We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient central location”
Review of Hotel des Quatrans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Quatrans
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were pleased with the Hotel des Quatrans. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet (apart from a dog barking in the room next door one evening – it stopped before it was too late into the evening. The hotel reminds guests about keeping noise levels down at night). A good breakfast was provided and the staff members were courteous and friendly and always willing to give assistance, when required. There is a very good restaurant next door to the hotel. The hotel is centrally placed and in a good location for visiting the various sights, Tourist Office and shopping centre. Trams run frequently from the train station which is about 20-25 minutes walk away (flat, no hills). We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ElizaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Quatrans
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 192 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Excellent place to stay in the middle of town. It's super clean, quaint and for 9 euros each offers a nice breakfast. Only down side is street parking fills up after six pm but it is free. (Before 6 pm, you need a parking ticket.) it's close other D Day memorial museum.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better because it only has an elevator fit for two adults without luggage or one pe...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My traveling companion was wheelchair-bound, with the ability to walk with a cane for 5 minutes. The hotel gave us a first floor room, which was sufficient for our purposes. The hotel's elevator was a small 1 person lift, could never have accomodated a wheelchair. The staff was friendly and breakfast tasty. Hotel is perfectly located to experience Caen's historic buildings as a pedestrian or in a wheelchair. Rooms were small but clean, bed very comfortable. WiFi was strong and free. We lucked out in finding this place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoicson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot. Very close to the castle and good bars and restaurants.
Its very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night before we made our onward journey but it was comfortable and just what we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very well placed to the main attractions which all have a Norman flavour. The castle is virtually across the road and it is worth 2 or 3 hours to look around. Much of Caen is spread out so you need to use either the trams or taxis, again easily accessible from this hotel. There is a very convenient car park under the castle which is very convenient and the hotel had a discount arrangement The hotel itself is a bit sterile. Windows open to allow fresh air, much appreciated A bit dated decor wise and in the plumbing etc. Staff are helpful and attentive. The renovations are proceeding in slow motion. There didn’t seem to be a lot of life, eg not many at breakfast, which was OK-if a little sparse. My advice is eat early and look outside the hotel for other meals. The colour schemes in the breakfast room etc are a bit bizarre. At the weekend, Caen has one of the most extensive and impressive open air markets we had ever seen. Hundreds of stalls of all kinds and good for picnic provisions and children and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in late June as a home base location for our Normandy adventures. There was nothing special about the hotel, but it was clean and had friendly staff. The location was great and right next to the chateau ducal and many of the city's best restaurants. Everything is very walk able and the tram is easily navigated. It is a good centralized location.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that faces the street instead of the back alley. It gets a little loud.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My spouse and me stayed there from May 21st to May 23rd 2013 and had a room on the 3rd floor.

The price was fair for that room which was good enough.

The hotel's location is in the center of the city of Caen, and is very convenient.

The ratio of price vs quality was very fair as we paid 95 Euro per night for a room for two with bathroom en suit.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness center in this hotel but I could not change the status for a n...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francois d'O
Hotel Francois d'O
#16 of 41 in Caen
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Paul Doumer
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#31 of 41 in Caen
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Quatrans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Quatrans

Address: 17 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: $76 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Quatrans 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel des Quatrans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing