We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Want Charm Stay Somewhere Else”
Review of Adagio Caen Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adagio Caen Centre
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Caen is a charming city, so if you are looking for a provincial feel I would book somewhere closer to the center of town. The rooms and hotel are clean but that is about all I can say. The gentleman who helped us on the first day was VERY nice but otherwise the staff is NOT personable. Also, if you lose your key card prepare to wait as the staff is not prompt in ringing you in and can be rather testy once you are in. The laundry room has one washer and dryer so if you are planning on doing any laundry get there early and bring your money - it's very expensive. The beds are as hard as a rock. Thank goodnes I was exhausted at the end of the day, otherwise I would have had a difficult time sleeping. We were excited about coming to Caen, which is lovely, but the hotel experience pretty much put a damper on that part of the trip. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, request a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halloweenmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comments.
We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment, and in particular with the personnel and the quality of the bedding. Please accept our sincere apologies.
We would like to assure you that your comments about the bedding have been forwarded on to the relevant departement of our head office and a meeting was organised with the team to discuss about your comments in order to improve the quality of the service we provide.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Adagio Caen Centre.

Best regards
Jonathan GUILLOUX - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 491 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is within five minutes walk of the train station. We had a slight problem when we first arrived as the front door can only be accessed by security card and when we rang the bell nobody answered. After checking in which was welcoming, we were pleasantly surprised with our room. Very spacious as this is a Murphy bed room. When you pull bed down you lose your sofa and room is a lot smaller. Fridge, microwave and small cooking appliances are included. Beautiful river view from our room. Very central to main shopping square with lots of eateries and shops. Very suitable stay, don't expect 5 star. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sixamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed one night on the day we arrived in France, on our way to Brittany coast. Lots to see in town and the view was great. Loved the corner room. Staff spoke English, were helpful and kind. Very clean room with kitchenette and grocery right next door. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Corner suite above the Quai was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amietravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The room was nice but we had a sofa bed which was hard. There was no cleaning of rooms so we had the same towels for 4 nights. When I asked about this I found the female receptionist unhelpful and a little rude. She said it was not included in our rate. Parking was extra money 7€ a night. Breakfast was €11 per person. Kitchenette was good feature but if your bin gets full after 3 days expect to have it in your room as your room will not be cleaned apparently. Not sure about toilet rolls. Don't do what we did and book more than one night...just in case you have our experience too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio C, Directeur général at Adagio Caen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments.

We were extremely sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the quality of our establishment. Please accept our sincere apologies.

We would like to assure you that the necessary measures have been taken with our team in order to improve the quality of the service we provide.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Adagio Caen Centre.

Best regards
Jonathan GUILLOUX
General Manager Aparthotel Adagio Caen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and used this hotel as a home base to explore the region. Easy access to D-Day beaches, Bayeux, and Honfluer. We even did Mont St. Michel, and St. Malo from here in a day. We had a rental car and took advantage of the off-street parking.

The room was large and very modern and also very clean. The kitchen was nice to have and we made snacks and lunches several times. There is a market right outside the front door but it closes pretty early. There is a Carrfour not far across the river that stays open later.

Not having WiFi in the room is a drawback. The system for getting access to the free wifi in the lobby was a little dodgy to use on an iphone. It worked, but was quite slow.

The gym was a joke, not that I was expecting much. A single treadmill, a single stationary bike, a single rowing machine, and a weight bench with no weighs.

Kitchen had a dishwasher, microwave, dishes and cups. A nice bonus.

I would probably stay here again because it's 'safe'. Being a chain you can be pretty confident in what you're getting. Certainly lacked any sort of personality though.

Room Tip: No Wifi in the rooms. Interior rooms have no view but also no traffic noise so we left the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Loved the Adagio. Adequate for four adults. cooked our breakfast in the room and coul have cooked other meals is required. Grocery shop right around the corner. Nice view of the canal from the room.

Free parking and quite convenient.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddMoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Found hotel through booking.com. Was a last minute choice but a good one.
Rooms are modern (except no wifi). Comfortable beds.
What prevents a 5 star rating?... We stayed 4 nights and got no room service. Stay up to 3 it's daily, stay 7 and it's daily but no housekeeping between!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Twink_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Moderne
0.5 mi away
Ibis Caen Centre
Ibis Caen Centre
#7 of 41 in Caen
590 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adagio Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Caen Centre

Address: 1 quai Eugene Meslin, 14000 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Caen
Price Range: $79 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adagio Caen Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adagio Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing