We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Saltspring Is.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Rooms were small but clean. Our bathroom was very small and basic but provided what we needed. Breakfast had all that was required. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Hotel is located within 10 minutes walking distance to shopping area and restaurants one way and 10 minutes to the railway station the other way. WiFi in rooms with electrical outlets close to bed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    64
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
71
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a week long tour of Normandy and Brittany. The main reason for stopping here was to visit the D-Day beaches and Bayeux tapestry and I'm so glad we did. Nice comfortable bed, clean room and nice bathroom. During the day, if you are using the car, you can park outside for up to 2 hours on a meter, or overnight the hotel let you park in a shares carpark round the back if there's room. The reception area is welcoming and bright and staff were friendly. The only down side is the noise coming from the bar across the street. We made the mistake of leaving the window open on the first night and the noise was unbearable. The second night we shut the windows and the shutters and didn't hear a thing... Ok as long as its not too hot! Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhianapritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster-on-Sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Whilst we were travelling to Brittany our motorcycle broke down on the motorway near Caen and our Recovery breakdown booked us into this hotel , it was very well presented and a very friendly atmosphere .The owners couldn't do enough for us ,they were very helpful and nothing was too much for them ...such lovely people in a family run hotel ,would definately stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitlocksathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcore, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Modern hotel situated just north of the canal, close to railway station and 12 minutes walk to the castle (or by tram in neighbouring street). Large gated parking to the rear. Some closed garages for €10 per day (reserve in advance if possible). Rather small but spotless bedroom. Surprisingly roomy bathroom with twin washbasin & separate WC. Excellent buffet breakfast (cold) with fresh orange juice and carafe coffee. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Sufficient hotel, pretty quaint and on the older side. The staff was nice and spoke English. If you rent a car you can put it in their garage there for 10 Euro a day. They offer breakfast for an additional fee, we didn't try it as there is a grocery store right behind the hotel and other places to eat at. The room was a bit on the small side but did the job, it was clean, offered free wi fi and the hotel itself was within walking distance to various historical spots in Caen. Beautiful city worth seeing, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k_wood10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Ideally situated in a quiet location, within walking distance of everything. Room comfortable (toilet very small- but not a major problem, bathroom and room both spacious). Staff friendly and helpful (despite our lack of French). Train for a day trip to Bayeux was very easy and well worth it! Plenty to see in Caen too. Normandy beaches tour organised through the Museum of Peace was informative and interesting. Thoroughly recommend this hotel as a good base for a few days to discover this region.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We found the hotel very clean and the staff were great ,very helpful and knowledgeable of the area and the best resturants to visit. We were in a room overlooking the street but had no problems with noise it was very quiet . The rooms are a little small but perfectly formed , very good value for money ,my huband and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friscos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.1 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#3 of 41 in Caen
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#9 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 31 rue du 11 Novembre, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Caen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing