We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, lovely staff”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night with my husband and 4 year old. The room itself was clean and tidy but nothing special. The staff were really lovely though and made it a pleasant stay. Location is good, right in the centre, easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    207
    31
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
165
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and really couldn't fault the Kyriad Caen Centre. The chap on the door on our arrival was most friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and decently appointed, nice big bathroom, and though I wouldn’t say it had much soul or call it particularly modern, it was functional, clean and comfortable, which is basically all you need (or all I need, anyway!) Parking is €8 a day, for which you can come and go as you please, at the underground car park in the square opposite. You just hand the ticket to the person on the front desk and they’ll swap it for a hotel issued one. I did notice that the car park was closed late at night though, as in ‘shutters down’, so if you’re planning on arriving back late, or indeed leaving late for a ferry or flight or whatever, bear that in mind.

Location wise it’s very central, within short walking distance to the castle and cathedral, and the to the bars and cafes on the quayside, as well as being right round the corner from the main shopping thoroughfares. Despite some complaints on here about the youths in the park, I saw nothing like that during my 4 night stay here.

Free WiFi and a nice little café right next door too. If you’re driving there without a sat-nav, it’s dead easy – follow signs for Centre Ville and then signs for Parking Circuit and P Republique, as it’s right opposite this well sign-posted car park.

Overall, would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in July with my wife, Daughter and some friends. We checked-in on Bastille day, which meant a little bit of extra noise from the street (hotel is very near town after all), but overall I couldn't fault the entire experience. Staff are excellent, with very good English. Parking, Breakfast - all very good and good value. If you're in the area for a visit around Normandy, or CAEN itself, I highly recommend the Kyriad Caen Centre.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 3 - rooms are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDH_CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a very good hotel in the centre of town. Only stayed for one night. The staff were very friendly and the beds comfortable. It has a small hotel appearance about it with a modern feel. Very near the shops and could not fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the front as it has balconies you can look out over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Two couples doing D-Day beaches and Falaise Gap, our last night was here. The room was great and the hotel was good too. All quite modern and clean. We thought the bar below might keep us awake, but in fact it closed about 9.00pm so we were wrong. Unfortuantely, very drunk revellers awaoke us all at 3.00am and again at 4.00am but I guess that is city life. Good place to stay with a carpark opposite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaiusMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I recently visited the D-Day beaches and points of interest in Normandy. I travelled with my 11 year old grandson and decided to stay in the Kyriad Caen Centre. The hotel was very clean and smart, the staff very helpfull. Breakfast was excellent, even sufficeint for a growing boy. The location, in the heart of Caen was excellent for restaurants and the sites of Caen although a good Sat-Nav is required to drive to the Hotel but once there there is a secure car park immediately opposite. The only slight downside to the Hotel was the limited lounge/bar area but with so many surrounding bars and cafes this is not really a problem. An all round excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Excellent central location within walking distance to all attractions. A very secure underground car park just opposite which charges 8 Euro per day. Very welcoming and English speaking reception. Excellent room with tea/ coffee facilities. Breakfast was faultless. Make this your base in Caen

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Caen Centre

Property: Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Address: 1 Place de la Republique, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caen
#2 Business Hotel in Caen
#4 Family Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Caen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Caen Centre
Kyriad Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing