We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not flash, but great value....”
Review of Hotel Crocus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Crocus
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not flash, but great value....”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

For the price was great. Paid the extra for breakfast which was very good, continental style. Had an evening meal which was brilliant value and very nice. Good size room, free wifi, cheap bar...perfect for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_rockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    50
    22
    15
See reviews for
30
50
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Having stayed at the Mercure , just down the road , decided to stay closer to the Peace Museum, short walk ,away and near a terminus for the single decker bus to Caen . Ideally sited for the different day trips out by car to the coast , and for using the sports centre close by too , just bring your raquets . Breakfast and also the dinner were very well presented , various menus during the week . Pleasant hotel to stay .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenbainbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benderloch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent our last night in France in this hotel. When we walked in our first thoughts were that it looked OK.
Unfortunately the bedrooms left a lot to be desired - the sheets on the bed were clean but the blankets were disgusting. The bed was really uncomfortable and we spent a really awful last night there.
Very disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adriennelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caen hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Hotel reception/bar dirty, bar maid/waitress showing thrush like symptoms with constant scratching of vaginal area while serving drinks. Iam not very tall @ 5'8 but I kept banging head on ceiling in bathroom which was very clean prob because most people need a hard hat to enter.our room was clean with different hight joining beds so as I rolled over in night I would fall down to next level to cuddle wife.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonesycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Three of us needed a base to operate around the Normandy Attractions, and this provided a perfect location. We stayed 7 nights and parking was occasionally an issue. Most nights we ate in the restaurant. Sometimes we had to dealy eating because it was full but at no time did we not eat because of it. Drinks were limited and somewhat expensive.
Rooms were very basic but you get what you pay for. We all slept acceptably well but the rooms do have thin walls and there is a lot of internal noise if the wrong crowd are in. Didnt care for the blanket and sheet arrangement, expecting quilts on the continent! I had a double room to myself [wife didnt come] and my two mates had a triple. neither room was blessed with spare floor area.
Free Wireless hook-up was acceptable but dont expect to watch movies with it as it is too slow for that.
All in all I woudl rank the hotel just below travellodge standard for the UK, its main advantages being price and location and I would recommend it for your base of a beaches tour.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

On arrival on June 8th 2011 for a 4 night pre-booked stay, I was told that, owing to the arrival of a large coach party, there was no room available for me, and I had been transferred to the nearby B. and B. Hotel, which is a similar standard. It wasn't. I spent the first night of my 4 night booking in a small concrete cell, 'sleeping' on a thin mattress, on a wooden baseboard.
The receptionist at the B.and B. told me this happens frequently - the Crocus accepts bookings from large coach parties and then attempts to transfer other pre-booked travellers to the B. and B.Hotel.
The bad treatment was made worse when the Crocus said I was to pay them at their rate, for the other hotel - which I refused to do.
On my return to the Crocus the next day (the B. and B. hotel had no rooms available for my other 3 nights anyway) I was given an free upgrade, and apologies for the inconvenience.
However, I could not get a meal in the hotel restaurant because it was full. (A second coach party had arrived.)
The coach parties tend to be noisy; the bedroom walls are thin, and with adjoining doors, a peaceful night's sleep cannot be guaranteed.
If you are a solo traveller, your booking, and your stay at the hotel, will take second place to the frequent coach parties that arrive. Unnacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RGreen046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimbledon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed here for just one night en route for the loire valley. Very difficult to find - Caen signposts are some of the worst in the world. Print directions !
We arrived late and asked the hotel to leave the keys in the room which they did without problem. Room was very small - the smallest loo/shower I've ever seen. However, all was clean and efficient, but I would not describe the hotel as having any charm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel_marie-helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Carline
Hotel Carline
#18 of 41 in Caen
204 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#24 of 41 in Caen
38 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
1.3 mi away
Pauseome
Pauseome
#26 of 41 in Caen
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inter-hotel Otelinn
Inter-hotel Otelinn
#17 of 41 in Caen
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocus

Property: Hotel Crocus
Address: 2 rue de la Folie, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocus 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Caen, Hôtel Crocus Caen Mémorial is 4 km from Ducal Chateau and 500 metres from Mémorial de Caen. It has a shaded terrace and offers modern guest rooms with free Wi-Fi access.All guest rooms are equipped with a flat-screen TV. Some rooms feature air conditioning and a mini-fridge. A hairdryer is available upon request.Traditional cuisine is served in Brasserie Les 4 Saisons. Guests can enjoy a drink in the bar at Hôtel Crocus and a buffet breakfast is served every morning.Hôtel Crocus Caen Mémorial is 450 metres from the Colline aux Oiseaux Park. It is accessible via the N814 motorway and free parking is available on site.We speak your language! Hotel Rooms: 50 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Crocus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocus Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing