We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thought provocing day!”

Normandy Museum (Musee de Normandie)
Ranked #6 of 45 things to do in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A thought provocing day!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Reviews on Trip advisor recommended spending at least 3 hours here. We spent 5 hours looking through the excellent and thought provoking displays. We travelled with grandparents and teenage boys and all of us were moved by the events recorded from the end of the first war though until the end of the Second World war and beyond. I'd highly recommend paying a little extra and using the audio guides. A must see museum!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    98
    31
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good museum”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Small but pleasant. Excellent maps showing Normandy features. Small but pleasant. Excellent maps showing Normandy features.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank driverg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jam-packed with thought provoking history and exhibits. Must-see for a Normandy experience!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I hemmed and hawed about spending the money for this. Finally we decided we'd kick ourselves if we didnt go. After spending 8 hours (almost open to close) we learned a ton, were enthralled the entire time and didn't regret it at all! Not great for young kids but anyone needing a primer on the lead up to WW2, the French involvement in particular then east west relations to 1989 should 100% do this! When we went the final room was an exhibit on political cartoons. Fascinating!

Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewAndMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
113 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Museum at Caen about WW2 & Dday”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

By taking a shore excursion from a cruise, many of us got to see Omaha Beach and then a museum dedicated to the entire war. This has got to be the most educational museum in Europe. After we left Omaha Beach we had a better idea of the difficulty of invading there. The landings depicted in Saving Private Ryan are close to accurate. The distance from water to the top of the ridge is about 500 m. Easy to do unless you have a heavy pack and someone is shooting at you. Then it looks impossible.

Went to museum after the outdoors excursion. We had a cafeteria lunch of cheese and salads and desserts. Then the staff brought out duck. If you go with a group get the details of the food order or else you will be too full to eat all. Remember, this is French cooking. (Yum). I could have stayed 8 hours in the galleries, but had to settle for two. All displays have explanations in French, English, and Spanish which helps.

If I can ever manage it - will go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must see for history buffs”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a wonderful place to see first hand of the awful things war can do. Every one should see this lest we forget. I wish we would have had more than the 2 hours we alloted. It is awesome how they have the actual atifacts of soldiers of the time. The only draw back was I think the french have forgotten that there were several thousand Americans lying in the ground only a few miles from this site. Very little is said about the U.S., Canada and Great Brittin's loss of life and limb. According to the museum the French resistance almost single handedly won the war against the Germans. Failure to give credit is why this only recieved a 4 instead of a 5. Very modern, facilities very nice especially the resturant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmasjimmybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Normandy Museum (Musee de Normandie) also viewed

 

Been to Normandy Museum (Musee de Normandie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing