We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Caen Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adagio Caen Centre to your Saves list
Adagio Caen Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only On: 5% discount
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Canvey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked a studio room £72.00 for the night over looking the river - close to the lovely shops and restuarants - Great Location - The room and Kitchen was excellent - everything you needed - Well air conditioned - Great friendly Staff - Beautiful bathroom - I would return for sure - Loved Caen and the War Memorial was so emotional - Loved the beautiful cake shops x

Room Tip: Over looking the River was lovely - Very cheap to park car outside over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyCanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    180
    50
    17
    5
See reviews for
114
155
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The positive first: reasonable room rate and reasonably central location.

Staff's ability to speak anything but French is very limited. They try but keep falling back into French, odd as most of the guests seem to be anglophone, Dutch, German or Belgian.

I had to ask for extra pillows and towels that I received for free, although not with much courtesy, only one set of towels was in the room.
One of the towels had a brown stain but I could not be bothered to go down again to change.

The room is a cheap, typical Accor kind of construction made of wood. Nothing is firm, the floor moves when you step on it and nothing has a solid feel to it. The rooms are ok but decorated in bog standard loveless 'Accor Deco' with nothing standing out as a nice feature. It is surprisingly quite though, very little noise from other guests.

The bathrooms are nicely done and look more premium than they feel but it does what it says on the tin.

The breakfast buffet is reasonable, some fresh fruit, decent selection of bread and coffee from a machine, cheap tea bags so bring your own if you like your tea. It can get very busy there and the 20 or so places are taken up quickly.

The staff range from busy and ignoring customers to having an outright attitude. I used a plastic card to replace the one room key received (the electricity cuts out when you remove the card). I didn't want to ask for another card as every request seemed a burden, done this elsewhere, never had a problem. I used my national insurance card and frankly did not remember to remove it when leaving the room, taking the room key with me. Upon returning I found the placeholder insurance card had gone and I turned the room upside down thinking it had been removed by housekeeping and left on the desk or kitchenette; no such luck.
I went to the front desk who checked and did not have it either. I enquired about their policy with regards to housekeeping removing (-non room key) cards and was given a vague answer as to process.
Front desk promised they would check with housekeeping and get back. I was a little worried by now and frankly a bit disturbed, so who has this insurance card and why?
Next morning we went to check out at 0700 only to be told that housekeeping doesn't show before 0900! We had planned to make am early start as we had nearly 500 miles to cover by car that day, a massive inconvenience. We finally got a call around 0945 informing us that the card 'has been found'.
The front desk employee was entirely unapologetic about it and I didn't feel like arguing. No
Explanation was given. This really didn't help the overall impression.
There are little things like the hairdryer that didn't work and was exchanged without a fuss, but it's a trip to the unwelcoming front desk every time.

Parking 6€ / night (fills up quickly, clearly double booked)
Breakfast 11€ (I think) but there is a Casino right around the corner and a Boulangerie across the street, you decide
In short: if I can help it, I won't stay at an Accor hotel again, disappointed.



Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank viceroy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments.

We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment. Please accept our sincere apologies.

As I explained it to you in an earlier e-mail the necessary measures have been taken with our housekeeping services in order to avoid such problems with personnal cards in the future.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Adagio Caen Centre.

Best regards
Jonathan GUILLOUX - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We rented an apartment for 2 nights. The staff was very nice and the apartment was clean and spacious. My only complaint would be that the sofa bed did not have enough linens for 2 people to sleep. My 1 son had to make due and sleep on the sofa with no sheets!

Location wise, it is a nice short walk to restaurants, the train station, and to shopping. I enjoyed Caen a lot and I would go back there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very helpful staff, the rooms is clean, well equip t, easy parking. lactation was vary god, walking distant to harbor , restaurants and bars, and still quiet at night, and fast access to highway if you want to goto WWII monument, Caen has so mush to offer,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StevenJson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was extremely comfortable at this hotel. The rooms were spacious and the kitchenette was very handy. The walk to the nearest grocery store was a little far though and more difficult because we were so tired when we arrived. There are quite a number of nearby restaurants to choose from....be prepared for higher prices to dine out compared to the US. The rooms require the key to access the electricity in the room, thereby saving electricity when leaving the rooms...very smart planning. Security is further enhanced using your room key to access the front door of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstpianolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Caen is a charming city, so if you are looking for a provincial feel I would book somewhere closer to the center of town. The rooms and hotel are clean but that is about all I can say. The gentleman who helped us on the first day was VERY nice but otherwise the staff is NOT personable. Also, if you lose your key card prepare to wait as the staff is not prompt in ringing you in and can be rather testy once you are in. The laundry room has one washer and dryer so if you are planning on doing any laundry get there early and bring your money - it's very expensive. The beds are as hard as a rock. Thank goodnes I was exhausted at the end of the day, otherwise I would have had a difficult time sleeping. We were excited about coming to Caen, which is lovely, but the hotel experience pretty much put a damper on that part of the trip. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, request a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halloweenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments.
We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment, and in particular with the personnel and the quality of the bedding. Please accept our sincere apologies.
We would like to assure you that your comments about the bedding have been forwarded on to the relevant departement of our head office and a meeting was organised with the team to discuss about your comments in order to improve the quality of the service we provide.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Adagio Caen Centre.

Best regards
Jonathan GUILLOUX - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is within five minutes walk of the train station. We had a slight problem when we first arrived as the front door can only be accessed by security card and when we rang the bell nobody answered. After checking in which was welcoming, we were pleasantly surprised with our room. Very spacious as this is a Murphy bed room. When you pull bed down you lose your sofa and room is a lot smaller. Fridge, microwave and small cooking appliances are included. Beautiful river view from our room. Very central to main shopping square with lots of eateries and shops. Very suitable stay, don't expect 5 star. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sixamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astrid
Hotel Astrid
#3 of 41 in Caen
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 41 in Caen
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Caen Centre

Property: Adagio Caen Centre
Address: 1 Quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Caen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Adagio Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing