We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Astrid
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Astrid is located near the tram line and is right behind a bus stop for the #2 which takes you directly to the Caen Memorial. The room was large enough for two, and the lady who greeted us and checked us out in the morning was quite friendly. We felt quite welcome and enjoyed our stay for one night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    51
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
50
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is definitely a budget hotel, and you get what you pay for. The rooms can do with updating and don’t look too closely at the corners of the bathroom, blackened with mould. However, it’s hard to really complain at 54 euros per night for a double (we were only there for 1 night as a stopover, which was enough). As we stayed in November, we did not have a mosquito problem as some have mentioned, except for one pesky one that buzzed in the middle of the night and woke us up. The location is very convenient, within walking distance to the city centre and an easy tram ride to the station. It’s a slightly longer bus ride to the Caen Memorial (a highly worthwhile museum – we went twice!).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yark07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Usual smallish room and bath but our room was clean and bed linens seemed newer. We were there in spring so can't comment on mosquito problem. Small annoyance for us was being just far enough from the train station that we didn't feel like walking. The local tram runs from the station almost to the front door. We never completely understood the ropes but it did the job. ...For what it's worth, we loved Normandy and wished we had more time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batikmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Good value price/quality

Rooms and bathrooms are basic, but clean and quite spacious. Main "pros" of the hotel are excellent and very helpful staff and location - just halfway from old bassin Saint-Pierre to Castle (two minutes on foot both).

Hotel is bike-friendly, bicycles spent the night in a garage. There are some restaurants nearby but i recommend to eat in Rue du Vaugueux (east from Castle) - there are plenty of good and various restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andres16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Twitchy the Wonder Bunny, a pink and blue globe trotting bunny spent three nights at the Hotel Astrid. The rooms are very dated and could use a make over. The rooms were quiet with not a lot of street noise. There was a problem with mosquitoes. If the windows were left open, you were bitten. If the windows were closed, the rooms were hot and stuffy. Wifi is available and free. The staff was very friendly and helpful.For 7 euro, you can have a continental breakfast delivered to your room. It was very good. The rooms are up a flight of stairs with no elevator so this is not a handicap accessible hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwitchyTheWonderBuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friendly helpful staff and a great location. The rooms are very dated and due for a facelift. Tight fit for a family of 2 adults and 2 children but it did the job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Lots of street noise and bar noise.Had to have window open since no a/c. Internet very unreliable, kept loosing connection. Good central location. Rooms are clean but in need of renovation. Breakfast delivered to your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMeurope2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.2 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astrid

Property: Hotel Astrid
Address: 39 rue de Bernieres, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Caen
#7 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astrid 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Astrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing