little bottles I had brought from a previous trip. The elevator was only able to handle 2-3 people with luggage, therefore the check-in and out four groups is tedious.

When we returned from D-Day beaches the second day, the sidewalk tables were all occupied but by 7pm no one was there. We think it may have been an earlier "happy hour".

Everything we encountered was spotless and the front desk personnel were THE BEST of our whole trip. They even prepared breakfast at 5am the last day, and coffee was ready at 4:30.

We loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms were able to here other rooms (knocking, walking) so the soundproofing is a bit thin. I gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    191
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
73
154
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great central location, ideal for exploring the region. Stayed at this hotel as part of a singing group, room was clean and tidy, loved the wet room. However felt the bar area was cramped, and also cardboard cups in room let the hotel down,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 10 motorcyclists. The owners could not have been more helpful in arranging a group booking, splitting room bills and anything else we asked for. They particularly went out of their way to arrange safe parking for the bikes. Because they had another very large group at the time, they went to a lot of trouble to seat us for breakfast to ensure we were not delayed in the morning.
The location is fantastic - easy access to the harbour and its restaurants and bars. We only chose Caen because of its access to the Normandy Beaches but discovered it's a great location on its own.
This is a budget hotel, albeit a very well run one, where the owners are personally involved. Bedrooms and showers are great for this standard of hotel. Our front facing room had large windows overlooking a park area. The breakfast room is functional at best. Teas, coffees and other beverages are available in the pleasant but small reception at other times.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic location,close to town centre,brilliant place for a base to explore Normandy.The town is worth seeing especially the sunday market.As to the hotel yes I would go there again, great staff room prepared every day after you leave, as my friends said comfortable beds good rooms good location

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelly523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

just a couple of easily rectifiable things let it down, the bedroom had a smell of stale smoke and the cups provided on the tea tray in the room were cardboard!! Other than that, I couldn't fault the place.

Stayed here for four nights with a tour group. This is a lovely value for money hotel, staff are very friendly and helpful, the bed was probably one of the most comfortable I've slept in (in a hotel of course!!) the room was clean, warm, the shower was super powerful, (worth noting, no mini shampoo or conditioner provider, but I guess most of you will be packing your own anyway) and I would recommend taking your own hairdryer and one with a long lead at that, as there is only one mirror in the main bedroom and it is NOT above the dressing table. The hair dryer in the bathroom is ok if you have short hair, but not very good for anyone with anything longer.

We were in room 304, super king size bed, nice size room with wardrobe and shelving, coffee table and two chairs, (other rooms friends of ours were in had no shelving and only 5 hangers..) The room overlooked the road, but didn't really have to much of an issue with road noise but would recommend taking ear plugs though if you are a light sleeper.

The little breakfast room is kept well stocked with fruit, pastries, breads, cereals, cheese, ham etc, you certainly won't go hungry and the hotel is situated just a few minutes walk from the town. Can highly recommend the Abracadabra pizza restaurant in the old town, about a 10 minute walk, the atmosphere and food were fantastic.

All in all, very good value for money, would really like to see those cardboard cups replaced with proper china ones though!! (But that really is all I can come up with to complain about!!)

Would recommend if thinking of visiting this lovely town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pphKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pro: Good location, very clean rooms, spacious, plenty of street parking that is free during the night or paid underground parking just opposite the hotel, friendly staff. Con: Breakfast is costly and feels like a cafeteria.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our son to visit the Operation Overlord sites and the Bayeux Tapestry. This hotel was located on a lovely open square convenient for all the amenities and sites. We had a lovely room for 3 adults which had a little balcony facing onto the square. It was very spacious and very well equipped, tea coffee, biscuits, water and toiletries. The staff spoke good English and were most helpful. We didn't eat breakfast here, preferring to sample the local Boulangerie. Would strongly recommend this hotel for value for money and amenities.

Room Tip: Room facing the square has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlyShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#4 of 41 in Caen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#9 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Caen Centre

Property: Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Address: 1 Place de la Republique, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caen
#2 Business Hotel in Caen
#4 Family Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Caen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Caen Centre
Kyriad Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing