We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient for train station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient for train station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel staff were more intent on continuing their conversation upon our arrival rather than tend to 3 soaking wet guests - we arrived in the middle of a thunderstorm and downpour. Breakfast better than many other hotels we have stayed at. Room ok, but wifi signal strength very weak. Good location for train station and not too far from tram stop. The tram is an easy and affordable way to get around Caen

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlymouthMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    66
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
44
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, as a base for exploring the D-day beaches area. Good basic hotel providing a good nights sleep. We found the staff very helpful and nice, and this hotel is great for having a secure parking area at no extra charge!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been located at ground floor, in front of public parking on the road, not the best place. Bathroom not that clean, dust still present in the room. Location quite acceptable even if close to the main train station

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after we had travelled on the afternoon ferry from Portsmouth, prior to driving down to the south-west of France. The hotel is close to the centre and although we were on the ground floor, it was very quiet and we had a good nights sleep. We chose this hotel because of the availability of a room for three people as we had our daughter with us. The room was large and comfortable and very clean. The air conditioning was a nice plus that meant it was also very comfortable to sleep in. We managed to secure a parking space for the car on the road at the side of the hotel. The hotel car park was full as we didn't arrive until 11pm. However, be aware that from 9.30am, spaces on this road are pay and display. Thankfully, the hotel receptionist explained this to us and we were able to get a ticket in the morning to avoid any problems. Breakfast was basic but good and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. It was an ideal place to stay for one night before beginning our journey the next day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank andyjp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hørsholm, Danmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week this summer 2013.
The hotel is nothing special, just an average place to sleep. The staff however, is great, and must be worth a point of their own. Very helpful and informative. The rooms are nice and clean. The aircon was insufficient in our room, but worked. The free parking is a major plus, but be home before seven pm or it Will be full. The breakfast is a good and simple buffet, and is served from 4 am to 11 am.

The hotel is situated perfectly for visiting Normandy. Close to shopping, eating, the cinema, the tramway, the main trainstation, and still just off the noisy tourist center. If going by car, the hotel is close to the 'periferique' which will take you anywhere, without driving through the center of Caen.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aimdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the middle of July.
Caen is located more the 20KM from the shore, inland so it is hot.
We picked this hotel based on the fact they have A/C.
When we arrived they put us in a nice big room. The A/C was weak but worked. Then at night it started dripping water until we had no chance but to switch to a different room (around 10:30 PM) after the kids fell asleep.
In the new room that was in the attic and had no real windows, the A/C was a joke. Not a funny one.
This is becoming a real problem in French hotels. If you say you have A/C, it should mean that the room temperature could be lowered by that A/C. If not then you don't have one. Needless to say ours answered to the latter option.
Really bad experience in a hotel that is not in a nice area or is beautiful.
We chose this hotel since it had the amenities we needed in a decent price. Not so decent after all...
Not going back there ever.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ohad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier L, Propriétaire at Hotel de France, responded to this review, August 21, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you to take time to post a feedback.

Unfortunately, this night an A/C brake down. We had made the maximum to accomodate you but it was not the same room booked.
Since you're comming we had fixed every A/C to be sure to not have problems anymore.

We invite you to come again and enjoy your stay in our etablishment.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family spent one night at Hotel de France in Caen before heading to Omaha Beach. The location is great since the hotel falls right in-between the train station and downtown. The rooms were relatively large although I did not care for the shower door configuration (if you stay here, you will understand). The hotel was well maintained and right across the street is a shopping mall including some nice restaurants. Just don't ask the front desk for directions or locations of visitor sites - they don't know!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discernment316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.1 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#9 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#3 of 41 in Caen
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
0.5 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 10 rue de la Gare, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing