We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Etap,Caen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Budget Caen Gare
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    129
    112
    49
    20
See reviews for
80
101
70
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the train station, as we needed to return our rental car prior to catching our train back to Paris. We only stayed one night, but I don't recall much sleep. We reserved a non-smoking room in a non-smoking hotel, yet upon entrance, the room smelled heavily of smoke. We opened a window in hopes of airing it out while at dinner. When we got into bed, we discovered that the sheets and pillows smelled heavily of smoke as well. We alerted the staff at the front desk, who informed us that nothing could be done. I should add that even our toilet paper smelled of smoke, as I needed it for my nose at one point. I won't be back...dirty, smoky sheets are a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpgrimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This 3 stars rated hotel is located just in front of the station. So leaving the train, you cross the street and you are in. Hotel is small and provide with a not very large room but with all you need for a short stay. Breakfast is basic. Trams station located in front of the hotel, between the train station and the hotel. Hotel and rooms are cleaned but never forget that this a 3 stars hotel. Staff is very friendly and can help you with all your needs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Claude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Ended up at this hotel as they promised secure cycle storage and as the photo shows they failed completely. This hotel is directly opposite the main railway station and a major tram terminal. It is very noisy and there are a lot of beggars and low life street people in the vicinity.
Hotel is basic example of what Etap offer and I would only stay again if desperate for somewhere to sleep..

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisey from the trams and traffic in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryFindonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caen hotels

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. Its location is great - right next to the station and trams/buses running into the city centre from outside the door. Other plus points, the room was large and very clean with a big bed (with duvet) and a great shower. Free WiFi and really helpful guy in reception. Negatives - if you like to eat breakfast after 7.30am there isn't much left to choose from, so you might be better not paying for breakfast and going to nearby cafe for coffee & croissant - also, the bed was rather hard as the thin mattress was just on a board base, so probably not the best for folks with back and joint problems. I really didn't sleep very well at all because of this, which was a shame, because once the local bars had closed it was very quiet. Not quite sure where some of the other reviewers were staying - I certainly didn't see any prostitutes or 'undesirable types' - we ate in 2 of the bars on he same road and the service and food were both great. Having said that, you do need to speak some French here (even the guy on reception didn't have good English) so if you're one of those people who can't be bothered to try to speak the language, then I'd suggest you try somewhere else. All in all, highly recommended for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are a little quieter and ask for a non-smoking room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
2.3 mi away
Quick Palace
Quick Palace
#28 of 41 in Caen
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#9 of 41 in Caen
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel L'Univers
Hotel L'Univers
#21 of 41 in Caen
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
2.6 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
0.1 mi away
La consigne
La consigne
#12 of 41 in Caen
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Caen Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Caen Gare

Property: Ibis Budget Caen Gare
Address: 16 Place de la Gare, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Caen Gare 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Budget Caen Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing