We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mathias is Excelent!”
Review of D-day Guided Tours

D-day Guided Tours
Ranked #2 of 6 Tours in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Caen,private licensed guide and driver proposes private tours in Normandy.Expert on the landing beaches, I also provide services from Paris to Normandy with the visit of Normandy heritage sites as Giverny, Honfleur, Rouen, Mont Saint Michel...I arrange tours on demand to suit you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mathias is Excelent!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mathias is just a terrific guide: knowledgeable, excited, personable, and just plain fun. We spent a day with him visiting the beaches of D-Day, Pointe du Hoc, and the American Cemetery. We learned far more than we expected, and we can't wait to return with our children for a couple of days with Mathias.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Pesky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Tour of D-DAY Sites”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took the train from Paris to Caen to tour the Memorial and so would only have a half-day to spend on the D-Day sites. Matthias was willing and able to design a tour for us that enabled us to see Pointe du Hoc, the Normandy-American cemetary, and Omaha Beach before he delivered us to the train station in Bayeaux.. He provided an excellent tour experience during every moment of our time with him. His knowledge of the War in general, and the events of D-Day specifically, was so broad and so deep we felt it was as if Matthias had lived through the experience (though he is a young man). He was a courteous, thoughtful, and very enjoyable companion, and our party of five all felt that he was one of the best tour guides we've ever encountered. One of our party lost his Father in the War,mand Matthias facilitated his being able to participate in the flag-folding ceremony. This was a very moving experience our friend will never forget.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank baamoolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mathias is a wonderful guide and a wealth of knowledge.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

A long overdue review for our tour of the D-Day beaches with our wonderful guide Mathias. We were able to tour the beaches on November 11, 2011, and as Canadians being expertly guided through these humbling places was especially meaningful on that date. Mathias is a superb guide, his knowledge is staggering and I can honestly say i learned more from him in one day than in all my years of schooling. We especially enjoyed his personal stories about his family's history during the war. And though i cant recall the name of the wonderful restaurant we stopped for lunch at, i am still thinking about the food!..No need to look anywhere else for a guided tour, Mathias is the best.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Schadenfreudelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tour and guide - Thank you Mathias!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked a full-day tour with Mathias for July 24, 2012. Before we arrived, Mathias asked what sites we wanted to visit and said he would tailor the tour towards our interests. After he picked us up at our B&B in Bayeux, we went to a German cemetery that wasn't on our list of expected sites. Mathias thoughtfully included the German cemetery because he thought we would like to compare it to the American and Canadian cemeteries we were visiting later in the day. In addition, there was a large wall map at the visitor's center at the German cemetery that he used to show the locations of the the Allied and German forces at various times during the D-Day operations. As another reviewer said, Mathias uses photos and maps during the day to show what the landscape looked like long ago compared to what we were seeing now. That touch was very helpful, especially when we visited Pointe du Hoc, Omaha and Juno beaches. The American and Canadian cemeteries were breathtaking, and the respect that the workers (& Mathias) show the Allied forces is tremendous. Mathias' knowledge of the war and the Normandy area was impressive and showed his passion for his work. We wished we would have had another day to visit other sites with Mathias. The tour was well worth the time and price. (Tip: bring comfortable shoes--you'll do some walking on unpaved trails if you're going to the beaches)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Day and Fantastic Guide”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We booked a one day tour with Mathias for June 23, 2012. There were 3 of us, and we had our own rental car. We weren't really sure what to expect but Mathias did not disappoint! His knowledge of and genuine passion for Normandy and the historic events surrounding was absolutely impressive.

We met him promptly at 9 am and began our tour. He offered to drive, which was hugely helpful as he knew the area/roads well and we were able to take in all of the sights. We only had a day and we wanted to cover a lot of ground, which Mathias did perfectly. He tailored the tour to specific sites that we wanted to see, both in Utah and Omaha beach and the US Airborne landings and subsequent battles in and around Normandy (La Fiere, Carentan, etc.) and added additional places that he thought (correctly) that we would find interesting (including Arromanches harbor, at which he spent over an hour with us after the tour was supposed to end).

I cannot impress enough how awesome Mathias was. We considered ourselves fairly well-read on D-Day and the Battle of Normandy, but Mathias more than proved his mastery of the history and events of WWII in Normandy. We loved his ability to show us and give detailed explanations of how specific events unfolded made this truly an unforgettable experience (eg "this is where General Cota landed, and up through these shrubs was where he led the first assault")

After the day was over we wished we had booked 2 days with Mathias. He made the day a truly unforgettable experience, and I can't wait to return for another day (or 3!) with Mathias at some point in the future.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D-day Guided Tours also viewed

 

Been to D-day Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing