We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”
Review of Hotel Crocus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Crocus
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went to this hotel on a school trip with friends and teachers. As we arrived on the coach we all thought it looked ok but we were terribly wrong. As we went through the main entrance the staff were kind and greeted us and handed us our keys which, by the way, were heavy lumps of metal with a key attached. Once we had all settled in we had a look around each others rooms, luckily our room was fine but others were not so fortunate. One room had a brown stain on the bed and in another the bed was damp. The lighting in the rooms left a lot to be desired, with only 2 lights,excluding the bathroom light, the room was constantly dark. The mattresses were hard and difficult to sleep in and the blanket was itchy which made it even harder. The bathroom was ok but the one thing I didn't like was the shower was extremely under powered and it took almost twice the amount of time it would normally to wash.

The waiter we had was extremely rude. As we were walking back to our rooms the waiter was coming the opposite way he then proceeded to push my friend out of the way and sarcastically go "sorry"
The food wasn't great but it was adequate. I can't comment on the choice of food as our teacher decided to pick for us.

Overall the hotel was terrible and I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our expectations for the Hotel Crocus were fairly minimal. We were off the ferry at Dieppe, knew we would be quite tired, and just wanted somewhere cheap to get a good night's sleep. The beds were comfortable, the room a fair size if rather spartan.

Worst aspect for us was that the interior corridors leading to the room were rather dark. The hotel had some sort of motion sensitive lighting which seemed to be on delayed reaction! Also the lighting in the room left something to be desired and was difficult to read by. Wifi in our room, however, was fine. A bonus was that there was a reasonable restaurant and bar. Not gourmet dining, but cheapish and adequate.

In fact that would be my take on this place as a whole, ie cheapish but adequate so don't book with great expectations. You will find a lot better in Caen but not at this price.

Room Tip: We had rooms 8 and 9 which were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

For 100 Euros a night I guess it wasn't bad, this is my first trip to France so I wasn't sure what to expect. However, compared to an American hotel, there are some things that Americans may not quite like:
No washcloths or hand towels, only bath towels
No complementary soap or shampoo
Small flat pillows (still debating which was flatter, my pillow or the crepes I had)
Hard, thin mattresses
During breakfast the staff seemed frustrated if we requested something like milk for cereal.
The night staff seemed more friendly than the day staff.
We could hear the person in the next room snoring at night so the walls are thin.
You can hear each person walking up and down the hall way because the floors are wood.

When you check in, be aware that the front desk and foyer close at 11pm. On your key ring will be the security code to get into a side door after 11pm. They failed to tell us this on the first day and we were almost locked out that night because we left and had dinner and didn't return until about 10:55pm, when we found her locking up the place.

Very few people speak English here so brush up on your French if you plan on staying in Normandy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royflfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We were here as a group, prebooked for 20 persons. Limited menu, only 4 hamburgers, 1 portion of mussels! Entrecote steak ordered, small portion, poor quality. Came with salad, two lettuce leaves, no dressing. Frites (oven poor quality). poor service, food arrived in dribs and drabs.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bert015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The price was great and the.location was great for the day trips we were taking. Parking was ok. The resturant and breakfast was a bit over priced but the service was fantastic. My biggest complaint is you can not get WiFi in the rooms althrough we were told we could. And where I work with my computer internet connection is a must to upload documents and communicate via email. U had to sir in the hallway to pickup just enough.signal to.send a report. Other than this I would recommend this hotel who are there to see the sites however not a good choice for business

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinggirl3623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

1st impressions, out dated, then noticed the fleece bed cover was full of long black hair!! The room was tiny (no. 46) . Other wise the room was clean but not worth 70euros for the night with no breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ApeBJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel staff is nice and kind and they help you in case of need.
The room we had was very small, hardly bigger than the bed :-).
There are lot of rooms of different type I guess to choose from. Keep in mind that they have just started to renovate one part of the old building which means that there are heavy smell from the paint and a lot of noise as well. We had some problem with the very old heating system but the staff made it work again...
We did not ask for breakfast so I cannot tell about it, but we had a dinner there which was ok, but never repeated...very average.
If you are looking for something cheap AND clean, but nothing more - then choose this one.
And the location is a very good one if you move around by car.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#13 of 40 in Caen
223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Gare
1.5 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#20 of 40 in Caen
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#30 of 40 in Caen
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
2.9 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Savoy Caen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocus

Address: 2 rue de la Folie, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: $44 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocus 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Caen, Hôtel Crocus Caen Mémorial is 4 km from Ducal Chateau and 500 metres from Mémorial de Caen. It has a shaded terrace and offers modern guest rooms with free Wi-Fi access.All guest rooms are equipped with a flat-screen TV. Some rooms feature air conditioning and a mini-fridge. A hairdryer is available upon request.Traditional cuisine is served in Brasserie Les 4 Saisons. Guests can enjoy a drink in the bar at Hôtel Crocus and a buffet breakfast is served every morning.Hôtel Crocus Caen Mémorial is 450 metres from the Colline aux Oiseaux Park. It is accessible via the N814 motorway and free parking is available on site.We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 50 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Crocus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocus Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing