We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the city center”
Review of Ibis Caen Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Caen Centre
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Caen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the city center”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Perfect base for my tour to the explore the historic surroundings.
I had 3 nights and enjoyed the close location to the city. Just 5 minutes walk, and you are right in the middle of everything. Because of that you have to pay for parking in their underground garage.
Rooms are not that large, but the restaurant is fine and with large windows out to the square. Buffet breakfast is fine.
Free Wifi is another thing that I enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    273
    143
    34
    13
See reviews for
63
241
50
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Was meant to stay here for 3 nights of bank holiday weekend but only stayed the one night before finding somewhere else to stay. We were on the 3rd floor whcih had loose electrical wires hanging the whole way down the corridor. The room could barely fit the double bed in it and the carpet must have been all of 1mm thick. The walls were marked and smelled damp. The bathroom was the one reasonable thing about the room.

Decent location and parking for your car but worst room I have stayed in! Would not stay here again regardless of cost or location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellisd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caen hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Since 2007 we have not managed a weekend getaway in Caen so we grabbed the opportunity this weekend with my brother, sister in law and step father. We like the Ibis as a base for a break in Caen. I did wonder if it would have changed since 2007 so it was good to be met with a cheerful receptionist and a speedy check in. Our room was on the first floor and just fine, clean and basic but you can't expect 5* at 2* prices. The dated bedspreads have gone and have been replaced with nice fresh white duvets. The whole room was fresh and welcoming. Sadly my brother's room reeked of smoke even though its a non smoking hotel. Reception apologised and changed their room immediately.

We prefer not to use the bar as its bland and more geared towards the coach parties who use the large dining area shared with the Mercure. However, breakfast in La Londe was excellent. Good to see some changes to the breakfast and the removal of boiled eggs, cuts the queue down as there is no one hovering over the boiler! The choice was good with cereal, yoghurt, confit, ham, cheese and a mouthwatering array of bread and croissants not mention cake and brioche. The coffee was good and the juices chilled, a great start to the day.

With the choice of restaurants nearby we chose to eat at one of our favourites but would consider La Londe on another visit.

This hotel is well placed for exploring Caen and buses are available outside the hotel and very reasonable. We jumped on one going to the Caen Memorial which was quicker than taking the car out of the garage. We don't have a problem with paying for parking and its nice to know the car is off the street and we were able to leave it in the garage on Sunday morning while exploring the market.

This hotel still gets my vote as a good basic base in this lovely city.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Well the check in was a bit difficult, we got an odd largeish room with a tiny bath overlooking a busy and hot side street. We asked for another room and were told in an uninterested and not-quite-listening way there was nothing else. When we decided to go to a different hotel suddenly, surprise surprise! They do have a quiet room with a normal bath in the back of the building. That sort of thing does not help the trust.

But, that being said, after this we could find no fault with this hotel. We had the standard small but perfectly formed IBIS room, very comfortable beds and all the basic luxeries. Spotless. After our first run-in with the front desk there were no further problems and service was good.
Breakfast was good too, no eggs but I'm beginning to think that is not all that customary in France. There were nice touches like the potato pie and the lovely little crèpes. The restaurant of the hotel is called la Londe ans is also used as the breakfast room, looked all right but we didn't try it because there was so much competition nearby.
There is an underground parking which is convenient but not free; parking on the square outside is not free either, and on sundays you can't park there at all because of the market.
If you are sensitive to mosquito bites you may want to bring some repellent because there are a few of them around, and no netting for the window.
Location is excellent, central Caen, near a pretty yacht harbour and huge selection of restaurants. On sunday mornings there is a colourful market. You can walk easily to all the sights in Caen.
We had a good time here and stayed longer than intended, and would go here again. I would however suggest you are persistent if the desk staff is unhelpful. Paid off well for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I had to go to Caen to do some research for a book, and I stayed in the Ibis at the last minute. Almost always have a decent stay at Ibis Hotels but this one was really exceptional. I just love those clean sheets, comfy beds and clean bathrooms. This hotel was fab! If a bit pricey. Very well located near a few bakeries for breakfast and fairly close to the train station. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I have just returned from my holiday in the above hotel. This hotel is located in the heart of caen which is ideal and which is also situated next to the marina, so you never feel as if you are in the middle of a city.

I found the welcome to be very friendly as we booked into the hotel, offering advice on local parking, facilities etc. The room was more spacious than a typical french hotel room. These rooms were extremly clean and functional. I found all staff to be friendly and helpful and found it particularly helpful that the reception staff in particular have excellent knowledge of many different languages and were therefore able to assist in any query. What did seems a little funny to begin with, was that if you asked for directions at reception you were given a map of the area with your most appropriate route highlighted, however this proved invaluable on more than a few occasions.

Particular attention must be drawn to the superb La Londe restaurant which is located to the front of the hotel and which provides outstanding quality food. French cuisine at its best! This a must for any visit to caen or the surrounding area.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as a base for your travels in this area. I would say this hotel is suitable for the independent traveller, couples or familes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Tea and Coffe Making Facilities in the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyferEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of August, using Caen as a centre for touring the area (lisieux,bayeux).I really wish I had read the previous reviews before booking this hotel.(I accepted the recommendation within the Rough Guide.This was wrong and so were the Rough Guide restaurant recommendations for Caen -dont believe them)
We were given a dark,small, ground floor room in the service quarters.We accepted it because the location of the hotel is good and we only needed a room which was clean and quiet.It was.
However, on the third night that changed.A large party had booked the function room opposite and set up a disco in it.From 10pm until 2.30am our room windows were vibrating and the floor shook with the noise.
Next morning i complained and we were moved onto the third floor and had the cost of the noisy night refunded.The hotel said the noise was exceptional.I see from the previous reviewer that this was not true.
If you must stay here (and the location is really good)
1.DO NOT ACCEPT ANY OF THE ROOMS ON THE GROUND
FLOOR.
2.ASK ON CHECKING IN IF THE FUNCTION ROOM IS BOOKED FOR A PARTY - IF SO DEMAND THE THIRD FLOOR OR GO ELSWHERE.
I have stayed at a number of Ibis hotels without these sorts of problems and I think the recurrent problems at this Hotel are bad for their brand as a whole - i would now think twice about any Ibis Hotel if their general policy allows this sort if thing.Arguably my worst night in ANY hotel in more than twenty years of business and leisure travel in Europe.
To be mildly positive -the lady hotel manager did respond very well to the complaint.She made no attempt to evade the issue and offered the refund without a struggle.
Also, caen is a great place -so dont let this hotel put you off it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — desperate,intolerable noise on groundfloor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nottsadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caen hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Caen Centre Gare
0.0 mi away
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fontaine Caen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Caen Centre
Adagio Caen Centre
#4 of 41 in Caen
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Caen Centre
1.2 mi away
Novotel Caen Cote de Nacre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Caen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Caen Centre

Property: Ibis Caen Centre
Address: 6 Place Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Caen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Caen Centre hotel is in the heart of the historic city of William the Conqueror. From the hotel, you can visit on foot the two abbeys and the Ducal castle. By car, you are close to the Normandy Landing beaches. 101 rooms, including 4 for disabled guests, are available for booking. It has a restaurant, a bar open 24/24 and pay parking, 11 meeting rooms and Wifi wireless broadband Internet access for its guests on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Caen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Caen Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing