We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel des Quatrans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Quatrans
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked this hotel as our 'headquarters' for a 3 day tour along the WW2 museums and D-Day landing beaches of World War II. It is a simple 2/3 star hotel located in the city centre of Caen, close to the Chateau Ducal. The rooms, beds and bathrooms were OK. We did not like the breakfast the first morning so decided to visit a bakery the other morning.

From the hotel, you can easily plan your daytrips along the landing beaches and the numberous memorials along the coast of Normandy. We found this hotel on booking.com when we searched for an Irish Pub in walking distance of the hotel :-). We spend some evening hours in the O'Donnell's Irish Pub nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeReuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    82
    59
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
78
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The location of this hotel is very central. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Rooms are simple and comfortable. Street parking is easy enough, and there is no charge for parking overnight between 6.30pm and 9.30am. During the day, parking meters are cheap, and the hotel offers a special deal for parking at the nearby Castle. There are lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. Good economical place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAkehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were pleased with the Hotel des Quatrans. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet (apart from a dog barking in the room next door one evening – it stopped before it was too late into the evening. The hotel reminds guests about keeping noise levels down at night). A good breakfast was provided and the staff members were courteous and friendly and always willing to give assistance, when required. There is a very good restaurant next door to the hotel. The hotel is centrally placed and in a good location for visiting the various sights, Tourist Office and shopping centre. Trams run frequently from the train station which is about 20-25 minutes walk away (flat, no hills). We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent place to stay in the middle of town. It's super clean, quaint and for 9 euros each offers a nice breakfast. Only down side is street parking fills up after six pm but it is free. (Before 6 pm, you need a parking ticket.) it's close other D Day memorial museum.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better because it only has an elevator fit for two adults without luggage or one pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My traveling companion was wheelchair-bound, with the ability to walk with a cane for 5 minutes. The hotel gave us a first floor room, which was sufficient for our purposes. The hotel's elevator was a small 1 person lift, could never have accomodated a wheelchair. The staff was friendly and breakfast tasty. Hotel is perfectly located to experience Caen's historic buildings as a pedestrian or in a wheelchair. Rooms were small but clean, bed very comfortable. WiFi was strong and free. We lucked out in finding this place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoicson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot. Very close to the castle and good bars and restaurants.
Its very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night before we made our onward journey but it was comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very well placed to the main attractions which all have a Norman flavour. The castle is virtually across the road and it is worth 2 or 3 hours to look around. Much of Caen is spread out so you need to use either the trams or taxis, again easily accessible from this hotel. There is a very convenient car park under the castle which is very convenient and the hotel had a discount arrangement The hotel itself is a bit sterile. Windows open to allow fresh air, much appreciated A bit dated decor wise and in the plumbing etc. Staff are helpful and attentive. The renovations are proceeding in slow motion. There didn’t seem to be a lot of life, eg not many at breakfast, which was OK-if a little sparse. My advice is eat early and look outside the hotel for other meals. The colour schemes in the breakfast room etc are a bit bizarre. At the weekend, Caen has one of the most extensive and impressive open air markets we had ever seen. Hundreds of stalls of all kinds and good for picnic provisions and children and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francois d'O
Hotel Francois d'O
#16 of 41 in Caen
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#5 of 41 in Caen
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#24 of 41 in Caen
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Quatrans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Quatrans

Property: Hotel des Quatrans
Address: 17 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Quatrans 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel des Quatrans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing