We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Quatrans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Quatrans
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here with friends and booked last minute via booking.com. The hotel is deceptively large with many rooms. It is well located in the city centre, with street parking nearby that was free at weekends. The hotel itself is very clean, with comfortable bedding and good amenities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_C_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    81
    54
    10
    9
See reviews for
35
75
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were a group of 3 Rotary clubs - Bruay-la-Buissiere,Dendermonde and Romford, approx. 50 of us staying for 3 nights. Dinner was served in the restaurant nextdoor to the hotel which was no big deal and the room was a perfect size for us all.The food was delicious and the service excellent.Receptionists spoke English and were helpful.Only problem we had was when we wanted to leave, as we had to wait for the car park to open at 9am - but apparently it should have been open.
Room small but adequate as was the bathroom with shower but all nicely fitted and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dthomson41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
736 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I used the hotel for a short business stay in Caen, so I cannot say anything about the price (I did'nt pay for it). The room was decent, as was the breakfast. No negative note, so no reason to advise again it..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The room was pretty clean, the front desk was VERY poor. We had a car and asked where to park and were told "anywhere." Why? Because you have a non-French car registration (it was "D" German). I asked if there was a parking lot (like the website stated) and was told it was the street parking in front of the hotel; however, this hotel is on the edge of a shopping district and office buildings, so there is rarely an available parking space. We finally found a parking lot under the castle that was open 24 hours a day and parked there (about 500 meters from hotel). We were here for three nights and found little welcome from any staff member. The room was small, bathroom nice and functional. If you need an elevator then be aware that the elevator stops between floors, so that you will still need to walk up or down half a flight of stairs. Also the bar area only serves (even coffee) IF they have staff that particular afternoon or evening (regardless of "opening hours"). We found everything we needed outside the hotel after the first day - much nicer to deal with friendly staff/waiters then this hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBTravelstheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caen hotels

Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The problem with this hotel isn't the size of the rooms, or it's decor or cleanliness- those all are fine. The problem with this hotel that made our two nights' stay unpleasant for us is:
A- that the heating didn't work at all, and we were there in a really stormy weather. We even moved to another room after the first night, which didn't help. We only moved from a large room with a radiator that was as cold as ice, to a smaller room with a radiator that warmed itself (but not the room) and only a bit. And the hotel didn't have any heaters to provide to help us ease the cold.
B- the staff does not speak English. They will nod and say "yes" to every question, but they would not understand what you are asking. Which resorted in the fact that we payed way too much for the parking, because they didn't explain us what to do with the ticket they handed us (even though we asked).
C- The first night we stayed there, there was this loud music playing all evening long until almost midnight.
Also, there is an elevator, but a tiny one (3 people max can fit there, without luggage), and it goes only till the 3rd floor, and we were on the 4th. But that is no big deal, there are only a few steps to climb from the 3rd to the 4th floor.
Except from that the rooms are pleasing, the breakfast is nice too. But when you are shaking from cold and pay way too much for something the hotel promised to provide you (for an extra fee that paid)- the whole experience goes bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurentDelaeter, Directeur général at Hotel des Quatrans, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Masha,

First of all, we thank you for your comment. We pay attention to any comments of our guests in order to make our services better.
Please do accept our apologies for any inconveniences you met during your recent stay.
About heating, our heating system is configured to maintain a temperature of 20°C in all of our rooms. During your stay that occurred a weekend, we had an issue with the system that never happened before. No company could solve the problem quickly and we had to wait for the next Monday. That problem was solved once they came. Nevertheless, the staff should have lent you an auxiliary radiator but they didn’t. Be sure that I personally verify that everyone in the staff will know it now.
The partnership we have with the Parking du Château next to our hotel is really appreciated by our guests. I feel very sorry if the staff could not explain you clearly how to use this service. Most of them speak decent English in order to have a comprehensive discussion with our customers.
Finally, the first night you stayed, there was during the evening a concert organized by the city in a street close to the hotel. This makes our city living but happens very rarely.

If you change your mind and return to Caen, be sure that we would be pleased to welcome you again. I would personally ensure that your stay will be a success. Do not hesitate to contact me for your next reservation.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding. It is in a good location, we didnt have a car so I cant comment on parking. Its close to the tram which goes to the train station which is a plus. Its also close to the shopping area and walking distance to Chateau Ducal and the markets and restaurants around the canal. We didnt have much contact with the staff but in general they were helpful, except for the fact that I could not get an iron ( hotel policy is they are a fire risk !!!) and it was too late for me to go to a dry cleaners, so I had to wear my clothes wrinkled for the wedding . We had a corner room overlooking the street, it was relatively quiet and good size. Smallish ensuite but quite adequate. Our price did not include breakfast but there are cafes quite close in the pedestrian mall area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushkin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived in Caen via train from Paris and were lucky to find that this hotel was just off the A/B tram line straight from the train station. It is walking distance to many nice restaurants and the Chateau Ducal. We met our tour guides for our DDay Beaches and Mont St. Michel tours outside of the chateau so it was very convenient. Everyone spoke decent English and was very accommodating. Free wifi and breakfast were also included. The rooms were clean, very nice, and a good size for European hotels and the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amymarie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Dauphin Le Spa Du Prieure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#5 of 41 in Caen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francois d'O
Hotel Francois d'O
#16 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Quatrans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Quatrans

Property: Hotel des Quatrans
Address: 17 rue Gemare, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Quatrans 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel des Quatrans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing